Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Family Favorite Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Family Favorite Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2009

      Made as directed except omitted the 5 spice powder as I had none and I added fresh chopped chili in place of the flakes. We like it spicy so I added a good teaspoon of chopped chili...the heat from chili went well with the sweetness of the sauce. Served with steamed rice and wok tossed veg it made for a lovely meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I made this recipe for a Christmas Party last month and it was GONE!!! I doubled the recipe too! I have since made it again for New Year's Eve and again, GONE! AWESOME!!!!!! This goes in my cookbook under favorites!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on November 04, 2008

      I made as written except I subbed dissolved boullion instead of broth. DO NOT try this, as it makes the recipe too salty. My fault, but even so the recipe was great. My son wanted thirds of this (very unusual for the little man). Thanks! Can't wait to make again the right way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I really liked this recipe! I made a mistake and did not read the directions properly and ended up marinating the chicken in what was supposed to be the sauce. It still turned out really nice, although I think I got a bit heavy with the red pepper flakes because it was SPICY! Thanks for sharing this, I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      So quick and easy and so very good. I did have to make a few small changes for personal taste and it turned out fine. I decreased the ginger to 3/4 tsp. and the sesame oil to 1 tsp in the sauce. It still had a wonderful flavour of both of these ingredients. I did run a little short of soya sauce and it tasted fine. I loved the stickiness of the chicken but my husband really would have liked more sauce for the rice. I will double the sauce next time. The aroma in the kitchen was heavenly. I will be making this one again. It would make a great quick meal for company. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This is so gooood!!! I did double the sauce. Otherwise, made as written. Thanks for a great Sesame Chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Delicious! Absolutely Deliscious! It was so easy too. I've made other Sesame Chicken recipes that were good but very time consuming. This is quick, easy, and did I mention delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      awesome recipe! so easy too! this was a huge hit w/ me and the kids. definately going into my favorites file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      It's a great recipe, my children enjoyed it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I decided to make this recipe when I had some chicken breasts I wanted to cook up. We loved this recipe and will be making this dish often. I used 1 tablespoon sesame oil, other than that followed the recipe. 5 stars out to you Anne. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      This turned out delicious!!! I didn't use any of the chinese five spice powder or any of the sherry wine and it turned out great! Definitely restaurant quality. YUMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I love this dish, and usually have these ingredients on hand. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      I totally read it funny and marinated the chicken in the sauce instead of the marinade. When I realized what I'd done (after 30 min in the fridge!) I took out the chicken, coated them with cornstarch and fried them, made half the recipe again for the sauce, adding a little brown sugar and five spice powder, then boiled both sauces together, added cornstarch and then the chicken, and served it over rice. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!!!! but...next time I'm gonna do it right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Oh YUM! This is so perfect! I love getting sesame chicken at chinese resteraunts, but it's not the same from place to place. I can now order other items there, as I have found our favorite here in this recipe! The only thing I omitted was the sherry wine, and used vegetable oil where sesame oil was called for. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      OUTSTANDING chicken! I made the recipe as is, but did double the sauce ingredients, 'cause I like it soaking-into-the-rice kind of thing! Another time (& there WILL be many more of them) I'd like to cut back on the amount of sodium somehow! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Oh my godness. This was so good. I made a few changes though. I didn't have any honey so I put some extra brown sugar. And I added a dash of curry powder to the sauce. The only thing I didn't like about this was the oil in the sauce. It was way way too oily for me, so next time I will exclude it. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Had DH do this, and he must have overlooked that in making the sauce, 2 tsp of cornstarch should be placed in last,hence it became thick right away. lol He also liked the chicken w/o the sauce so we set aside half of it to be mixed w/ sauce and the other half to be eaten as is. Didn't have anymore green onions to garnish with it though. This tastes better than the other sesame dish I once tried. It's tasty sesame sweet w/ a bit of spice and DH liked it too. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Anme!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Everybody loved it but agreed it was just a bit too sweet. I'll do this again but just go lighter on the sauce. TFS such a quick and easy chicken resipe. Made for the Chinese New Year Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I have never had sesame chicken so I don't have anything to compare it too but we thought this was good, just a bit too sweet for us. I followed the recipe as written and I did add the optional chinese five spice powder. I served this over brown rice with a side of broccoli. I didn't add the green onions on top as my kids wouldn't have even tried it then :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Family Favorite Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 428.2
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    39%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 2168.6 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    93%
    Protein 34.6 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites