33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this 3 times now. Once I used it for tempura shrimp sushi, once for onion straws, and once for plain tempura shrimp. The crispiness holds up, even in sushi, even after said sushi has been sitting in the fridge overnight. To make this gluten free, just sub club soda for the beer and add a little sugar. I also like to add some wasabi powder.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation June 19, 2010

Great batter, texture, flavor. To the previous posted that uses Extra Virgin Olive Oil to fry foods in, this is a good way to kill yourself. Use grapeseed or canola oil if you don't want to use veg oil. When you heat up an oil with a low smoking point like olive oil it can catch fire, or explode if you put too much moisture in it. The heat also breaks down the oil and creates free radicals and carcinogens. It is far more unhealthy and very dangerous to fry in olive oil despite how healthy olive oil is normally.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jestep May 05, 2010

Great recipe. If you dredge the fish in a light coating of seasoned rice flour before putting in the batter, the batter will adhere much better and will stick to the fish better.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina Poe June 28, 2009

This recipe produced better shrimp than any I've gotten from a restaurant in years. I am not exaggerating. And this is the first recipe review I've written in my life so I am serious!.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gumbofreak August 22, 2012

Good batter. It doesn't coat as expected. But the tempura stayed crispy as stated. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thuan V. Nguyen January 28, 2009

How do you do it??? Tried this the other evening, and we could not stop talking about it! OMG!! It was the BEST shrimp I have ever made! It was just what I was looking for. THEY STAYED CRISP! I didn't put all the seasonings like the recipe said, but I will next time. Was afraid it would be overpowering, but it can definately take all the measurements. My DH wants to come and stay one week at your house! LOL I just want to thank you for all your wonderful recipes, I have made numerous ones and have been pleased with each and every one of them. You have made our meal times very enjoyable. Keep up the good work!!! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cincasue September 13, 2008

Must have done something very wrong - tried twice and all I got was an orange lump in the bowl, which would not coat anything. Possibly what you call rice flour in the USA is not what we call rice flour here in Australia. After reading all the rave reviews, I think the mistake is mine!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tricia Mendes September 14, 2013

I liked the batter, it was really nice and light, also stays very crispy, but it doesn't taste like tempura in a restaurant. Still very tasty though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbowslayer July 25, 2013

This is precisely as advertised! Crisp as an Alaskan morn in winter and light as the first snow flake. I used Blue Moon beer and dredged thin slices of sweet potato, zucchini, onion, broccoli florets and shrimp in seasoned rice flour, then batter and it was phenomenal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs March 24, 2013

This was easy to make and soo worth it!! So light and delicious, will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpmjen October 12, 2012
Fantastic Crispy Tempura Batter