116 Reviews

I was on the hunt for the old Fantasy Fudge recipe when I stumbled upon Karen's recipe. I will admit I struggled a bit trying to get the mixture up to 230 degrees (wasn't sure how long this was supposed to take) due to my lack of candy making experience. End result, my fudge turned out a bit firmer than I would have liked (need more practice with my candy making skills) but my family has enjoyed the buttery chocolate fudge (my 6 yr old absolutely loves this fudge). I can't wait to try this recipe with different flavored chips, and I hope to be a bit more successful with my final results next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn December 23, 2002

This is the recipe I've been using for year! This is a can't fail recipe! Awesome fudge!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. December 23, 2002

I made it butterscotch flavor today and it is great!! I plan to try it with orange and lemon chips. Thanks for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa/ Thunderbird December 14, 2002

Thank you for posting this. My mother and I made this when I was little every christmas for my great-grandfather who was in a nursing home at the time (91 years old) Mom had lost the recipe and it had changed. This fudge is wonderful and the memories are just as wonderful too. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace7 January 02, 2002

Thank you so much for writing thsi down. I use this all the time, but this year they changed the recipe on the jar and I was so upset. Thanks again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna8 December 25, 2001

First of all, let me say that this review is more for those who - like myself - have never made candy before and don't own a candy thermometer. Based on the other reviews, I thought this recipe was actually "super easy," but found it to be tough to time everything right. Since I had no thermometer, I went with other reviewers who said "5 minutes after a rolling boil starts," but feel like I might have overcooked it a bit (still didn't hurt the end product to much, though!). It was also not easy trying to remove from the heat, add the chocolate chips, keep stirring and add the marshmallow creme (which doesn't want to come out of its container). That's more a preparation issue on my end, but I wanted to at least call attention to it. Finally, what other reviewers said is correct - that it's not super "chocolatey," and I'm also someone who loves sweets and doesn't need a deep chocolate flavor, but still found the chocolate too mild when I used Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Chips. Next time, I'll not only buy a candy thermometer, but experiment with some darker chocolates...All in all, this is still a good candy and great for a first-time candy chef like myself. I can't stop munching on the end product, so you can see it turned pretty darn good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen June 22, 2016

I've used this recipe for years...and had lost it. Thank you for posting this super-easy, creamy chocolate fudge. It is easy enough for beginners to achieve success, and us experienced cooks do too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy-in-the-Kitchen December 23, 2014

Was easy to make, but came out way too soft/squishy and was way too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shewinked December 18, 2014

I was looking for a fudge recipe so I could add it to my Christmas cookie tins this year, and thought I had found a home run with this recipe. But then I made it, and was extremely disappointed.<br/><br/>I made four kinds- chocolate walnut, chocolate toffee, peanut butter and mint chocolate.<br/><br/>Only the peanut butter was edible, and it definitely needs some raw peanut butter in there to tone down the sweetness. The rest were just sickly sweet. I love sweet things, and I love fudge, but this was just... painful.<br/><br/>Maybe it's just me- it seems like plenty of people have deemed this recipe tried-and-true. But if you're looking for a rich, decadent fudge... look elsewhere. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MookieMoo December 11, 2014

This is the first fudge recipe I've made that has worked! I made a white chocolate version and everyone loved it! It didn't set as hard as I would have liked but that can be sorted out when I make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucy B. October 07, 2014
Fantasy Fudge