47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a disappointment this dish turned out to be. We love mushrooms and cheese, but this was not a keeper for us. The sour cream mixture did not elevate the flavor of the mushrooms. I used king oyster mushrooms, button mushrooms, and beech mushrooms and would have preferred them simply sauteed in butter and garlic.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayou Mama March 08, 2011

OMG!! This was great following to letter... ...the next time I added Chopped red peppers, green onions, and crumbled bacon, and used as topping for baked potatoes! BIG HIT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sanne September 15, 2010

This was a huge win at dinner. My husband loves mushroom dishes, and when he took his first bite he gave me that look that he does when he's had a bite of something indescribably delicious, right before he tells me that I should make it as often as possible. I threw it together quickly, and I realized later that since I only had 8 oz of mushrooms and didn't measure, I used about 3x the amount of butter that I should have (I should have poured if off before adding the sour cream). Also, we've started eating Paleo, so I left out the flour - the dish turned out more watery than I think it will next time when I use the right amount of butter! I did use seasoned salt as the recipe recommends. I will definitely make this again - probably to serve over steak next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KT Scarlet January 19, 2013

I needed something quick and easy to use up some baby portabellos.... and this fit the bill perfectly! I did as one other reviewer did and served it on top of baked potatoes..... Mmmmmm. I see school lunches in my future (both DH and I are teachers). Our 16 year old daughter also liked it alot! The only thing I did different was use fatfree greek yogurt in place of the sour cream and used half shredded parm. and cheddar blend (I was out of Mozzerella)..... This is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead September 02, 2012

This is an excellent side dish! Simple, minimal ingredients, and extremely tasty. Will be making again, soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhastings01 January 08, 2012

This was ok. My kids loved this. I thought it was to sour creamy for me. maybe a bit less sour cream? Well I will make again kids say so! :>) Thanks for posting Kit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny January 03, 2011

OMG..This was awsome. We love mushrooms and this was incredible. Everyone loved it. I will be making this alot!! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARIA MAC * December 17, 2010

OMG! This was delicious! I used soy sauce instead of salt (that is how I always saute my mushrooms) and served over brown rice. I will be making this often! Thanks Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat August 17, 2010

For a mushroom & cheese lover...this is the best by far. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I've made this 3 times now, and I'm still in awe...my family loves it too, so double bonus!!! Last time I made this, I remembered to take pictures to post...instead of running to the dinner table to eat it...lol.
p.s. Just got some fresh mushrooms from the mushroom farm in Eastern Ontario, guess what I'll be making today?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaldredey July 15, 2010

We loved this! I had a 1 lb package of mushrooms to use up so I halved it. I used low-fat sour cream and white wheat flour, plus mozzarella cheese. Very good flavor. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 24, 2010
Fantastic Mushrooms Au Gratin