147 Reviews

I have been making this soup for over 20 years and have never found another recipe that even comes close. It is time consuming but the results are amazing. The only thing that I do differently is, instead of mixing the flour with a can of broth, I add the flour to the paprika, salt and papper and make a roux by adding the mix to the tenderized onions. You need to stir constantly because you don't want the mixture to scorch or brown, but you do want to cook it long enough to get the flour taste to disappear. The roux takes about 10-20 minutes of stirring to get all the flour incorporated with the onion liquid. After the roux is ready, slowly start adding your liquid, stirring all the time. The result is a smooth, rich texture. No lumps and no flour taste. If it is too thick for your liking, add another can of broth.

If you're really ambitious...make your own stock! You will notice the difference. No "can" taste, more flavor and healthier too! Enjoy!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rexngar June 17, 2011

I finally got around to making this and kick myself for not doing so sooner. This is just a fabulous French Onion soup. The only "drawback" is processing the onions. Believe it or not, I put on swim goggles processing them!!! Maybe I just had extra potent onions??? But once that was done the rest was just a matter of time and the results were outstanding. I have several frozen lumps of French Onion soup to enjoy for some time to come (like tonight). Thank you for posting this one Bill. I usually don't say I'll do this one again but. . . . I'll do this one again.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo October 05, 2002

The French Onion soup recipe is one of the most popular dish served at the Famous Barr (also part of the May Dept store group) restaurants found in St.Louis. Based on my travels to the various countries including Europe, Asia and US, this version of French Onion soup is one of the best I've had. My husband who is from London just loves this recipe. It is robust and hearty in beef and onion flavour and quite thick so you can enjoy this as a meal in itself (you might say it's great comfort food). Be sure to use the broiler until the cheese bubbles and turns golden brown over the French bread. Tip: Try to use the fresh French bread which is a bit chewy in texture. Bon Appetit.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wei-Li Eastlake December 04, 2000

I had the time so cooked the onions for about three hours before adding broth. Very nice flavor and appearance. Will make this my new standard recipe. Thank you!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl February 02, 2003

Wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Live on the East Coast now and can't find a restaurant that can compare to this. I remember going to St.Louis for Weekends with my parents. Famous Bar For lunch was a definite. Always ordered the French Onion Soup. We would stay at the Mayfair Hotel and always had the Mayfair Salad with dinner. I know have the recipe for Mayfair Dressing. This just completes it for me.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole Whitmore January 19, 2002

High praise from 8 of my Valentine's Day Dinner guests who all wanted the recipe! I stored it overnight in the crock pot that I used to simmer it for 2 extra hours the day that I served it. To avoid having to handle oven hot servings, I took the advice of another reviewer and broiled gruyere cheese onto toasted french bread. Then I put the bread on top of each half filled bowl and spooned hot soup on top until each bowl was full. So easy and so pretty for a formal dinner. Simply fabulous without wine or coloring!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grammyof3 February 19, 2009

Fantastic! The best French Onion soup I have ever made. It was thick, rich, beautiful colour and the flavour was outstanding. I have deleted all other recipes saved to try............this is the ONLY one I will ever make from now on. I would not change a thing, why mess with perfection. Thank you so much my Husband could not stop raving. I can't wait to make this for company.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kermit in Huntsville May 24, 2010

This was excellent soup. Totally forgot to take a pic of it though. But I will next time I have it. I used sweet vidalia onions. I also had put in about 2 Tbs. of Worchestire sauce instead of Kitchen Bouquet and did not put any salt in it. I did use the wine but I think I would like to try sherry the next time. I find it adds a little different taste. The house smells so good when this is simmering. I chose to go with gruyere cheese. Personally I find this is the perfect cheese for this soup. Delicious flavor of sweet onions and a fantastic broth. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Bill it was much appreciated.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny January 06, 2010

Wow, this is some rich french onion soup! I could only eat a little at a time, but the flavor was really great. I think next time I will thicken it less as it almost seemed like gravy. Very good! Thanks for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 24, 2010

Came home from a weekend away, after 6 hours in the car, thinking what could I make for dinner? Something easy and good, but somewhat light. I thought of this soup and starting making it at 6:30, then I saw the directions say that it takes over 4 hours to prepare. I cut that down to a little over an hour. I have an induction cook top and got the onions going at a higher temp, while stirring constantly. I added a little brown sugar to sweeten them, they caramelized nicely, then I added the salt, pepper and paprika along with the flour - cooked while stirring for a bit, then added the broth and wine. Simmer for 30 min. Toasted some french bread in the broiler with olive oil and a little garlic. Served with mozzarella cheese & parmesan cheese over the toasted bread - broiled. Delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Annie Z November 18, 2012
Famous Barr's French Onion Soup