9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was a Christmas miracle in our house. I've NEVER made a successful potato salad, although I'm a reasonably competent cook. I made this for our Christmas Eve dinner, and we were all blown away by how delicious it tastes. It does make a lot, so I'll probably make a half a recipe for our family of 3 if I am making it just for us. I used a golden delicious apple and vidalia onion. I also used a very high quality olive oil that I reserve only for making dressings or for dipping bread. I wouldn't change a thing about this. The only issue I had was that I think I may have overcooked my potatoes slightly. They held together OK, but I had to be very careful when mixing this. This is not an issue with the recipe - just one of the problems that always plagues me when trying to make potato salad. Thank you for saving my family from a lifetime of deli purchased potato salads!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Sue December 30, 2009

This pretty salad is one I would happily take to a potluck to share. It has a lot going on, but every bite is delicious! The ingredients used in the dressing build a layer of flavor so use them all. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D August 23, 2009

Thumbs up to your mother and grandmother. I LOVE potato salad and finally, after many years of attempting to create the perfect recipe, I have found the KEEPER. My only extra additon are radishes but other than that, it is the BEST. Trouble is, I ate half of it, so the rest of the crew have to have smaller portions p.m. Oh well, hahaha---the cook is allowed to sample. Thanx alot.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazee4cookin June 29, 2008

after viewing this recipe and the beautiful photo I had to try it right away and I was not dissapointed, this is a wonderful potato salad with flavors that blend together very well, I did make a few amount adjustments and used red potatoes, I have it chilling in my fridge to serve later and I just cannot keep my spoon out of the bowl, thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe Becky this is one I will make again soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz August 12, 2009

5 Stars, this really is a delicious recipe and a family favorite for sure. I am Becky's son Christopher and I can vouch for this wonderful dish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MightyChristopher June 12, 2009

My family loved it. I di dnot have cider vinegar so I used rice wine vinegar instead and ommited the sugar and sweet pickle relish. Fabulous!!!! My daughter insisted on eating it hot she liked it so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
602254 July 01, 2008

Wow! This was easy to make, and tasted wonderful! Thanks to ALL the women in your family!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VO July 08, 2008

Didnt look like any German Potato Salad I had ever seen but it sure was good, no leftovers at our family Christmas dinner. No doubt a keeper. Thanks for posting BecR

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hardryv December 27, 2012

A very different kind of German Potato Salad for me (I usually make the warm kind with bacon and vinegar). I really enjoyed all the crunchy stuff with the potatoes. I didn't use any of the garnishes - it was late and we were hungry, so my photo does not look very pretty! I used a little less mayo than called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky May 18, 2012
Family Favorite Potato Salad! (German Kartoffelsalat)