Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Apple Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Apple Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2009

      Excellent! Very moist and tasty! I did double the crumb topping because we love it. Will definitely make again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I made this when we had company over and it was delicious! This is the first coffee cake I have ever baked, and it was easy but delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      My fiance made this last night, and we really enjoyed it. Very light for a coffee cake, not heavy at all. And delicious! Def double the topping and use half inside. MMM good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I followed sweetchocolate's advice and doubled the topping and spread some in the middle too, as I love nuts, otherwise followed the recipe and it came out moist, and simply delicious! If your looking for a great coffee cake, look no further and try this one! Yum Yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      This is my very first from scratch cake. Upon first bite, I was looking around for somebody to slap because it tasted so good!! LOL! I didn't have shortening, so used butter. I doubled the topping (with chopped walnuts) and spread some in the middle, as well. Also only had one big apple, but once chopped, it was pretty close to 2 cups. The only other change was use of 3/4 cup of sugar which was plenty sweet. Moist, crunchy and outstanding when warm! Yum-O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Best of 2008 Tag Game: Kitten - this coffee cake is outstanding!! Perfect for a cold winter's morning!! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Excellent. I used fat-free plain yogurt instead of sour cream and added some nutmeg, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Very yummy coffee cake. I did double the topping and put half in the middle of the coffee cake. I did cook it a little longer then the directions. thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      This cake was very moist, but a bit bland for my taste. Still a good basic coffee cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This is my new favorite apple cake recipe!!!!!!!!!! So easy and sooooooooo good. I added 2 tsp Penzey Apple Pie Spice to the batter and skipped the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! My family loved it! I substituted lowfat yogurt for the sour cream and butter for the shortening. It came out perfect and yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Very good!It is very moist,even after a few days.I made one 11 x 7 pan and put half in the freezer.I used margarine and Gala apples.I only needed 2 apples to make 2 cups,they were quite big.I omitted the nuts.Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Delish! I needed to use up some apples and this was perfect. I did as kittencal suggested and doubled the topping and sprinkle in the middle and on top. Excellent. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This recipe was wonderful. It was devoured. I did the whole double the topping thing and use 1/2 of it in the middle. I used 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 almond extract. Soooo good. As usual a hit recipe kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This coffee cake is very moist and tasty. The addition of apples is subtle, which I like. The only thing I did differently is double the topping and I'm glad I did because it's so good. Mine was baked just right in 35 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I needed a fast and easy crumb cake for last minute guests and this cake fit the bill. Cut recipe in half and baked the cake in a 7" tube pan. (It overflowed a little but that's okay.) The apples were shredded rather than chopped because I prefer the texture better that way. Recipe delivered as promised: moist and delicious. Served with chai tea and everyone was happy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Mmmm!This turned out so good!I ended up halving the recipe(ingredient constraints), and it worled out just fine.Super moist and perfect with a cup of coffee!Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      This is a deliciously moist and tasty cake. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect the first time. I am bringing it to a potluck tonight, and will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Delicious!!! I used butter instead of shortening, 1/2 cup sugar as we don't like desserts too sweet, used 1 very large Granny Smith apple and 1 Gala,and chopped up in the food processor. I also omitted the butter in the topping and used 2 teaspoons cinnamon. Baked for 35minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for the tasty recipe Kitten!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      I recently made this for a senior high girls' breakfast, with blueberries as you suggested... It turned out great, and I will definitely make it again, but will reduce the bake time, as the cake got just a little over-done at 35 minutes. Otherwise, the texture was superb and the crunchy topping sublime! Next time I'll try apples... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Apple Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.2
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    42%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 46.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 269.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 32.9 g
    131%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites