Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Hot 'n' Spicy Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Hot 'n' Spicy Wings

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2009

      I made this for Super Bowl Sunday. I have never made Buffalo Wings before but I can honestly say. They were a hit. I had 5lbs of wings so I tweaked the recipe a bit. I used habanero sauce instead of plan hot sauce so it was quite a bit hotter but they still flew. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I made this recipe for a New Years Party and scaled it for 4 lbs of wings. I used Lyle's golden syrup in place of the honey (always do) and used the recommended hot sauce PLUS subbed hot sauce for the water in the recipe. Cooked the sauce 2 days ahead and let it sit. Made the wings and they flew off the tray! Oh so good.....mostly sweet with a spicy kick at the end. I used Texas Pete hot sauce and was surprised even with the extra it wasn't real hot, but I'll try a different hot sauce next time. Anyway, make these wings-they are as Kittencal says-FANTASTIC!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Fabulous!! The sauce is so delicious, with the perfect amount of heat (I used 2 T of hot sauce). We all loved it and this is going into the favorites file. I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the wings plain first for 30 minutes, drained off the fat, and then dipped the wings in the sauce and finished cooking them. When I prepared the sauce, it cooked down and became quite thick, it was just barely enough for my 2.25 pounds of wings, I might make more sauce the next time. Thanks again for another fabulous recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      These were FABULOUS! I took your tip in your description and did the wings on the grill then finished them off in the oven - what a clean-up time saver! The first time I made these, I used Tabasco sauce and was a little disappointed in the heat and flavor, so I did my homework and found that Louisiana hot sauce came recommended so I used that the next time and it made a HUGE difference. I also used wingettes to cut down on the prep time of separating the wings myself. The only modification I made both times was that I added just under half a cup of honey instead of 1/4 cup, just because part of the fun of eating hot wings is licking the sticky sauce off your fingers and I wanted to "up" the stick factor! ;) These were great by the outdoor fire pit with Hubby and some friends and cold beer. Thanks so much for sharing all your amazing recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the flavor of these wings. They were even easy to make. This is the first time I have ever made my own hot wings and I was really impressed with how they came out. It was not nearly spicy enough for our liking, though. In fact, it didn't really feel spicy at all. That is the only reason I haven't given this 5 stars. The flavor was amazing and I would absolutely recommend them to everyone. Just add about 3 times the amount if you want to feel a little heat at the end. Thanks for a great recipe, KITTENCAL!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      These were really good. I made about 8 pounds of these wings and they were all devoured by the kids I was making dinner for. They were mildly spicy, enough to give great flavor, but mild enough so that everyone could enjoy them. The folks that wanted the heat just put extra hot sauce on them. I didn't have any fresh garlic so I did use garlic powder. The group I was cooking for asked "who is this KittenCal person? she has great recipes!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      DELICIOUS!!! I love this recipe because it is just different enough that guests know they are being served something special. I did double the hot sauce and I added some dried shallots! Thank you for a great recipe, Kitten!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      These were wonderful! Doubled everything and added 1 tsp. of cayenne to the mix. Will cut back just a smidge on the honey/sugar next time for my boys...but I loved them just the way they are. I don't like wings that burn my nose hairs when they are placed in front of you. Next time I will take your advice and prepare everything a day ahead of time. Thanks for a keeper Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      made these for a new years party and they were a big hit..I ended up adding 2 extra Tbsp of the hot sauce as my friends like things more spicy, and they said the flavor was really good! I ended up with about 45 wings..thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Very good. I added 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper to the sauce because my family likes it hot. Other than that, the recipe is excellent. Once again thank you Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Delicious! I charred mine a bit (on purpose) under the broiler which makes them a little more flavorful in my opinion. They're very easy make, I baked mine for only 30 minutes, the same as "Uncle Bill", and broiled them at the beginning and at the very end for about 3 minutes and they turned out great! The next time I make them I'll add a bit more hot pepper sauce. Thanks for a great and easy to make recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I pretty much followed Kittencal's suggestions and prepared most of steps the night before. The chicken was great, but I would not classify the sauce as hot, but tangy. Thank you for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Scrumptious. is the only word. This is a marvelous blend of spices. I did not change a thing but did use chicken thighs instead. I prefer them to wings. I actually made the sauce a bit to thick, was still good, but will certainly keep it thinner next time. thanks for a wonderful meal. I enjoined this with the eggplant Spicy Eggplant (Aubergine) for a total meal along with toasted Russian Rye bread. Dipping it into the Eggplant dish occasionally Thanks for a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      Yum yum yum! I thought I had made these too spicy, but apparently I'm supposed to make them even more spicy next time! I used BBQ sauce instead of the ketchup and didn't have the dried onions, but it all came out wonderful. I'll broil them longer next time as they didn't really crisp up. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Great wings, Kitten! I used 3 tbsps. tabasco for about 2 lbs. of wings and they were HOT to me but the rest of the family want them hotter next time. They are EASY to make and the flavor is great. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      Made these for the Super Bowl and doubled the recipe using drumettes. They tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Kitten - I made these wings for Superbowl.They were the whip. I made 6 lbs of wings for 5 guys + me. I got two. But the two I got were great. I loved the sauce. It is the perfect combination of sweet/hot. I made them exactly as posted. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      You are the 'Zaar Queen! These were very good. I doubled the sauce for 6 pounds of wings, but kept the hot sauce at a minimum for my son's sake. I think next time, I'll make a small batch for myself, using the hot ketchup and extra hot sauce. Thanks for yet another winner, Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      I cut the recipe back to 10 wing halves (2 servings) - no problem- loved them -Kept the heat high and I nearly took my head off - loved it!. I liked that I could control the heat. Followed the rest of the recipe with excellent results. Cheers to your recipe Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      Hi KITTENCAL; Made these Fantastic Spicy Wings yesterday. Your combination of condiments was SUPERB and brought out the spicy, flavorous, savorous, aromatic and appetizing chicken that I have had in a long time. I doubled the amount of garlic cloves as I like the garlicky taste. I placed the wings and drumettes in a casserole dish, poured the Sauce over and baked them for 30 minutes at 375 F. Then took them out of the oven and crisped them under the broiler. Oh WOW, delicious, will be making them again for the weekend. Thanks for sharing this recipe. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Hot 'n' Spicy Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (1813 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1204.5
     
    Calories from Fat 656
    54%
    Total Fat 72.9 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 349.5 mg
    116%
    Sodium 1479.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 44.0 g
    176%
    Protein 85.4 g
    170%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes