17 Reviews

I had a lot of baking to do and a long drive ( 22 hours) ahead, so I made these, froze them for three days, loaded the car and drove for two days. We opened up the container over coffee two days after my arrival ( no refrigeration whatsoever) and mmmmm, these were fabulous. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thebossmare December 01, 2011

I am a regular biscotti maker, and find it hard to find a simle, never fail recipe, however this one is great! It is super easy and turns out perfect everytime!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystal.d February 06, 2011

I make these in Summer in all flavors and then seal in a canning jar using my FoodSaver.. Lasts, in a cool pantry (basement) till Xmas and stay very fresh!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco July 19, 2015

My logs spread and became very wide in the oven, and when I tried to cut them into pieces, they were very long pieces and difficult to cut because they were crumbly. I either made a mistake and put 2 teaspoons of baking soda in, instead of 1 teaspoon. Or, maybe it is supposed to be baking powder, instead of baking soda? Can anyone tell me what my mistake could have been? In spite of my mistake, they are delicious and I would like to try to bake them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eydie S. December 20, 2014

I just made this recipe, followed the directions exactly. The biscotti came out so dry that when I tied to cut the log the pieces crumbled. Not only did I waste my time making these, but I also wasted money buying the ingredients. I recommend picking another chocolate biscotti recipe if this is what you want to make. This is the first time I have ever had problems with an online recipe, and I have been baking and cooking for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Romeo13 December 12, 2010

I made these for a friend for Christmas last year & he loved them. I am giving them 4 stars instead of 5 only because I used high quality dark chocolate instead of cocoa & chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet November 23, 2010

I loved these the first day but not as much the second day. Easy to do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 19, 2010

If you like biscotti, or if you like chocolate, try this recipe. Honestly, even if you don't like either, make the recipe! Someone in your life will undoubtedly scarf these up and love you forever for making them; they're really really good and fairly simple to put together. I made them just as written, but used my own muscle rather than an electric mixer and parchment paper instead of buttering a cookie sheet, and regular chips in lieu of mini ones... and I just realized now I didn't do the confectioners' sugar bit, but mine turned out just fine. I can't think of a substantial change I'd suggest making. I really highly recommend these for packages too. I sent them to my best friend, across the country, who is finishing grad school, and they held up perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinya June 16, 2010

I'm a huge biscotti fan and baker. I would rank these with my top 3 biscotti recipes(the other two being Cranberry-Orange and Anise-Almond). The flavor was decadently chocolate and they have just the right amount of crunch without hurting your teeth. My tip is that when you bake them for the second time, just stand the slices UPRIGHT (shown in my photo) rather than laying them flat and then flipping them over. This is an excellent recipe with well-written instructions. Thank you! Update 8/30/08 - used the new DARK cocoa powder and they were even better than before!! Update 5/24/09 - reduce salt to 1/2 teaspoon unless you like the noticeably salty flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva May 25, 2009

My daughater and I just made these and I have to agree with the other reviews...they are fabulous!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbarry_landscape November 29, 2008
Fantastic Double Chocolate-Pecan Biscotti