Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Family Favorite Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Family Favorite Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2008

      Thank you for the recipe! I followed the recipe except I stir fried the coated chicken in a couple of teaspoons of veg oil. It was wonderful! I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      You sent the DM to heaven and back even though I used low sodium soy and no salt chicken stock (I still found it too salty) she thought it was great and yes we are on different ends of the planet were salt is concerened. The chicken was moist (I cut it into thick strips) and I did cut back the honey to 1 tablespoon (diabetics) and upped the stock (broth) but forgot the sesame seeds (and I toasted them too). We fed 3 but with enough chicken left over for a fourth so would suggest upping the sauce especially if you like a lot of sauce (the three of us used it all up). Thank you Anme, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Great recipe anme, it certainly tasted restaurant worthy to us. What a super recipe. It was quick and easy to make with easy to follow instructions. I started preparations early to allow it to marinade for 8 hours. So glad that I did, it had so much flavor. The recipe was made exactly as written, but used a little less of the 5 spice powder (dh's personal preference only). The chicken was perfect, moist and tender while the beautiful velvety sauce coated everything. It truly tasted as good as it looked. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      This was a hit at our house! I had to be away from the house for about 4 hours before supper, so I made it ahead and put it in my crock pot on the "keep warm" setting, and it was amazing! So tender and delicious! Served it with fresh steamed broccoli over rice noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

    • on March 02, 2013

      The five spice makes this dish delicious! I have been looking for that "missing Chinese flavor!" This tasted better than take-out! I didn't have the suggested sherry wine so just added some red wine. It was divine! Thanks for a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      We definitely enjoyed this, will make again. I used fresh ginger and garlic, and cut back on the five spice powder so as not to overpower the dish as others recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      YUMMY! I doubled the sauce but followed the recipe as written. Our kids got up and ate all the leftovers for breakfast, in our house that means it was a excellent :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Definitely need to double the sauce on this one. I added more honey and pepper flakes than called for. Really good, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      This is my favorite sesame chicken recipe. I make it all the time. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      The kids and I thought this dish came out very good. I made it as written except for omitting the sesame seeds (forgot them), pepper flakes (spice challenged daughter) and 5 spice powder (I just don't care for it). I will definitely make this again as it was comparable to the sesame chicken we get at the Chinese restaurant. (67)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Sorry, but we really didn't care for this one. I made as is except halving the recipe and leaving out the sesame seeds since we didn't have them. The taste was nothing like restaurant sesame chicken. Don't think I'll make again. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Yummy recipe :) Definitely doubling the sauce next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Very good! I enjoyed making what I have always enjoyed without the price tag..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

    • on September 26, 2009

      This was really good. So easy. I might make this with real ginger next time and a bit more pepper flakes, but otherwise it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I actually didn't do the chicken like the recipe called for, I just made the sauce. We liked the flavor and I loved that it made plenty of sauce. I added cauliflower, snow peas and carrots after I cooked some chicken with garlic and sesame oil. I also forgot to garnish with the onions and sesame seeds. We

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      This recipe is definitely a keeper. I never knew making Asian food could be so simple. Like other posters I didn't fry the chicken but just cooked it in the pan with some vegetable oil and it came out wonderfully except the cornstarch seemed to cook off of it, I'll have to find a way to fix that next time. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Loved this! It took just a little longer to prepare, for me anyway, then stated. Definitely a keeper. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      This did taste like authentic chinese food but my sauce turned out very salty and not sweet at all. I didn't use the sesame oil so maybe that would make a difference. Also I only used 3 chicken breasts and there was very little sauce, added some frozen broccoli in while it was thickening. It was a lot of trouble to make and very messy since I fried the chicken in 3 batches so maybe next time I would just use grilled chicken and add more sugar. But at least now I know how to make it the authentic way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Family Favorite Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 428.2
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    39%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 2168.6 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    93%
    Protein 34.6 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites