14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a blessing this dressing is to me! I had to restrict my diet from salt and sugar (as we all probably should) and this recipe is wonderful. I substituted one small packet of splenda for the sugar/honey, and that's it! Low sodium, sugar but great on taste, thanks FT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam Saguaro February 03, 2011

Wow...this is fantastique...as noted in the name. A different twist on french dressing than I"m normally use to as the bottled kind are more sweet. I like this tart version. (pun intended). I suppose if you were so inclined to sweetened it a bit you could add more sugar. This will definitely be a repeat maker for me as I have a salad most nights.:-)
Made for RecipeTag in Kk's forum~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB September 21, 2010

My DH loved this dressing and gave it a 4 star rating. I, on the other hand, found it too tart for my liking. I would probably make up enough just for him to use. Thanks for the posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 12, 2010

A very nice, easy and tasty dressing. I served mine atop a salad of romaine lettuce, red grapes, havarti cheese and almonds. Totally yummy aside our Lobster Risotto tonight! Made as a THANK YOU to my friend French Tart for tagging me this month in Veggie Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 02, 2009

So simple and really tasty! I used fresh shallots and garlic, both crushed, which seemed to work well. I personally enjoyed the kick of the dijon but others in my family found it a bit strong, so I might try it with wholegrain mustard next time for more sensitive tastebuds! Thank you for a great recipe, really livens up a simple leaf salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toj_hartnell March 19, 2009

Deserves more than 5 stars! After reviewing ALL of your recipes and saving at least 1/4 of them I came across this one. NOTE: To all the Americans that think "French Dressing" is the orange/red creamy one (like I did), really need to know this is the true "French Dressing" in my book. I have to tell you FT, I have reviewed many dressings like this w/similar ingredients and since you are Popular with 5 star ratings, I have decided to make yours. CHANGES/ADDITIONS: I added one extra Tablespoon Grey Poupon, Used dried onions (minced), the Honey w/addition of 1 tsp and lastly for the "dried garlic" I used vgourmet.com's dried "Roasted Garlic Sliced" (chopped fine). Thank you so much for a keeper!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fancie Face January 08, 2009

This was the first dressing I've made by myself; prior to this I was a devoted consumer shelved salad dressing...not anymore! Served over a salad with Tuna Burgers. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thanks for all your help!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven March 15, 2008

*Reviewed for Zaar WOrld Tour 3* Great dressing. Simple to make and uses ingredients that we always have on hand. I thought that it may be a little too tangy for me- but got a nice surprise. Thanks for another great recipe. Photo being posted also

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 15, 2007

This is a great dressing,FT! I made this for my salad tonight and really enjoyed the lively taste. I used the juice of half of a large lemon, 1 t. garlic powder(no dried garlic at the grocery store),Splenda in place of the sugar, and no salt due to a low-sodium diet. I'll be making this a lot- thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas April 30, 2007

Simple and delicious. I could eat this every day and never get tired of it. It's great on most any salad - including rice or pasta salads.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle April 29, 2011
Fantastique Jam Jar French Dressing - With a Twist!