Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fantastic Apple Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Apple Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2013

      Best cake ever! Light, pluffy, not too sweet. I substituted the sour cream with yogurt. My family who cannot handle sweets LOVED it. I also made it as a cupcake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Well it's gotten to the point at my house where when I tell my husband the recipe is from Kittencal, he says "Oh, good." You're a household name here. This was fantastic. I wasn't planning to make adjustments, but I discovered after I already started that I had no shortening or baking soda. I used a stick of unsalted butter for the shortening, and after perusing the internet, I used double the baking powder in place of the soda. It still turned out amazing. I used apples that I had frozen a couple of weeks ago and it still turned out great. My husband is chowing down on it as we speak.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      what an incredible recipe. i followed it exactly, glad for the clarification from other reviewers about the amount of apple to use(2 cups), made it in a bundt pan, doubled the topping, put some in the bottom of the bundt pan, another portion in the middle of the batter and the rest on the "top" of the cake batter. cooked it for 40 minutes and it came out perfect.
      delicious!! my 16 yo son literally ate the whole cake over two days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      Delist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Kittencal does it again! I subbed whole wheat pastry flour for the white, used 1 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp almond flavoring & grated the apples. This is a moist & flavorful cake. Perfect with a cup of espresso on a rainy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      I baked as written with the addition of extra topping as suggested. The taste of the cake was wonderful, however, the texture was too moist, as though it was not thoroughly baked despite being baked completely. I think I may have added too many apples, as they vary in size and the 4 I used yielded quite a bit of apples, I think that 2 large apples would have sufficed and changed the texture completely (for the better) while keeping the apple flavor in tact. I baked for 60 minutes which is when the toothpick came out clean. I will try again with less apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Awesome !!!! Just came home from a July 4th party and this cake was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      mhhh.very soft and delicious,I was out of shortening so I used Butter instead and it worked out well.
      I saw the double-crusting-Tip and tried it.Mhhh yummi.
      Update: I made this cake a lot of times now, and it is often wanted from family and friends and every time it is fast gone, turned out perfect every time as well. Thanks again for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I made half a recipe using four small apples and baked in a 9X9 inch pan. Turned out great. Just had a small corner while it was still warm. WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      This is really good. One thing though, I wish I had put some lemon juice or something in with the apples because the following day they had turned black and weren't too appetizing, lol. I forgot to layer the topping, but it was still very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      WOW!! I can't believe more people haven't tried this recipe, this is the very best cake I've ever made! It's moist and delicious. I doubled the toppings and spread part of it over half the batter like you suggested and used extra apples because we have an overloaded tree. This is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing this great recipe Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Very good! I doubled the amount of apples because I had to use them up, and it still turned out really nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I wanted a coffee cake that was not DRY. This was amazingly moist and delicious. Definitely double the toppings. I served this at a business open house and everyone loved it. Some begged for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      I made this for my bible study group last Sat. night. Everybody loved this cake. Four of us were not able to make it so those that did had two pieces! Made it with Gala apples that were on sale. I think next time, and there will be a "next time", I'll increase the topping. Thank you Kittencal for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Another "over the top" recipe from Kitten.... As other reviewers have said the texture is perfect and I love her detailed directions.. I also used butter and gala apples and doubled topping using half in cake.. Sure wish i could give it more than 5 stars. Thanks for sharing kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Delicious, again! I used 6 small apples (because I have a TON right now). That proved to be an issue, too much moisture. The cake took about 50 min. instead of 35. I added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and a pinch of cloves to the dry ingredients as I sifted them. Such a good texture. I can't wait to play around with it some more! Thanks Kittencal! I'm becoming a devote follower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This was great. Instead of 1 cup sour cream I used 1/2 apple sauce 1/2 sour cream which worked well. Also used 1 cup whole wheat flour. If I were to make this for company I'd definitely double the topping.. it was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This was a very moist (almost too moist) and delicious coffee cake. I made it as written with the exception of using margarine instead of shortening. It took longer than 40 minutes to bake in my oven and even then, I had difficulty figuring out when it was done as I didn't want it to dry out. Overall, a very good cake served at a morning ladies get together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I messed up on the preparation as I added eggs after the dry ingredients, but still turned out very very good....I used splenda for baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Excellent! Very moist and tasty! I did double the crumb topping because we love it. Will definitely make again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Apple Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.2
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    42%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 46.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 269.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 32.9 g
    131%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites