Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Crispy Tempura Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Crispy Tempura Batter

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2010

      I have made this 3 times now. Once I used it for tempura shrimp sushi, once for onion straws, and once for plain tempura shrimp. The crispiness holds up, even in sushi, even after said sushi has been sitting in the fridge overnight. To make this gluten free, just sub club soda for the beer and add a little sugar. I also like to add some wasabi powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Great batter, texture, flavor. To the previous posted that uses Extra Virgin Olive Oil to fry foods in, this is a good way to kill yourself. Use grapeseed or canola oil if you don't want to use veg oil. When you heat up an oil with a low smoking point like olive oil it can catch fire, or explode if you put too much moisture in it. The heat also breaks down the oil and creates free radicals and carcinogens. It is far more unhealthy and very dangerous to fry in olive oil despite how healthy olive oil is normally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Great recipe. If you dredge the fish in a light coating of seasoned rice flour before putting in the batter, the batter will adhere much better and will stick to the fish better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      This recipe produced better shrimp than any I've gotten from a restaurant in years. I am not exaggerating. And this is the first recipe review I've written in my life so I am serious!.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Good batter. It doesn't coat as expected. But the tempura stayed crispy as stated. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      How do you do it??? Tried this the other evening, and we could not stop talking about it! OMG!! It was the BEST shrimp I have ever made! It was just what I was looking for. THEY STAYED CRISP! I didn't put all the seasonings like the recipe said, but I will next time. Was afraid it would be overpowering, but it can definately take all the measurements. My DH wants to come and stay one week at your house! LOL I just want to thank you for all your wonderful recipes, I have made numerous ones and have been pleased with each and every one of them. You have made our meal times very enjoyable. Keep up the good work!!! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Must have done something very wrong - tried twice and all I got was an orange lump in the bowl, which would not coat anything. Possibly what you call rice flour in the USA is not what we call rice flour here in Australia. After reading all the rave reviews, I think the mistake is mine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      I liked the batter, it was really nice and light, also stays very crispy, but it doesn't taste like tempura in a restaurant. Still very tasty though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      This is precisely as advertised! Crisp as an Alaskan morn in winter and light as the first snow flake. I used Blue Moon beer and dredged thin slices of sweet potato, zucchini, onion, broccoli florets and shrimp in seasoned rice flour, then batter and it was phenomenal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      This was easy to make and soo worth it!! So light and delicious, will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      THANK YOU! Finally a recipe that stays crispy. I LOVE this with chicken and stir fried Chinese vegetables over rice. I use white rice flour and brown rice flour. This recipe has never failed me yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      I have used this recipe many times and have to say that it was because of who posted it.I have never had anything bad from kitten.Anyway,to the lady that issued the warning on frying with olive oil,I have been frying this way for years and still here.I have not had a problem doing it.This is a great batter for frying anything.In fact,if you just want to munch on a fritter fry it without anything in it.lol I always dip what I am frying in flour before dipping into the batter as the batter holds on better.
      I did cut some big french fries with peel on and fried in this batter and they are way good.Back when we could afford steak once a month hubby wanted these fries with it.Thanks for another good one kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      I loved this! I thought it was perfect, just like my favorite Chinese place. My husband disagreed, but still liked it and he doesn't like anything. I'm definitely saving this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      A great recipe! I just made deep fried jalepeno disks with it. Very good.
      any vegetable would be good with this. Next I'm doing shrimp.
      Going in my recipe book for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Worked great on my meat but not the veggies. Will have to try again with only veggies next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Great Batter. My family loves this. I fry up okra, zucchini, yellow summer squash, green tomatoes using this batter(-whatever I have excess of) and drain it on paper towel, then place on cookie sheets in the freezer. When frozen place in gallon freezer bags. This is great for winter time when there is none of thses veggies fresh. Makes for a quick side dish. You can either refry till crisp or heat up in oven till crisp. YUMMMY!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      made this and used when we had fondue night! works awesome with oil.... i did learn not to use tempura when youre doing a fondue broth. whoops! LOVE this tempura batter. added just a little bit more rice flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      So surprised. I love Tempura, however have never liked the tradional recipe...so I use just Beer and Flour. The rice flour and seasonings were wonderful! Thank you again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Never having written a review, I was so impressed with the "crispy" results from the combination of beer and rice flour that I used on some left-over chicken, in addition to some onion rings, I had to rate this as a "5" star recipe. However, if you add salt to the batter, you may not want to add any additional to the finished dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      all i can do is repeat deannes comments.kittencal is ALWAYS A WINNER. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Crispy Tempura Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.1
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    97%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 438.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes