11 Reviews

9/9/07 I have been making this for over 15 years and it is awesome. I always use pepper jack cheese because I found anything else to lack flavor in this dish. I have served this for brunches and family dinner. Serve with fresh fruit salad or melon slices along with Kona Inn Banana Bread and you have a wonderful brunch meal. UPDATE: 11/09 after reading these reviews I thought I would suggest using a large pie plate. It makes for a better presentation and easier serving.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour October 16, 2009

This is delicious and even wonderful the next day warmed up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke's Kitchen October 19, 2012

Great dinner tonight - and no work to make it because I took care of that this morning! We enjoyed this with turkey sausages and I also made a fresh fruit salad. I will make this again and maybe with some additions! Made for Best of 2012. Thanks CarrolJ! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif February 04, 2013

Very tasty! Made 1/2 the recipe for DH and I for a Sunday brunch. I LOVE green onions so I didn't 1/2 that amount; also used plain Monterey Jack cheese since I cannot handle the heat. Made for Best of 2012 Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH February 24, 2013

My family LOVED THIS CASSEROLE this will definitely be keeper.. This will a TRADITIONAL RECIPE that we will always make CHRISTMAS MORNING.. Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parkers Mom January 25, 2013

Good breakfast (w/leftovers for lunch). I made this in a 9x9 glass pan & sauteed green pepper, onion & sausage (instead of ham) & used American cheese & a little garlic. I didn't use the full amount of any ingredient. It is very good & the leftovers make a nice lunch the following day. Nuke x30 seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merryannie July 31, 2012

I love a breakfast with a night before prep making it easy for the crack of dawn risers. Remember, it's the early worm that gets eaten by the bird. I know. All the good stuff happens early in the day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 25, 2012

This has been a favorite everytime I've made it - family and friends alike. It's a winner here in Texas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bl.shaw November 24, 2009

This is a great recipe. I liked that I could prepare the night before and have a nice breakfast the next morning. I think I will prepare this Christmas eve so I have an easy no fuss breakfastr for Christmas morning. It was very good DF(dear family) liked it very much and we all thought it deserved 5 stars! Thanks for sharing =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoCalCookerGal October 04, 2009

I'd give it more like 4 1/2 stars, but my husband loved it!! I substituted chopped sweet onions for the green onions. I also added garlic powder, but next time I'll use minced fresh garlic. Definitely don't use 13X9! I used an 8 1/2 by 11 rectangle dish. I also cooked it covered for 50 minutes and uncovered for 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darcy O. June 15, 2008
Farmer's Casserole