Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Famous Barr's French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Famous Barr's French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    142 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 142

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2011

      I have been making this soup for over 20 years and have never found another recipe that even comes close. It is time consuming but the results are amazing. The only thing that I do differently is, instead of mixing the flour with a can of broth, I add the flour to the paprika, salt and papper and make a roux by adding the mix to the tenderized onions. You need to stir constantly because you don't want the mixture to scorch or brown, but you do want to cook it long enough to get the flour taste to disappear. The roux takes about 10-20 minutes of stirring to get all the flour incorporated with the onion liquid. After the roux is ready, slowly start adding your liquid, stirring all the time. The result is a smooth, rich texture. No lumps and no flour taste. If it is too thick for your liking, add another can of broth.

      If you're really ambitious...make your own stock! You will notice the difference. No "can" taste, more flavor and healthier too! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      I finally got around to making this and kick myself for not doing so sooner. This is just a fabulous French Onion soup. The only "drawback" is processing the onions. Believe it or not, I put on swim goggles processing them!!! Maybe I just had extra potent onions??? But once that was done the rest was just a matter of time and the results were outstanding. I have several frozen lumps of French Onion soup to enjoy for some time to come (like tonight). Thank you for posting this one Bill. I usually don't say I'll do this one again but. . . . I'll do this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2000

      The French Onion soup recipe is one of the most popular dish served at the Famous Barr (also part of the May Dept store group) restaurants found in St.Louis. Based on my travels to the various countries including Europe, Asia and US, this version of French Onion soup is one of the best I've had. My husband who is from London just loves this recipe. It is robust and hearty in beef and onion flavour and quite thick so you can enjoy this as a meal in itself (you might say it's great comfort food). Be sure to use the broiler until the cheese bubbles and turns golden brown over the French bread. Tip: Try to use the fresh French bread which is a bit chewy in texture. Bon Appetit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      I had the time so cooked the onions for about three hours before adding broth. Very nice flavor and appearance. Will make this my new standard recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2002

      Wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Live on the East Coast now and can't find a restaurant that can compare to this. I remember going to St.Louis for Weekends with my parents. Famous Bar For lunch was a definite. Always ordered the French Onion Soup. We would stay at the Mayfair Hotel and always had the Mayfair Salad with dinner. I know have the recipe for Mayfair Dressing. This just completes it for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Fantastic! The best French Onion soup I have ever made. It was thick, rich, beautiful colour and the flavour was outstanding. I have deleted all other recipes saved to try............this is the ONLY one I will ever make from now on. I would not change a thing, why mess with perfection. Thank you so much my Husband could not stop raving. I can't wait to make this for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Wow, this is some rich french onion soup! I could only eat a little at a time, but the flavor was really great. I think next time I will thicken it less as it almost seemed like gravy. Very good! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      This was excellent soup. Totally forgot to take a pic of it though. But I will next time I have it. I used sweet vidalia onions. I also had put in about 2 Tbs. of Worchestire sauce instead of Kitchen Bouquet and did not put any salt in it. I did use the wine but I think I would like to try sherry the next time. I find it adds a little different taste. The house smells so good when this is simmering. I chose to go with gruyere cheese. Personally I find this is the perfect cheese for this soup. Delicious flavor of sweet onions and a fantastic broth. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Bill it was much appreciated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I made this exactly as written (it really irks me when prople rate a recipe that they have not made to the letter). As an onion gravy, I would rate this three stars. As a soup, I can't rate it, as to us, this was not a soup. I read ALL the reviews so I made the full amount so we would have plenty for the freezer. I guess we just like our onion soup "brothy" and not as sweet- must have been the long cooking that removed the "oniony" taste. I guess we fall in the minority here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Wow! This soup is so amazing it doesn't even need cheese! My husband and I were licking our bowls! I followed the recipe but did not include the caramel color or kitchen bouquet. I made a half recipe for the two of us but next time I'll make a full recipe and freeze the rest... if it makes it that long! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This soup is awesome. It takes a little time to make but well worth the effort. My kids even love it and that says a lot. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Suggestion, wear your kids swim goggles, or the last time I made this I wore my daughter's chemistry goggles. It helps when slicing your onions in the food processor. :>P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Oh I DO love this! I started with sweet onions, half spanish sweets and half vidalias. I had no white wine so I used a couple of splashes of shiraz otherwise I followed the recipe....except I added thyme and did not bother to thicken it (I don't think it needed it!). My very discriminating onion soup loving son now worships me (for this evening anyway). Thank you so much for yet another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Next time, I plan on making this in the crock pot or leave the house for a few hours so it can simmer in peace. Since I started making this, I have been munching on it and it's a wonder there's any left. The longer you can stand to let it simmer (it smells delicious while cooking) the more the flavours come out. I halved the recipe as I'm the only one in a two-person household who eats onions -- plus, I had just about 2.5 lbs, exactly, to use up. Another recipe I saw called for brown sugar to carmelize the onions. I gave that a shot and added about 3/4 tsp. of dark brown sugar. I didn't notice a difference in the taste. I used 4 bullion cubes in about 3.5 cups of water. When I was making the flour thickening, I added more flour than I intended and thinned it out with more broth until I got it to a consistency I liked. I didn't bother with the caramel colouring as I didn't have it on hand or thought the soup needed it. I did have to substitute provolone cheese for the gruyere, but the soup is fantastic without it too. Thanks for sharing a lip-smackingly delicious recipe. Will most definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      High praise from 8 of my Valentine's Day Dinner guests who all wanted the recipe! I stored it overnight in the crock pot that I used to simmer it for 2 extra hours the day that I served it. To avoid having to handle oven hot servings, I took the advice of another reviewer and broiled gruyere cheese onto toasted french bread. Then I put the bread on top of each half filled bowl and spooned hot soup on top until each bowl was full. So easy and so pretty for a formal dinner. Simply fabulous without wine or coloring!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Came home from a weekend away, after 6 hours in the car, thinking what could I make for dinner? Something easy and good, but somewhat light. I thought of this soup and starting making it at 6:30, then I saw the directions say that it takes over 4 hours to prepare. I cut that down to a little over an hour. I have an induction cook top and got the onions going at a higher temp, while stirring constantly. I added a little brown sugar to sweeten them, they caramelized nicely, then I added the salt, pepper and paprika along with the flour - cooked while stirring for a bit, then added the broth and wine. Simmer for 30 min. Toasted some french bread in the broiler with olive oil and a little garlic. Served with mozzarella cheese & parmesan cheese over the toasted bread - broiled. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      As I was cooking this, I wasn't so sure of how it would turn out. It really coated the entire house with the smell of the soup. I made it to freeze and was glad I did. Had I eaten it that same day, I may not have liked it since I was kind of done with the smell. However, after reheating and adding a toasted piece of french bread with shredded gruyere (melted in the oven), it was fantastic. I would not recommend making this for a dinner party and serving the same day. The smell really was too much and no amount of air freshener helped. Airing out the house with open windows was the only solution. Still, overall, I am thrilled with this recipe! And, it freezes very well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Fantastic, since we are vegetarians I used vegetable stock, did everything else the same, for sure the best french onion soup recipe out there, better than any restaurant I've ever had it in (before becoming a vegetarian) and yes, it does freeze well too... YUMMY, I've got another batch on the stove right now as I type this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Fabulous! I didn't have broth so I used Better Than Boullion paste and warm water to make my broth, and it had an extremely beefy flavor. Quartered the recipe for two of us, and there was very little left over...Also, I used Vidalia onions as that is what I had. My husband asked me to make it again some night this week. I guess I'll have to make a huge batch and freeze it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      I'm sorry, I hate giving bad reviews. I had such high hopes for this soup but it turned out terribly. Perhaps I just like a more brothy French Onion Soup or maybe it was a weird reaction with my cast iron dutch oven. It was very thick and the flour was not a good addition. The paprika was overpowering (which is saying something when it's competing with onions) and tasted off. My 4 year old loved it and had seconds which is why I gave it two stars but sadly DH and I did not like it at all. At any rate, give it a whirl, it's worked for more people than not.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Absolute delicious! Even my four year old loves it! I play with different cheeses- but the soup is always perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Famous Barr's French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (380 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    40%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 1085.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites