743 Reviews

jensafrk commented that this recipe ''tastes like raw flour.'' The problem may be in making the roux, which is the carefully cooked, equal quantities of flour and butter. You must begin with low heat and the mixture must be stirred constantly to avoid scorching the flour. Start by melting the butter over low heat. When the foaming begins to subside, add the flour (do not include the salt and pepper yet) and stir constantly, watching the color of the mixture. It should become a light, nutty brown color. This may take five minutes or so. Do not go by the clock, but rather by the color. If the process is stopped too soon, while still white, it will taste like raw flour. If it gets too brown, the flour has scorched and it will taste burnt. As soon as the color is right, slowly add the room-temperature milk/cream in increments, continuing to stir constantly. When all of the milk has been added, turn the heat up to medium high and continue stirring until it begins to bubble, then reduce heat to a simmer and and continue stirring until it thickens. You now have the basic white sauce, b├ęchamel, upon which many other cream sauces are built. In this recipe, that is a cheese sauce. Add the salt and pepper at this point and continue the recipe.

223 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jehaas December 30, 2010

Good classic recipe for mac 'n cheese. Too bad DIVA 43 chooses to negatively comment about a recipe that wasn't even attempted. personally, I'm not interested in an opinion that does nothing but pontificate,,,bottom linr is DIVA43, get a life or keep your opinions to yourself. This is a community of foodies - something you are obviously not. No one is interested in you telling us how "unhealthy" a recipe is.

116 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Hammer January 03, 2011

I agree with Minnie Chef, BUT, when something has been around 63 years without changes PLEASE go by the old rule. "IF IT AIN'T BROKE DON'T FIX IT". Stop forever experimenting with everything. Enjoy the CLASSICS as they were meant to be. AS IS. There may be a few of you that can really be all that good with what some combinations are going to end up as. But, very few. I am not talking to those of you that have medical or dietary demands on your intake. I am talking to those of you that don't even give the original recipe a chance. NUFF said. Enjoy it as written then if you feel it needs a change go for it. BON APETITE, Cap'n Jack.

65 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack March 12, 2009

I have made this before. It was in an old fanny farmer cookbook I had but lost in one of our moves several years ago. It is a very creamy recipe and one of the best I have ever made. And I have made alot. No changes need to be made to this recipe. Some of the old ones are the best. This is one of them.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
garnetrose26_8970679 December 30, 2010

This is great. I omit the bread crumbs because I don't really care for them. I mix up the cheeses a little: I use one cup of grated sharp cheddar and ~1 cup of Velveeta (don't shoot! - it's really the only way I've found to get that super-creamy mac & cheese that everyone loves so much). I also add a ton of black pepper to the roux with the salt. I reserve a little of the grated cheddar to sprinkle on top in place of the bread crumbs. Fantastico!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mereaux August 10, 2010

Great recipe! But I respectfully disagree completely with the statement that "if you use cheap cheese, you will end up with a bland and flavorless dish". This is rediculous. I would say that if you use mild or medium cheddar, these are indeed the results you will get. But the price of the cheese will make no difference whatsoever, just as long as you go sharp sharp on your type of cheese. Go ahead and save your money! This dish rocks!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeslieBham March 27, 2011

I make this recipe frequently, using all milk instead of cream. I also add a small amount (maybe a tablespoon) of minced onion to the sauce. It is wonderful! Even onion haters love it!!!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GailWig December 30, 2010

Ok, I am going to fess up right here and now to "jumping to conclusions." I have long been in search of the "best" macaroni and cheese recipe. To do that, I went straight to the top of 'Zaar, and started making the #1 rated recipe. I loved it, and it got rave reviews, but my best friend here didn't deem it "perfect", although she wasn't clear on exactly what was missing. So I began to peruse the "runner ups" and found this recipe. The first time I made it, I could see that it was going to be better than #1. It is creamy, rich, and delicious. I have varied the recipe every time with the following modifications and NOT ONE of them made it any less delicious - 1. Lactose (almost) free using Cabot cheddar cheeses (no lactose) and Lactaid whole milk. 2. Low(er) fat - using regular 2% milk, one 8oz Velveeta (less fat than Cheddar) and 1 8oz 50% less fat Cabot. I also need to point out to any reviewers who find this "bland", the seasonings are on you. You need to taste it when you are making the white sauce to be sure that is well seasoned, and taste it again after the cheese is added. I add Cayenne pepper to every macaroni and cheese I make, and I am sure at the end I added more salt and pepper. Only way to make a dish perfect is to taste it all the way through. Kudos, Carla, this recipe has finally been deemed "perfect."

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KylerEsq March 24, 2009

This is a classic and by far one of the best Mac and Cheese receipes ever created . For a little extra flavour and a little heat I too add up to a teaspoon of dry mustard, several shakes of Tobasco. A couple of Roma tomatoes that have been seeded and chopped add colour and for additional taste I also cube two healthy slices or more of smoked ham and add it to the casserole. This has been fantastic comfort food for years and will continue to be in my books.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob in Mexico December 30, 2010

This recipe is almost identical to the one my mother always made. She was a farmer's wife. Baking mac and cheese does give it a different texture and flavor than what you find in the blue box or most cafeterias. My mom always used the oldest cheddar cheese she could get. You know, the stuff that makes the kitchen stink like sports socks and makes your face tingle if you eat it uncooked. She would just cut the mold (penicillin) off and crumble it. As well, she was never one to waste anything so she would save the little bits of other cheese and use them as well. Sometimes she added just a little blue cheese. It was always similar in taste, but never exactly the same due to the combination of leftover cheese. Delicious!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margaretserres September 23, 2010
Fannie Farmer's Classic Baked Macaroni & Cheese