Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Family Favorite Potato Salad! (German Kartoffelsalat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Family Favorite Potato Salad! (German Kartoffelsalat)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2009

      This recipe was a Christmas miracle in our house. I've NEVER made a successful potato salad, although I'm a reasonably competent cook. I made this for our Christmas Eve dinner, and we were all blown away by how delicious it tastes. It does make a lot, so I'll probably make a half a recipe for our family of 3 if I am making it just for us. I used a golden delicious apple and vidalia onion. I also used a very high quality olive oil that I reserve only for making dressings or for dipping bread. I wouldn't change a thing about this. The only issue I had was that I think I may have overcooked my potatoes slightly. They held together OK, but I had to be very careful when mixing this. This is not an issue with the recipe - just one of the problems that always plagues me when trying to make potato salad. Thank you for saving my family from a lifetime of deli purchased potato salads!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This pretty salad is one I would happily take to a potluck to share. It has a lot going on, but every bite is delicious! The ingredients used in the dressing build a layer of flavor so use them all. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Thumbs up to your mother and grandmother. I LOVE potato salad and finally, after many years of attempting to create the perfect recipe, I have found the KEEPER. My only extra additon are radishes but other than that, it is the BEST. Trouble is, I ate half of it, so the rest of the crew have to have smaller portions p.m. Oh well, hahaha---the cook is allowed to sample. Thanx alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      after viewing this recipe and the beautiful photo I had to try it right away and I was not dissapointed, this is a wonderful potato salad with flavors that blend together very well, I did make a few amount adjustments and used red potatoes, I have it chilling in my fridge to serve later and I just cannot keep my spoon out of the bowl, thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe Becky this is one I will make again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      5 Stars, this really is a delicious recipe and a family favorite for sure. I am Becky's son Christopher and I can vouch for this wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      My family loved it. I di dnot have cider vinegar so I used rice wine vinegar instead and ommited the sugar and sweet pickle relish. Fabulous!!!! My daughter insisted on eating it hot she liked it so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Wow! This was easy to make, and tasted wonderful! Thanks to ALL the women in your family!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      Didnt look like any German Potato Salad I had ever seen but it sure was good, no leftovers at our family Christmas dinner. No doubt a keeper. Thanks for posting BecR

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      A very different kind of German Potato Salad for me (I usually make the warm kind with bacon and vinegar). I really enjoyed all the crunchy stuff with the potatoes. I didn't use any of the garnishes - it was late and we were hungry, so my photo does not look very pretty! I used a little less mayo than called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Family Favorite Potato Salad! (German Kartoffelsalat)

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.7
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    36%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 88.1 mg
    29%
    Sodium 550.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickle juice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes