14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful. And it is an ice cream soda. An egg cream is just a drink- no ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JSquirrel May 16, 2011

Speaking as an old Howard Johnson hand, this is how we made ice cream sodas. No measuring necessary ~ soda glasses had marking on them. First squirt was the cream, then syrup. Push the seltzer back to get a strong stream of soda to mix the cream and syrup. Put some seltzer into the glass, add the scoop of ice cream and add more seltzer to fill. <br/><br/>It's been probably 45 years and I could still go behind the soda fountain and make these treats. From my years living in NYC, an egg cream is just chocolate syrup and seltzer. I liked mine with ice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindaa2 July 01, 2014

It is NOT an Ice cream soda. Adding milk turns it into an egg cream with ice cream. To avoid the silly repetitious sound of that coining the term

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plaguedbydoubts February 23, 2014

Always wanted a good ice cream soda recipe. Will have to test this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geirmund February 09, 2013

I love ice cream sodas, and I can never find a place to make them anymore! Every ice cream shoppe that I go into never knows what I'm talking about when I ask about these. Brings back great memories from my childhood :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieDoughPlease December 05, 2012

Great recipe, brings back memories of stopping by the drug store soda fountain of my youth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OTMAN June 24, 2012

So refreshing and just perfect to have with my hamburgers and french fries. Brought me back to happy times in my childhood when my grandmother would take me out to the drug store for lunch and we would get these with a burger and fries. Those were the days! Thanks Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickyferland63 September 18, 2008

This isn't an ice cream soda. This is an egg cream. Ice Cream sodas do not have milk in them, only syrup, seltzer, and ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogodigger July 16, 2008

I gave this 4 stars. My family loved these. I made them using Club Soda. My newphew said that the soda were really good. My niece stopped in the kitchen after 1 sip and drank the till the soda was gone. I liked the drink but I didn't care for the Club Soda taste. Next time I make these I will mix my chocolate milk and Club Soda very well. Thanks for posting a good recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut February 19, 2007

Yummy! this was the first ice cream soda my husband has had and it has been so loooong since I have had a soda. Quick and easy. Topped ours with Cool Whip instead of whipped cream. Thanks KITTENCAL. Bullwinkle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle August 22, 2006
Fantastic Old Fashioned Ice Cream Soda