Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Family Pleasing Chicken Paprika Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Family Pleasing Chicken Paprika

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2012

      This was very good. I added mushrooms, and served over rice. I added a bit more paprika than called for, which made the sauce a bit richer as well as darker red. I think this would also be good with smoked paprika, I may have to try that next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I made this for dinner last night. I didn't add any wine as I didn't realize I didn't have any white at home once I started cooking, I do think that would make it even better though :) I added sliced mushrooms and frozen green peas to it which was awesome. I didn't add the sour cream to the sauce but served it as a dollop on the top due to my DH being picky about sour cream in sauces although he did eat his with sour cream surprisingly :) This is a great quick meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Very nice! This dish comes together quickly and easily. The smooth flavors would lend very nicely to a wide variety of additions. This is wonderful when it comes to a busy weeknight since you are making the same dish you made last week but this time you added xxxx so it isnt the same old same old. You are your mom did a wonderful job with this one and I am sure busy chefs will be thanking you for quite some time. I followed this recipe to a T this time and served it with pasta. I think we would prefer it with egg noodles or potatoes over the penne I used but live and learn. Another thing that makes this dish so versatile! One time rice, next time potatoes...etc... Next time I will try some smoky paprika and a touch of hot paprika or some cayenne for a bite. Some herbs might be great in here as this dish is subtle and mild in flavor. I did have a difficult time getting the sauce as thick as I wanted it- I prefer a thicker sauce with penne- but the consistancy was perfect for any other starch listed already. Also, be prepared that the sour cream with thin the sauce a touch. Very nice dish Diva!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was more of a 3.5 star recipe for me, but I am rounding up. I followed a lot of other reviewers suggestions -- nonfat sour cream, decreased the broth by one third, doubled the cornstarch, and added mushrooms, peas, oregano, and a touch of cayenne. All of these additions worked out really well. Thanks, Mommy Diva!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This gets a five star rating for being quick and easy! Our 5 year old absolutely loved it!!! Thanks Mommy Diva for a wonderful dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      A quick and tasty rendition of a classic. Mine was a reduced fat version made with nonfat sour cream and cooking spray instead of oil. like another poster, I found the sauce to be a bit thin and next time would reduce it a bit more before adding the flour slurry. I did not have mushrooms, they would have worked quite well here. Served this with whole wheat noodles and steamed green beans for a great comfort meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Very good for a quick version of a much longer to cook meal! The next time I make it, I will add more cornstarch, because the gravy didn't get as thick as I wanted...and when I added the sour cream it thinned even more...which I thought was peculiar...and I added it after it was removed and no bubbling at all. The flavor pleased all of us, including a picky 6 and 3 year old. With a touch of adjusting to suit our personal tastes, this will be a real hit in our family. Next time I also think I'll take your suggestion and add in mushrooms! Thanks Mommy Diva! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I am adding this to my regular rotation of recipes. I started out with 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic (instead of power) sauteed in the pan and then put the chicken in. I then added vegetable broth and creme fraiche instead of sour cream. I added 8 oz instead of the half cup becuase I also like it a little more creamy. My husband loved it and asked when we could have it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Very nice dish. We enjoyed the subtle sauce over egg noodles. Next time I will add a little more sour cream and some mushrooms. Thanks Mommy. Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      We had this for supper and it was nice. I cut back on the sour cream and I am sorry I did I think that made a difference.I prefer it to be more creamy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      This was wonderful & easy. I made it for dinner tonight for ZWT3 & we both loved it. I made pretty much as per the recipe, except I used smokey paprika, doubled the cornstarch & added a little oregano (thanks mama's kitchen for the suggestions). I served it over mashed potatoes & had steamed vegies on the side. This will be one of our regular dishes. Thanks Mommy Diva for sharing this lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      The taste was great but even though I cut back on the liquid when I was adding it, it was really too soupy. I did have to double it since I was cooking for 8 so maybe that had something to do with it. The flavor makes it worth trying again! Thanks MD!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Family Pleasing Chicken Paprika

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.8
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    45%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 90.4 mg
    30%
    Sodium 448.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 28.9 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes