Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2010

      I found that these crumbled quite a bit. I used half the sugar and sunbutter instead of peanut butter (allergies), and honey instead of corn syrup. Not sure if that affected it at all. However, it still tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      These were good....only WAY too sweet. I cut the sugar in half (used only 1/2 c.) and they still seemed excessively sweet. Next time I will try eliminating it all together. I really feel with the Agave (which I used in place of corn syrup), dried fruit and chocolate chips no additional sweetener is really needed. I used sunflower seeds in place of chopped peanuts and raisins & dried cranberries for fruit. Also, I was out of wheat germ, so I used Multi Grain cereal...which is like Oat Bran only with various grains mixed together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Wow! I'll just echo everyone else... these are DELICIOUS! I will never buy boxed granola bars again. This recipe is so versatile, the possibilities are endless. Thanks, Kitten, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      I did not follow the whole recipe, I just added ingredients to my preference. I used the basic recipe the sugar, syrup, butter, peanut butter and oats. I did use vanilla instead of maple extract. Then I just added nuts and more nuts of all kinds. I had a few dried cranberries and threw those in. The base is super tasty and you can really add whatever you want to it. I also used a cookie sheet to bake it and they are really really good. Not really crispy and not really chewy just perfect. Thanks for sharing your great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      These are DELICIOUS!! Used maple syrup instead of corn and used some dried cranberries and raisins. These make very sweet bars - perfect for a quick dessert!! Thanks Kit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This was my first attempt in making granola bars and I am glad I did! A big HIT! DD is a very picky eater, so I am always on a look out for healthy snacks and need I say she LOVED it! Used vanilla extract instead of maple, whole-meal flour for wheat germ, a mixture of sultanas and black currant for raisins, almonds and brazil nuts for nuts and figs and cherries for dried fruit. And also used a bit less than 1 cup of chocolate chips. Next time I shall try it with dried apricots and dates. Thank you, Kittencal, for sharing yet another one of your wonderful recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      This is excellent, I brought back a bottle of corn syrup on my visit to Canada as it's impossible to find here and I will definitely be asking my Mum to send me a bottle every Christmas just so I can make this. I also added 1/3 cup of sunflower seeds. We all loved this and it goes straight in to my favourite file. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      Great taste, even with vanilla extract instead of maple. I left out the coconut, nuts, and dried fruit for my hubby. The uncooked mix is delicious! The final product is not crispy, but not cakey either- just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      What more can I say...... :yummy: Get these damn things away from me :yummy:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      Just made these bars. I just had to taste the mixture before placing the pan in the oven. DELICIOUS! Substituted walnuts for peanuts, use 1-1/4 cups dried cranberries for the whole recipe and left everything else the same. The best granola bars I have ever tasted and so easy to make! My family also loved them! Never will I buy granola bars again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      I cant stop eating this!!! Im always on the look out for healthy treats to give my 15month old son, instead of candy. These were really wonderful. I didnt have wheat germ this time so left it out and added dried apricots for the fruit.The possibilities are really endless with this recipe. And these are 10x better than what I can buy at any store for a fraction of the cost too.The only dilemma now is that I have to share this with baby ;-) Thank kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      FANTASTIC!! These are soooo much better than any brought muesli bar. For the cup of assorted nuts/fruit I used a mix of pecan, almond, chopped dried apricot and pumpkin seed. These will make a great addition to the kids lunchboxes and I'm sure I'll be making these often. There are so many variations, next time I'll reduce the choc chips to 1/2 cup and up the mixed dried fruit/nut. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      These were so delicious! I'd almost have to place them in the "candy bar" category. I made a few substitutions: whole wheat flour since I didn't have wheat germ on hand and I added a little salt, a little cinnamon, and an egg (after looking at a couple of other granola bar recipes). I used chopped almonds and dried cranberries and regular-sized chocolate chips. Everyone who tried them was amazed at how delicious they were!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Bar Cookie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.9
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    46%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 107.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 27.6 g
    110%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites