Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Taco Casserole! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Taco Casserole!

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2010

      This tastes good, but at 1,157 calories and 81 grams of fat per serving, I decided to cut back a bit. I only added two cups of cheese, and I am all in favor of having loads of cheese! But, 4 cups was way too much. I also decided to add a can of corn to round out the meal. Even with the changes, my husband said it was defintely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Who would not like this?! Great flavor, easy meal! I made as directed and the chips were not crunchy, but we still loved it! Served with more tortilla chips on the side, so I guess we made up for it. Oh, I did layer thawed home-frozen corn in the dish, which increases the nutrition and is delicious! (Also, you can easily decrease the cheese to save on fat.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      What I liked about this recipe is that it was very friendly to substitutions, and I was determined to make something that did not require me to go out and buy anything so I could use up the food I already have. I didn't have green chilis, but I did have green salsa (I have no idea if green salsa has green chilis in it, but I used some, and it gave the recipe a great taste. I left off the olives because my DH doesn't like them. I didn't have bell pepper, so left that out. I used a combo of taco sauce and salsa because I didn't have enough taco sauce. I substituted pepper jack for some of the cheddar because it is what I had on hand. The dish was still great. The chips on the bottom were still crunchy and I also liked it better than an actual taco. I served it with sour cream and it tasted great. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I replaced olives w/ black beans, threw diced avocado on for toppings, and served on a bed of lettuce. But truth be told, i was kind of disappointed by the recipe. Everybody else said it was just like tacos, but when my casserole came out of the oven... the shells/chips were all soggy. Is it suppose to be like that? I guess I was expecting for a contrast in texture, but all of it kind was just kind of just goopey. Did i do something wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      This was great! My 22 year old son had thirds and my 8 year old had seconds!! Easy to make. We topped it with shredded lettuce and sour cream and more taco sauce. Will definitely make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      I will diffently fix this again. It was easy to fix and taste just like tacos. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      We loved this recipe. We used homemade taco seasoning mix 2642 and homemade taco sauce 60254. So the kids would eat this I skipped the olives, tomatoes and gr onions but I think they would enhance the flavours wonderfully. I was out of taco shells so I substituted oven ready lasagne noodles. The baking time was perfect.I would recommend doubling this recipe as it was so popular at my house. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      I served this to a few friends last weekend. We all loved it. The hot sauce I used was a little too hot for some adding using a bit of sour cream mellowed it out. Thanks for a winner Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Fantastic! Alot less messy than regular tacos. A gazillion thumbs up according to my 6 yr. old! I used Taco Bell Taco Sauce by JustaQT for the taco sauce, and we used the remainder for topping the casserole. Thank You Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      This was very good. I changed the ingredients a little bit. I don't like commercial taco seasonings so I seasoned the meat the way I like it for tacos with salt, pepper, garlic and a little hoomemade salsa and then added 3/4 can of black beans. I cut down on the cheese a little, too. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      This was really good!All of the goodness of a taco without all of the mess.Will make on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Taco Casserole!

    Serving Size: 1 (534 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1132.0
     
    Calories from Fat 723
    63%
    Total Fat 80.3 g
    123%
    Saturated Fat 37.2 g
    186%
    Cholesterol 234.3 mg
    78%
    Sodium 2336.4 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 64.7 g
    129%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites