Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Hot 'n' Spicy Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Hot 'n' Spicy Wings

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2014

      This recipe is, in actual fact, excellent but it's word for word lifted from Best of the Best of Bridge, page 70, copyright August 1998, which also has loads of other terrific recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Very good. After trying more than one of your recipes, I have concluded that what you make and how you make it can be counted on to produce wonderful results. These are no exception. Thank you for being the cook you are.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Great recipe made first time as per recipe and tasted great. Second time around I made a few changes which also worked out great. First of all I doubled the sauce ingredients. I then got a plastic baggie with 2 cups flour + 1 tbl paprika, 1 tbl onion salt, 1 tbl mustar powder and 1/2 tbl chilli powder. I used drumsticks/thighs, popped them in the baggie to coat in the flour. I then baked them in the oven until the floured tops were golden. I took them out, drained a little of the fat off and poured over the sauce ingredients then baked again for approx 20 minutes. The sauce thickened down and the result was incredably sticky hot wings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      great recipe easy to follow used hot sauce instead of water crazy good !!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2014

      This is about the third or fourth time I've used this recipe to make hot wings, and I have to say that these are, by far, the best hot wings I've ever had. I made ketchup for the recipe using Top Secret Recipes Version of Heinz Ketchup. My husband and daughter love these things! Thanks for another good one Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      This recipe is absolutely FANTASTIC! I added extra hot sauce, and a little extra mustard, but I will never try another wing sauce recipe. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      The best grilled chicken wings I ever had! They are moist and juicy, and the sourness and spicyness lasts very long in your mouth - excellent! I made some fried pasta in butter and tomato paste and it's a perfect match. Thanks for sharing this recipe. This is going to be a big hit for my next party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I have to agree, this is the best way to make chicken wings! Sometimes I get lazy and don't feel like making the sauce. That's when I open up a bottle of my favorite wing sauce from my favorite wing restaurant and just dip the broiled wings in the bottled sauce. The results are that they are just as good as what I get at the restaurant, but without the cost or the deep frying. Thank you so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Made these wings for Superbowl to take to a friends house yesterday. They came out great! The sauce was sweet and spicy. I liked the addition of the ketchup in this recipe. Thanks for a great sauce. **Update** I can't say enough how much my family and I love this recipe. It is not the humdrum same old hot wings everyone else makes. I have played around with adding different hotsauce to the recipe, from Tabasco's new wings hot sauce (now my favorite) to whatever hotsauce or chili's I have on hand. The only difference I change in this recipe is to add fresh finely minced onion rather than onion powder (dried) from the spice cabinet. I have noted that these do not seem as hot as other hot wings maybe because of the addition of the honey. So I almost always very generous with the hot sauce. Thanks again for a great recipe! We make this all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      Well, these were pretty good but they're not the best I've ever had. I find that some kittencal recipes are really awesome and others are just kinda so-so. This is one of those that are just so-so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      Another great recipe from Kittencal! I made these for after the Superbowl and was a little concerned when my husband told me they were missing something...blue cheese to dip in! The wings were fantastic! I followed the recipe as is and did throw them on broil at the end. Thanks for a go to wing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      These really are fantastic! They are quite easy, and oh so very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except I only had a little bit of ketchup, so I substituted chile sauce. I think it probably didn't change the flavor that much except maybe made it a tad bit more tangy. I used Cholula hot sauce, so that was a bit more tame than something like Tabasco. This will certainly be on my "preferred" appetizer list both for taste and ease of preparation.

      I made these a second time, using Pete's Hot Sauce, and following the recipe exactly. They were great, once again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This is the best hot wing recipe I have had! Big hit! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      We don't like super spicy food and this one isn't. This is a nice sweet wing recipe, but there's no heat (used 3 Tablespoons hot sauce). I gave the recipe 2 stars because I was looking for a "Hot" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Made these for 4th of July and everybody loved them! Texas Pete was our hot sauce choice, I QUADRUPLED the recipe and since I only had about 1/4 cup of honey, I used 3/4 cup agave nectar to make up the difference. The crowd likes REALLY SPICY, so I took a chance and added 1/4 cup crushed red pepper, 2T cayenne, and 1T black pepper. To keep the kitchen cool, I had the DH cook these on the grill first and then i dunked them in the sauce, baked for 5 mins at suggested heat settings, then dunked them again! Next time we might add grated ginger to give them more of an asian flavor. Either way, this is def. a KEEPER! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This was a great chicken wing recipe. I doubled the recipe, used 5 cloves of garlic, 2 1/2 T. hot sauce, and 1 tsp. onion powder instead of dried onions. I was trying to not make the sauce too hot since we had a lot of young kids eating the wings. When I made the sauce on the stovetop and tasted it, there was a little kick. During baking, the kick went away and I was left with sweet wings. They were very good, but next time I will not reduce the amount of hot sauce called for and maybe add a little more. I baked/broiled the wings as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      These were amazing! I followed your recipe except that I did not have dried onion, so I added a bit of onion powder instead. I added a bit of cayenne pepper for an extra kick and I also followed the advice of another reviewer and subbed hot sauce for the 1/4 cup of water. THESE WERE SUPERB!!! Thank you for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      We really enjoyed these wings. The sauce is fantastic, and I love that they are baked. We did broil them on both sides to crisp them well. I was unsure about the dried onions, it looked like so much to use, but decided to trust you and go with it. I am glad I did!! With 2 tbsp hot sauce, they were not spicy at all to us, just sweet. Still YUMMY, but next time I will try much more, possibly in place of the water as others have suggested. Either way, you can not go wrong with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Fantastic is right..My DH and I loved these. I added a little Agave Nector as well as the honey and used apple cider vinegar, as that is all I had handy. I also took another reviewers suggestion and used hot sauce instead of water. The absolute best! This is my new hot wing recipe. Made again for a party last night, and they were all gone and the recipe was requested. These are REALLY good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I am always looking for good appys to make for my DH and I, and this one looked really appealing. It was totally enjoyed by both of us, and I would recommend them to anyone who likes a little heat! I cut down on the heat by adjusting the hot sauce and I did use Louisiana Hot Sauce, which is milder than Tabasco. Be aware of the heat potential in these, and enjoy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Hot 'n' Spicy Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (1813 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1204.5
     
    Calories from Fat 656
    54%
    Total Fat 72.9 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 349.5 mg
    116%
    Sodium 1479.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 44.0 g
    176%
    Protein 85.4 g
    170%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes