Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fancy Schmancy Citrus Granita Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fancy Schmancy Citrus Granita

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2011

      This was very fresh and citrus-y. I altered the ratio so there was a lot less orange, but more lemon and grapefruit, and it tasted great. I more than doubled the basil, but it was super subtle, I think I would increase it more, since I love the flavor of basil with fruit (as in Basil-Lime Fruit Salad (Cooking Light)). The color is so beautiful in this too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This was a hit with relatives over for lunch on a hot day. I added more grapefruit juice, and used mint instead of basil. Used half store bought fresh squeezed oj fresh squeezed with added zest.
      Next time, I will reduce sugar by 1/4 and add even more fresh mint! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      I made this for dessert, to follow mom's lasagna. Everyone loved it and raved for days! Said my uncle "This is the most delicious thing I have ever eaten!" Thanks for sharing, I will be making this all summer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      WONDERFUL Flavours!!! and a minor miracle: this went down brilliantly well with all of us.. even our fussy little kids who wouldn't normally eat grapefruit, orange, lemon and basil! the best part of this miracle was the I also used fresh red grapefruit and freshly squeezed oranges and threw in the pulp as well. I "marketed" it to the kids a new icecream and they lapped it up! I also thought that since DH doesn't like sour tastes much that he might not give such a great review... but he loved it too! Total success!!! Please see my Rating System: 5 excellent excellent stars for a recipe that I will be making VERY often so that I can sneak these fruits into the kids, and DH who isn't a great fruit fan. Ok.. there is sugar, but at least this isn't loaded with E numbers and flavour enhancers and preservatives that commercial stuff contains. Pick your battles, I concede the sugar for the extra vitamins and the extension of their food flavours that I can get in here. This recipe is a WINNER ! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Cold, sweet and simple. I substituted equal parts of lime and lemon juice for the grapefruit juice, which unfortunately gave a much orange-ier taste than I think the recipe would have had as written. I used lemon basil, which was an interesting flavor in the syrup, but got lost in the finished product.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I made this for ZWT4 for the Frozen dessert challenge since I don't own an ice cream maker. It was light and refreshing but we didn't really care for the basil taste. I'm going to try making it again and omit the basil next time! It was refreshing on a really hot summer day here in NC! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I selected this recipe for the ZWT4 Italian Frozen Dessert Challenge. I was drawn to this recipe because it sounded refreshing with lots of citrus flavor and it was simple! It filled all of those expectations and more! We loved it! It tastes just wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      WONDERFUL granita and so inexpensive to make. As I added the vanilla, I thought, "Ahhh, Orange Julius!" and added an extra splash of vanilla because I knew I would like it. Thanks for the recipe! Made for ZWT4 Italian Frozen Dessert Challenge. Photo forthcoming on Sunday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      This was an awesome dessert! It was light and crisp with a twinge from the basil. My DH didn't really like the basil, but I thought it made the dish! I will be sure to keep this on hand for an easy summer dessert! Reviewed for Italian Dessert Challenge ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Refreshing, light and citrusy with just the right amount of sweetness. I used the full 1 cup of sugar and opted for the lemon juice. The basil and vanilla added a wonderful subtle flavor. I really loved the basil, but I'd love to try this again with fresh mint. Thanx for a great fancy-schmancy granita! This is so easy to make, I think I'll make sure there is some in my freezer all summer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I selected this recipe to try as it contained no alcohol and we all love citrus flavors. My 3 yr old grandson helped make this and loved the results so that earns 5 stars in my kitchen alone. Beyond time spent in the kitchen with our boy, we all found the flavor refreshing and light. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This was delicious and super easy to make. I love the refreshing citrus blend! A perfect summer treat! I couldn't really taste the basil flavor but what the heck? It was delicious anyway. Make for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      It really does look as appealing as in the photo! Other then using less of the basil leaves because of supply - I made as posted. Used the pure vanilla and choose the lemon juice. The citrus flavors made for a very refreshing light dessert- and I didn't need a ice cream maker!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      This was very light & refreshing and the basil really made the entire thing come together. The only downside was that not everyone could enjoy it because of the grapefruit juice (medical interactions). I plan on making this again for other groups of people come next spring/summer. I'm even considering making it an adult dessert with maybe a bit of vodka.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fancy Schmancy Citrus Granita

    Serving Size: 1 (1641 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 562.4
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    95%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 228.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 137.8 g
    45%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 125.6 g
    502%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites