45 Reviews

mhhh.very soft and delicious,I was out of shortening so I used Butter instead and it worked out well.
I saw the double-crusting-Tip and tried it.Mhhh yummi.
Update: I made this cake a lot of times now, and it is often wanted from family and friends and every time it is fast gone, turned out perfect every time as well. Thanks again for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wiebke February 22, 2013

I made half a recipe using four small apples and baked in a 9X9 inch pan. Turned out great. Just had a small corner while it was still warm. WOW!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 13, 2012

This is really good. One thing though, I wish I had put some lemon juice or something in with the apples because the following day they had turned black and weren't too appetizing, lol. I forgot to layer the topping, but it was still very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahRIzz February 19, 2012

WOW!! I can't believe more people haven't tried this recipe, this is the very best cake I've ever made! It's moist and delicious. I doubled the toppings and spread part of it over half the batter like you suggested and used extra apples because we have an overloaded tree. This is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing this great recipe Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greffete July 27, 2011

Very good! I doubled the amount of apples because I had to use them up, and it still turned out really nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Astra533 February 22, 2011

I wanted a coffee cake that was not DRY. This was amazingly moist and delicious. Definitely double the toppings. I served this at a business open house and everyone loved it. Some begged for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katiepusch November 24, 2010

I made this for my bible study group last Sat. night. Everybody loved this cake. Four of us were not able to make it so those that did had two pieces! Made it with Gala apples that were on sale. I think next time, and there will be a "next time", I'll increase the topping. Thank you Kittencal for a fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
O'reagano October 11, 2010

Another "over the top" recipe from Kitten.... As other reviewers have said the texture is perfect and I love her detailed directions.. I also used butter and gala apples and doubled topping using half in cake.. Sure wish i could give it more than 5 stars. Thanks for sharing kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl July 10, 2010

Delicious, again! I used 6 small apples (because I have a TON right now). That proved to be an issue, too much moisture. The cake took about 50 min. instead of 35. I added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and a pinch of cloves to the dry ingredients as I sifted them. Such a good texture. I can't wait to play around with it some more! Thanks Kittencal! I'm becoming a devote follower!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook a ramma momma April 25, 2010

This was great. Instead of 1 cup sour cream I used 1/2 apple sauce 1/2 sour cream which worked well. Also used 1 cup whole wheat flour. If I were to make this for company I'd definitely double the topping.. it was yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 27, 2010
Fantastic Apple Sour Cream Coffee Cake