Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Famous Dave's Country Roast Chicken Breasts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Famous Dave's Country Roast Chicken Breasts

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2010

      Even for 2 people this recipe is so easy, AND the results are OUTSTANDING... turned out like picture number 5. No need for "ordinary baked chicken" burn out anymore. The seasoning mixture makes a lot... however, 2T each of the 4 seasoning ingredients fits nicely into a 3.25 ounce empty spice jar with plenty of room to shake and blend. (And there seems to be enough to use with 3-4 breasts on two different occasions.) For a little extra zing, we prefer Mrs. Dash "Spicy." Any Mrs. Dash flavor that you prefer should be just fine.

      The marinating, seasoning, and cooking method FD uses produces a moist juicy result that few recipes can equal. We did 3 large split breasts (bone-in) @ 375 F. covered with foil for 30 minutes, uncovered for 30 minutes (on convect for the last 15 minutes to crisp up the skin). Tented with the covering foil during the rest time... the thermometer temp peaked @ 170 F.

      We'll be keeping this seasoning mix in the cupboard from now on, and I cannot wait to try a whole chicken (in another site recipe... same spices and methodology). We also plan to experiment with boneless skinless breasts for possible use with a supper club group. Shouldn't be too hard to get the cooking time right... just hope that they will be as moist & tasty as split breasts. I cannot help wondering how FD's seasoning and methodology would work on a pork tenderloin, or chops.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Well, I've never heard of Famous Dave - his fame isn't exactly international ;) - and I've only heard of Mrs Dash in Zaar recipes. Not that this was a barrier: I improvised from what I've deduced of the latter and the results were brilliant! :) I scaled this back to two breasts to serve 2 and marinated the breasts for several hours - for me, this makes this a weekend's only dish! My substitution for the Mrs Dash seasoning mix was basil, marjoram, rosemary, sage, thyme and freshly ground black pepper; and I added a small minced onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. The chicken was wonderfully tender and flavoursome. Just loved the citrus flavouring and the blend of herbs. We enjoyed the chicken with Linda's Twice-Baked Potatoes and Busy Day Spinach Bake. Thank you for sharing a fabulous recipe, Cooks4_6: made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Excellent. We really enjoyed this flavorful moist chicken. The seasoning was perfect, although I only made a fourth of the seasoning, it still covered 3 chicken breasts with more than enough to cover 3 more at least. I will make my own Italian Dressing next time as the one I used was very tart. If I make my own, I can control how strong I make it and I think it will work better for us with this recipe. Can't wait to try this on the grill this summer. Would be great served on a salad this summer. Made for "Country Cooking Special" in the Photo Forum. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Absolute wonderful chicken dinner! Where to start? I easily halved this recipe, and the seasoning. Great seasoning, and think I will use this on many chicken & steak (beef) recipes. I roasted the chicken and was so favorable, I will use this often. as it worked out perfectly. I used the Italian dressing I had in the fridge, and marinated the chicken, (I used all parts, not just chicken breasts) and roasted in the oven with the wonderful seasoning on top. Half way through, I turned the chicken and basted the wonderful dressing/seasoning and produced such a wonderful taste! Loved it! Oh goodness! yum! Thanks Cooks4_6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      This was pretty tasty! The seasoning was a little too much for our tastes, but I made 6 big bone-in chicken breasts with half the amount of spice, and it came out ok. The salt was a little much, but with most of it on the skin, which isn't eaten, it was just fine. The meat was veryyyy tender and flavorful. This was definately a keeper! Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      The flavor and juiciness of this was very good - my kids ate it up, plus seconds. I felt like it was overseasoned for my tastes, I'd probably use less of the roast chicken seasoning on each breast. After removing the breasts from the marinade, I sprinkled just enough seasoning on them to cover, and I had plenty of seasoning left over, so a little goes a long way. The family loved it, so I'm sure we'll have it again with some minor adjustments for our personal preference. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This is so good! I made half of the seasoning as I was only using 4 chicken breasts and I probably could have gotten away with making 1/3 or less. I also used a small bottle of Italian dressing and 1/4 cup of lemon juice for the 4 chicken breasts and it was plenty for the marinade. We all enjoyed out dinner ~ thanks for posting a recipe I'll be using many times in the future! Made for Pick~A~Chef Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      We all loved the flavor of this chicken. I can't compare it to Famous Dave's, since I've never eaten there, but the chicken comes out very moist and the seasoning is perfect. Marninating it in the Italian dressing and lemon juice gives it a nice background flavor without being overwhelming. The seasoning mix is a delicious blend!! I used the onion-herb mix from Mrs. Dash. The recipe makes a large amount of seasoning mix. I have stored it and will definitely use it again on this recipe and/or sprinkle it over ordinary baked chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This was such a nice change of pace! The seasonings blended so well, and it had just enough zing to it to entice even the most skeptical pallet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I have to say that this chicken was very tender and moist and so flavorable. It was DELICIOUS! Not sure what Famous Dave's chicken taste like but we loved this recipe. I did make a few changes, I used Italian Salad Dressing in place of store bottled and I also used Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning mix since that was what I had on hand. This recipe will be used time and time again :) We loved it! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Famous Dave's Country Roast Chicken Breasts

    Serving Size: 1 (308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.1
     
    Calories from Fat 282
    63%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 5760.1 mg
    240%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 31.2 g
    62%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper

    roast chicken seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes