42 Reviews

Well, these were pretty good but they're not the best I've ever had. I find that some kittencal recipes are really awesome and others are just kinda so-so. This is one of those that are just so-so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shrimplover April 27, 2012

Another great recipe from Kittencal! I made these for after the Superbowl and was a little concerned when my husband told me they were missing something...blue cheese to dip in! The wings were fantastic! I followed the recipe as is and did throw them on broil at the end. Thanks for a go to wing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy likes to cook February 10, 2012

These really are fantastic! They are quite easy, and oh so very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except I only had a little bit of ketchup, so I substituted chile sauce. I think it probably didn't change the flavor that much except maybe made it a tad bit more tangy. I used Cholula hot sauce, so that was a bit more tame than something like Tabasco. This will certainly be on my "preferred" appetizer list both for taste and ease of preparation.

I made these a second time, using Pete's Hot Sauce, and following the recipe exactly. They were great, once again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest February 06, 2012

This is the best hot wing recipe I have had! Big hit! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
powelltngb January 22, 2012

We don't like super spicy food and this one isn't. This is a nice sweet wing recipe, but there's no heat (used 3 Tablespoons hot sauce). I gave the recipe 2 stars because I was looking for a "Hot" recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sctnusa September 06, 2011

Made these for 4th of July and everybody loved them! Texas Pete was our hot sauce choice, I QUADRUPLED the recipe and since I only had about 1/4 cup of honey, I used 3/4 cup agave nectar to make up the difference. The crowd likes REALLY SPICY, so I took a chance and added 1/4 cup crushed red pepper, 2T cayenne, and 1T black pepper. To keep the kitchen cool, I had the DH cook these on the grill first and then i dunked them in the sauce, baked for 5 mins at suggested heat settings, then dunked them again! Next time we might add grated ginger to give them more of an asian flavor. Either way, this is def. a KEEPER! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
i82mucbb4 July 05, 2010

This was a great chicken wing recipe. I doubled the recipe, used 5 cloves of garlic, 2 1/2 T. hot sauce, and 1 tsp. onion powder instead of dried onions. I was trying to not make the sauce too hot since we had a lot of young kids eating the wings. When I made the sauce on the stovetop and tasted it, there was a little kick. During baking, the kick went away and I was left with sweet wings. They were very good, but next time I will not reduce the amount of hot sauce called for and maybe add a little more. I baked/broiled the wings as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviva February 08, 2010

These were amazing! I followed your recipe except that I did not have dried onion, so I added a bit of onion powder instead. I added a bit of cayenne pepper for an extra kick and I also followed the advice of another reviewer and subbed hot sauce for the 1/4 cup of water. THESE WERE SUPERB!!! Thank you for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Zamudio August 06, 2009

We really enjoyed these wings. The sauce is fantastic, and I love that they are baked. We did broil them on both sides to crisp them well. I was unsure about the dried onions, it looked like so much to use, but decided to trust you and go with it. I am glad I did!! With 2 tbsp hot sauce, they were not spicy at all to us, just sweet. Still YUMMY, but next time I will try much more, possibly in place of the water as others have suggested. Either way, you can not go wrong with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry March 31, 2009

Fantastic is right..My DH and I loved these. I added a little Agave Nector as well as the honey and used apple cider vinegar, as that is all I had handy. I also took another reviewers suggestion and used hot sauce instead of water. The absolute best! This is my new hot wing recipe. Made again for a party last night, and they were all gone and the recipe was requested. These are REALLY good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking-BAG March 15, 2009
Fantastic Hot 'n' Spicy Wings