Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Taco Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Taco Casserole

    Average Rating:

    252 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 252

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2010

      Very Good! instead of putting chips in bottom of dish I just put them on plates and spooned the mixture over top! Saved chips from getting soggy. Will make often. kids age 2 and 6 loved it! thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Something new for "Taco Night". This is a great recipe that everyone (including a picky 7yr old) enjoyed. I did omit the olives, family preference, but topped with the fresh tomatoes, lettuce & sour cream. My only problem is this recipe does not give baking dish measurements and makes less than enough to feed 4 people more than a very small portion. I used a 9x13 dish and it was very thin using the quantity of ingredients in the recipe. If using these quantities, I recommend a square baking dish. I will make this again, doubling the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      This recipe was delicious and even my kids ate it. We left out the olives because Chris does not like them. We had plenty of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      OMGOSH this was awesome! I just made this tonight for dinner and it was delish. I had to make two changes and they were tortilla chips instead of corn because thats what i had on hand and mild green chilis instead of onions, my family doesnt care for onions. This is a keeper, thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This was very tasty but quite salty. I do not cook too much with canned or processed foods so I think this was alot compared to what I am used to. I woke up this morning and couldn't get my wedding ring off because I am so swollen.
      I messed up and bought tortilla chips instead of corn chips so I decided to just put rice on the bottom instead of ending up with soggy tortilla chips. I also put some corn in between the bean and beef layers. I sprinkled some tortilla chips on the top to give it a little crunch since I didn't add them on the bottom.
      I will make this again but will make some changes to reduce the amount of salt in it. I will try homemade taco seasoning so I can limit the salt I add and use canned beans so I can rinse them off and mash them myself. I may reduce the amount of cheese I add to reduce the salt even less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      A lot of Taco casseroles end up being too over powering for me, but this one is perfect! It's a little heavy, but that's why I saved it for a rainy day! I would totally make this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      My family and I really liked this dish, even my picky daughter! While I was making this dish, I found out I didn't have a can of refried beans, so I used a can of black beans, it was still very good! Well make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I have tried so many 'taco' casseroles and have been disappointed by most. But this was absolutely delicious. Even my husband liked it and he's not usually fond of this type of casserole. I used a Mexican blend cheese, chili lime flavored non-fat refried beans, and Pace medium salsa and it came out PERFECT. Thanks for a great recipe, Leilani.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Very Good. I used tortilla chips as suggested below. Instead of using salsa I used Rotel tomatoes and mixed it in with the refried beans. My son does not like salsa. I used low fat low sodium beans to combat the saltiness that was mentioned in several previous post. I used cumin,garlic,chili powder, onion powder,and pepper to season the meat instead of the taco seasoning. I omitted the onions and the olives because my family will not eat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This was so good, and it make plenty for everyone in my family and we have 8 people! I topped the casserole after it came out of the oven with fresh salsa and guacamole on each piece, and cooked my olives inside, instead of putting them on top. I also added a little extra chile powder, because we like it spicy! Freezes really well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      this dish was fabulous! I'm not sure how to get more than 4 servings out of it unless it's being served with something else. My fiancé and I were still hungry after we tried cutting it into 6 pieces. We had to split another piece. :) I forgot to buy the olives so sadly they were omitted. It was still fantastic, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      My husband and three teen age sons ate every single bite. I was at a meeting and didn't even get a taste! They loved it! Quick and easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      This was a great meal. The whole family loved it, the left overs from a double batch did not last long, which is amazing! Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      This was so easy to make! I used Green Olives as they are my personal preference, next time I make this though I think I'll also use a spicier taco seasoning, and a 'hot' Salsa- my darling really enjoyed this but had to add Tobasco sauce as he found it a little bland for his taste. Next time I'll kick the heat up a notch and it will be perfect! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I love this recipe! I doubled the corn chips on bottom and used extra cheese. I crave this on a weekly basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2014

      Really good! No corn chips on hand but I did have tortillas that I cut into bite size pieces and browned up in canola oil. The recipe is a keeper and I will make again with the corn chips. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      Excellent. Left the chips out & served with both guacamole tortilla chips & flour tortillas so we could either dip or place in warmed tortilla, roll up & eat like a burrito. Served with sour cream & shredded lettuce. Thanks for sharing a nice twist on taco night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I have been cooking for 10 years and have never managed to get a great taco casserole recipe. This is it! I cooked it till it was 160 degrees (25 min at 375). I recommend using refried beans with green chilies--it's right next to the original, is mild, but adds a little extra Mexican flavor. I also recommend using Mexican shredded cheese. Also, I added sour cream and guacamole on the side. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Super yummy. Super easy. Totally worth the $9 dollars it cost to make. With certainly make it again. I think some of the issue with the soggy chips is the water that the taco seasoning says to add meat. I cut the water about in half and then drained the extra off before putting the meat on the chips. After baking for about 10 minutes to melt the cheese...chips were still crunchy. Absolutely loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Awesome stuff! I left out the olives and instead of using a whole tomato I used a punnet of grape tomatoes cut in half. I put about 3/4s of the punnet in the mince/ground beef mix and the rest on top before I put it in the oven as I'm not a fan of fresh tomato. Also drizzled some salsa over the top. I put some of the shallots/green onions in the mince/ground beef mix as well as some frozen vege's I had in the fridge. Next time I'll use more taco seasoning and get a bit more salsa. I uploaded a picture to the album of my end result.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Taco Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.9
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    54%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 72.8 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1190.0 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 24.1 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corn chips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes