Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Banana Cream Pie With Banana Graham Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Banana Cream Pie With Banana Graham Crust

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2009

      very nice though seem a bit envelop with all the waiting well i guess it paid of tasted very rich/sweet and so good. the crust was sticking to my glass dish so will have to work on that the only thing i changed was one tsp of cinnamon to the crust which made it the best i have ever tasted :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This was delicious; nice and light tasting. I used both the banana extract and vanilla extract but not the vanilla bean. I accidentally forgot to bake the crust but graham crackers are pretty forgiving. There was exactly enough custard to fill and cover the pie...not an inch more. In the future I'll put 1/2 or 3/4 cup custard on the bottom instead of a full cup so that I will have extra custard for the topping. One note on the custard...in the future I'm going to pull it off the heat the moment it begins to simmer. It thickens fast and gets a little gloppy and hard to spread when it cools. The pie wasn't too sweet and was really enjoyed. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      What a way to fulfill a banana cream pie craving!!! My kids told me to give this 15 stars. The banana in the crust definitely makes this special and I love the vanilla bean in the custard. I did not use the banana extract because I like the fresh banana flavor to shine through the delicious custard. I used my leftover egg whites to top this pie with meringue. Another great one Kitten - thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I made 2 banana cream pies: this one and Granny's Banana Cream Pie because we wanted to do a taste comparison. This one got more votes, primarily because of the phenomenal crust. But I really think the banana extract and fresh vanilla bean, along with the crust, really make this pie the best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      I made this for a dinner party for my husbands birthday and it was a hit. The crust was the best I've had. Next time I would make more crust because of my large pie plate. I would also oil the pan to help release the pie. I did not use the vanilla bean but did use the vanilla and banana extract. I used the leftover half cup of cream,whipped it with some sugar and put a dollop on each slice. I will make this again !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This pie was absolutely fantastic! I made it for my Dad's birthday (we normally buy him one from Bakers Square) and he was in HEAVEN! He even told me that it beat out his Grandma's recipe (who is the chef of the family) for the pie. I made it step by step, including the crust, I would never buy one because that was the first thing everyone complimented. Good eating!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      Just looking at this is making me droooooooolllll, i just made banana bread but i will be getting to this one soon don't you worry !! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      The base is amazing! although this recipe is time consuming it is well worth it... if you can stop yourself from eating it straight away the flavor is better the next day. Thank you for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      (This is a review of the crust only since I used a different recipe for the filling.) The crust was delicious! 2 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs is a ridiculous amount though. I used about 1 3/4 cups and ended up using a 9" springform pan so I could press the crust up the sides. I just used a whole smallish banana instead of measuring out 1/4 cup to keep things simple. Since it has the banana in it, the crust was very chewy instead of crumby, which was great! I will definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Wow! The pie was excellent on it's own, and didn't even need whipped cream on top. The custard is outstanding. I used a 9" deep glass pie dish so I only used 3 large bananas. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Greetings from sunny northern Portughal. I need look no more, this is it, the perfect Banana cream pie!!!! Everyone in my family really enjoyed it. This is a receipe I will definitly do over and over again.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing with all of us receipe lovers at Zaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This is the best pie I have ever made or tasted. My guests could not get enough. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This pie was the absolute best. Look no further if you are searching for the perfect banana pie. The vanilla bean is a must! You can get them pretty cheap on ebay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Wowzers this was gooooood Kittencal! I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner and it was everyone's favorite! I allowed it to cool overnight and it was perfectly set and yummy! I will definately make this again. Thanks so much for yet another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      My family has been making this for years every holiday. Using an actual vanilla bean is a must if you ask me. The vanilla aroma fills the house not to mention gives you premium flavor. Plus I like to see the vanilla dots too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I've made this recipe several times now, trying out different crusts. The original crust turned out way too hard and chewy(maybe cook time was too long or heat too high), but the filling is fantastic! I now make 1.5x the filling and that seems about perfect with 4 large bananas in the pie pan I have. I didn't use the vanilla bean or the banana extract since I didn't happen to have any and now don't feel the need to mess with a good thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Yum, fantastic pie. Well written and easy to follow. The custard had a great consistency and I couldn't keep out of it while it was cooling. :) Can't wait to use a vanilla bean in the next pie. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I haven't had a crust like this before and it is fantastic! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This pie is exceptionally good! My son made it for our family pie contest, and he was the winner- hands down. We did not use the vanilla bean, but we did use the banana extract. Really, really yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I have made this pie many times: special occasions, gifts, parties, etc. It has always been a big hit. It is decadent! Given a hectic schedule, I have never made the crust. I have just used a store bought frozen or graham cracker crust for the filling. It is still fabulous. My favorite version uses a chocolate graham cracker crust. Try this one out sometime: you will be thrilled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Banana Cream Pie With Banana Graham Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 743.6
     
    Calories from Fat 381
    51%
    Total Fat 42.3 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 23.8 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 241.0 mg
    80%
    Sodium 421.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 52.6 g
    210%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes