Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Farmer's Breakfast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Farmer's Breakfast

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2002

      This recipe brought back so many memories of my Dad making this on a weekend morning. He made it the way his grandma used to make it for him which is quite similar to the recipe. I made this for a lazy weekend dinner using your recipe as a guide and substituting for things I remember Dad putting in. This used to be a meal where you used up the leftovers from the night before to make a hearty breakfast for the farmers. It's really good with leftover roast pumpkin and potato from the roast dinner the day before with a few peas thrown in for good measure. I made it with potatoes as stated in the recipe, it always had potatoes, and sub peas for the peppers. Great recipe, thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      This is a winner! My hubby, who loves anything with bacon grease in it, wolfed it down. Cooking the potatoes first, really made them tender and easy to brown. This will be a weekend brunch recipe for us. Thanks,Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This is a must keep recipe...Made it this AM for company...No left overs..I did not change anything. Served with fresh fruit.I think we can this for dinner one day also. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2002

      I made this last weekend for breakfast. So wonderful. Exactly what I would imagine an old-fashioned country breakfast to be. I used just a litte seasoned salt and pepper. My family wolfed it down. Very hearty and filling. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      This was Wonderful!! I especially loved the ease of cooking it all in ONE pan too! The first time I made it exactly like the recipe said, the second time I was short on time so I substituted frozen o'brien potatoes which already have bell pepper and onion added, it was delicous too! Thanks NurseDi, I look for all of your recipes now and they are all great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      Fantastic breakfast!!! I made this, scaled back, as written. Loved all the flavors added from the onion and green pepper and that it was a one pan meal. I used a large red skinned potato that I microwaved but can see throwing in extra potatoes when we are having baked potatoes for dinner too. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for your win in the football pool, congrats again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This was sooo good! I loved the combined flavors. I did leave out the green peppers since my family doesn't like them. Instead I garnished with a bit of parsley for color. I also used frozen Southern Style Hash Browns to cut down on the prep time. Made for Farm Cooking with Andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      I love this breakfast. I use turkey bacon or turkey sausage when I make this. I followed someone else's suggestion & always keep cooked potatoes in my freezer. I definately make this often as it is versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Made this for brunch today. Left out the onion and bacon as a personal preference. Used frozen chopped hashbrown potatoes to make it quicker and easier. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and it was a pretty good meal. Definately very filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      delicious meal...sometimes I use breakfast sausage in place of bacon. I love this alot so I sometimes precook the meat and freeze, pre dice up the green pepper and onion and freeze. cube and season the potatoes, bake and cool and freeze. Each is in its own bag in freezer and ready when I want an easy meal (almost like breakfast skillets by jimmy dean) I take a handfull of meat, some potatoes and put in skillet 1st, after they start to soften I add a small handful of peppers and onion. after a couple of minutes you can add your egg and cheese! Nice having it all prepped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      loved this recipe bought frozen diced peppers and onions to cut prep time and put bacon on cookie sheet in oven while potatoes cooked kids loved it thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      I loved this, except for all the work cutting up things, cooking potatoes separate (I microwaved them), stirring things. Delicious but too much trouble. Husband would have liked more bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      This was very good. DH enjoyed it and so did I. He asked me what it was, I told him "Glorified scrambled eggs" ha! Thanks, will have again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      AWESOME!! The only way to describe this recipe. We had an outdoor family brunch and this was the main event. Excellent combination of ingredients that were hearty and so filling. Not one morsel was left. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Farmer's Breakfast

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 329.9
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    40%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 211.2 mg
    70%
    Sodium 266.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites