83 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed this recipe. I made half with chicken and half with tofu and both were very good. I omitted the Chinese Five Spice powder as we do not like it, and served with brown rice. It even got compliments from my picky eater! Will be having this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F February 21, 2011

I made this tonight for dinner with white rice and some bok choy. The DH really liked it. I cut down on some time by making the sauce while I was cooking the chicken. I did have an issue with the chicken sticking to the pan so I'd suggest using a non-stick or cast iron. Also I skipped the green onion as I forgot it and the sesame seeds alone were a great garnish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahefuller June 23, 2009

I love anything Asian inspired, and this chicken came out so wonderful! I loved the mix of flavors from all the ingredients, and this has been put in my "keeper" file for future use. We loved it! Awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee April 21, 2009

My family loved this! We served with fried rice. This reminded me of bourbon chicken. Go easy on the sesame oil unless you really are a fan. I doubled the sauce but really wasn't necessary. I loved the way the chicken was crunchy even covered in the sauce. Will be making again soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaMac April 18, 2009

This one got rave reviews! Prepared as mostly directed, the only changes I made were to double everything in the sauce except the Sesame Oil, I only used 2 Tablespoons total, add several dashes of pepper flakes, and several green onions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethel March 02, 2009

The sauce to this recipe is spot on. Very good!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB February 17, 2009

This had great flavor! I did use the 5 spice but I used a little less than 1/2 tsp. I like the flavor of it but I feel it can take over a dish very easly. I'm glad I decreased it, because there was just a hint and it was perfect for us. I also used fresh ginger. I skipped the warming step and prepped my sauce while I was stir frying the chicken in a wok. When the chicken was cooked I poured the sauce over it and turned it to low to simmer and thicken. I served this over brown rice and there was just enough extra sauce to soak into the rice too. We enjoyed this, thanks Anme!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk January 21, 2009

This is delicious! Better than most carry-out places. I have used this sauce to glaze the chicken and bake it. I have also used it for breaded and pan fried shrimp. Very versatile (some weeks, I make it 2 or 3 times) and easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittneyb December 15, 2008

This was really delicious, and the sauce was a thick dark brown the way you get it in a Chinese restaurant. Great for someone who wants to enjoy real-tasting Chinese food with no MSG!! :) I made mine with steamed spinach and stir fried Bok Choy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Black Radish November 06, 2008

Loved this recipe. I used it when I had friends visit. It was a big hit, I did not use five spice powder as I didn't have it on hand. I added extra water to the sauch to ensure there was plent to pour on the rice. I also added shredded broccoli and carrot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalice October 13, 2008
Family Favorite Sesame Chicken