21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am giving this recipe 5 stars because it satisfies my criteria for a 5 star recipe: sensational taste. Not only is this dish divine but it is very easy to prepare with ingredients readily available. The next time I make it (and I will) I am going to add more chicken. Thank you for sharing your recipe. We all loved it.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelicFantasia February 06, 2003

I'm giving this 5 stars because it satisfies MY criteria for 5 - would I make it again and would I serve it to guests? Yes, to both! Delicious, really delicious. And easy, especially since I always have these ingredients on hand. My simple modifications: First, I used more chicken, about 1.3#. Second, I used penne instead of farfalle. Third, I reduced the onion to (1), finely chopped. Fourth, was my method. I used some of the olive oil from the sundried tomatoes to saute the chicken breast strips about 90% done, then set them aside. Then I added the onion and 1/2 tsp. salt and sauteed until nice and soft, then the tomatoes, garlic and herbs and sauteed again until fragrant. Then I added the cream, pepper, and cooked low until reduced just a bit and beginning to get thick, then added the cheese and the chicken. I cooked until the chicken was heated through and finished cooking. Tossed with the pasta and served with more cheese. Wonderful! Thanks so much, JCMM! I will definitely make this again, and would definitely serve it to guests!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P4 February 10, 2003

This was one of my choices for the July '03 Pick your Chef event. It is a very simple recipe with complimentary flavors. I will make this again. When I do, I will probably add a pinch of cayenne pepper for spice and I will garnish with a handful of chopped green onions. Thanks for a quick week night supper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah July 19, 2003

Incredible, Martha!! This is an excellent meal that I would definitely serve to guests! This would also be great served with shrimp. I used 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and used linguine instead of the bowties basically because I didn't have any on hand. The linguine proved to be an excellent substitution. Served with plenty of freshly grated Parmesan cheese, garlic toasted French Bread and a tossed green salad, with wine. Superior combination! Thank you, Martha, for our wonderful meal this evening!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev July 13, 2003

Very easy to throw together. When I make it again I will add a bit of heat to it with cayenne pepper and like another reviewer suggested some green onions. Maybe even add some more garlic. Everyone in the family liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeacherLaLa May 22, 2014

My kind of food, this was excellent, luxury comfort food with very little effort :) Thank you, very much enjoyed for Cooking Mania Tag Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth October 15, 2013

This recipe got 7 rave reviews at my house, including two 5 year old girls! Thanks to a couple previous reviewers noting the company-worthiness of this recipe I chose to make it for dinner last night. Our 5 year old's best friend and her parents were bringing grandma over to dinner and play cards while she's in town. It's always a little difficult to cook for someone new, and to be honest, I was really nervous this time. I was choosing a recipe that would normally be on the maybe list for my own family, simply because it's a cream sauce, and in the past we have enjoyed only a handful of white sauced recipes. I knew I wanted chicken and pasta though, so the sun-dried tomatoes and the previous reviews pushed me to give this one a shot. I cannot tell you how happy I am! This recipe is SO simple to prepare. It really only takes 10 minutes to get the onion, garlic, herbs (I used fresh basil), tomatoes, and chicken prepped. The cooking is so easy that I was stirring the chicken/cream mixture and the boiling pasta in between hands of cards, and the end result tastes like you worked all day on it. The sun-dried tomatoes aren't overpowering, even though I probably used an ounce or so more than called for, and the only thing we needed at the table was more salt & pepper. In the future, I will probably cut back to 2 cups of cream, only because the sauce was a little on the thin side, and I think some crushed red pepper would compliment the coolness of the cream very well. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Martha. We'll be making it again! *Tink

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** August 04, 2012

Excellent!! Very easy to make...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vega Girl September 29, 2011

Made this last night for dinner and have tons of leftovers (it is at least 4 servings as stated, but might be 6). We liked it, but it definitely needs salt. If I were to make it again, I would try to bump up the flavor a little more--maybe by adding procuitto and artichoke hearts. I could take or leave the chicken in this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwh March 09, 2010

This was excellent! The only change I made was I used fresh herbs and reduced the amount of heavy cream to 2 cups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter January 27, 2010
Farfalle (Bow Tie) Pasta With Chicken & Sun-Dried Tomatoes