Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Old Fashioned Ice Cream Soda Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Old Fashioned Ice Cream Soda

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2011

      Wonderful. And it is an ice cream soda. An egg cream is just a drink- no ice cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      Speaking as an old Howard Johnson hand, this is how we made ice cream sodas. No measuring necessary ~ soda glasses had marking on them. First squirt was the cream, then syrup. Push the seltzer back to get a strong stream of soda to mix the cream and syrup. Put some seltzer into the glass, add the scoop of ice cream and add more seltzer to fill. <br/><br/>It's been probably 45 years and I could still go behind the soda fountain and make these treats. From my years living in NYC, an egg cream is just chocolate syrup and seltzer. I liked mine with ice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      It is NOT an Ice cream soda. Adding milk turns it into an egg cream with ice cream. To avoid the silly repetitious sound of that coining the term

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Always wanted a good ice cream soda recipe. Will have to test this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      I love ice cream sodas, and I can never find a place to make them anymore! Every ice cream shoppe that I go into never knows what I'm talking about when I ask about these. Brings back great memories from my childhood :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Great recipe, brings back memories of stopping by the drug store soda fountain of my youth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      So refreshing and just perfect to have with my hamburgers and french fries. Brought me back to happy times in my childhood when my grandmother would take me out to the drug store for lunch and we would get these with a burger and fries. Those were the days! Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This isn't an ice cream soda. This is an egg cream. Ice Cream sodas do not have milk in them, only syrup, seltzer, and ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I gave this 4 stars. My family loved these. I made them using Club Soda. My newphew said that the soda were really good. My niece stopped in the kitchen after 1 sip and drank the till the soda was gone. I liked the drink but I didn't care for the Club Soda taste. Next time I make these I will mix my chocolate milk and Club Soda very well. Thanks for posting a good recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      Yummy! this was the first ice cream soda my husband has had and it has been so loooong since I have had a soda. Quick and easy. Topped ours with Cool Whip instead of whipped cream. Thanks KITTENCAL. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Quick and refreshing! Make suer your club soda is chilled first for optimun results. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      ggood stuff i love all kittencals recipes .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Delicious! Used Sharon123's Mango Flavored Syrup for Soft Drinks Mango Flavored Syrup for Soft Drinks for the syrup. Wonderful combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Old Fashioned Ice Cream Soda

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 507.8
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    38%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 67.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 328.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 47.4 g
    189%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes