11 Reviews

I'm revising my previous review. I forgot to write that I did not use any cayenne pepper, red bell pepper or jalapeno. My first review did not show. I wrote that for the presentation and texture I give it 5 stars. I thought it was a little sweet. I would never have thought of using a cake mix in cornbread. I think the glaze is very good. I did not use all of it. I used a brush to put it on. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado April 08, 2013

Next time I would cut down on the sugar ( a little to sweet) but very good will be made again !!
I used 1 cup yellow 100% cornmeal and 1 cup same ground up in Bullet probably won't waste time next time will just use 2 Cups Purity Cornmeal 100% natural No addatives

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Orringuy November 12, 2012

I hate to be the only one leaving an unfavorable rating, but I just couldn't get this recipe to work for me. We eat at Famous Dave's regularly, and I love their cornbread, but this didn't remind me anything of it. I followed the recipe directions exactly, however my corn bread was very corn-mealy and not light and moist. We also didn't care for the glaze--more hot than sweet--at FD the glaze is quite sweet with no hit of hot. The recipe itself was not all that hard to make, but I guess I was expecting something a little different than what I got. Thanks for sharing though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVT96 September 29, 2007

I just made this for Cinco De Mayo. EXCELLENT!! Very moist and flavorful. I don't like most corn breads - too dry and I don't care for the texture. This recipe is great. The glaze is the finishing touch. I also served with Downey's honey butter! This recipe is a keeper!! 5/5/07 update I made this again for Cinco de Mayo. This is an excellent recipe. Best corn bread by far!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches May 05, 2007

I prefer a moister cornbread, but to be fair that would be a cake, not real cornbread. On taste this gets a 5. I think next time I will poke holes in the bread (I did this isn s a 9x13 dish) before drizzling butter/honey to let the top and middle get moist. To me the top with the glaze was the best part. I left out all the pepper ingredients and it was enjoyed. Better the next day if left overnight with plastic wrap. Thank you for posting, this will be my new drier cornbread recipe for more traditional styled bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe October 18, 2006

I made this tonight and used all the glaze, baked in a 9x13 GLASS pan for about 12 minutes, and it's AWESOME!!!! I agree with your first comment - by far the best cornbread I've ever had! Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim in Phoenix September 03, 2006

I honestly couldn't decide if I was eating cornbread or cake. Regardless, this was scrumptious! I baked this in two small cast iron skillets so I could omit the cayenne for my smaller children. I added the cayenne for my son and myself. The bread was sweet and spicy, just a wonderful combination of flavors. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess April 27, 2006

Outstanding and decadent cornbread, lovecookin #2. The store I stopped in at didn't have the 9oz cake mixes, just the regular 18oz mixes. I divided one of those in half so I've got cake mix on hand for the next batch, and there will be more of this cornbread. Dh thinks it would be great at Christmas. I mixed the mayonnaise with the other liquids, baked in a ten inch iron skillet in 25 minutes, and took your suggestion to use just 1/2 the glaze recipe. Next time I'll use the entire thing-I think it helps make and keep the cornbread moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 21, 2006

WOW..I love cornbread and this recipe was perfect. Thought the combination of sweet and spicy were perfectly balanced. My two boys asked for seconds. Baked the cornbread in a 13 x 9 baking dish for about 22 minutes and the bread came out tender and moist. Served with honey butter. Will be making this again real soon. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Tremmel February 09, 2006
Famous Dave’s Cornbread With Jalapeno Honey Glaze