Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Family Favorite Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Family Favorite Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2001

      Everyone in my family and a couple of my neighbors tried and loved this beef stew. I used dehydrated onion in place of the onion soup mix and soy sauce replaced the worchestershire. I have never liked V8 Juice until I tried this recipe. Just the right amount of veggie taste was added!!! I procrastinated too long in the day and resorted to cooking on the stovetop which was about an hour and a half of simmering to tenderness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2001

      Easy and quick to make on a stove top! Just let it simmer til the veggies are done. Great recipe for when there's not a lot of time to be messing around the kitchen. The kids like my recipe for beef stew, but like this one better. Get the beef stew chunks while they're on sale and it's inexpensive too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2001

      this is good very close to my own recipe. i serve with crackling cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2001

      I can not believe this recipe made it to the top 10 list. This was the worst beef stew I have ever had. When I gave it a sample taste after work...I did not want to put it on the supper table! It is awful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2001

      What do you do with the cooking oil? Saute the beef, which I did but it's not explained. could be awful otherwise it's easy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

      Made this recipe and it was awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2001

      Excellent meal that whips up in minutes! I made it on a lunch hour. You could add more vegetables if you desired to give it variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2001

    • on July 30, 2007

      7/30/07 - We had about half of this left over. I made Sure Thing Pie Crust, Sure Thing Pie Crust, posted by MizzNezz, and made a pot pie with the left-overs. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes. I set it on a jelly-roll pan with parchment paper underneath in case it cooked over. My husband thought he died and went to heaven! 7/23/07 - I'm not really crazy about Crockpot food, so I decided to make this on the stove. I dredged the meat in the flour and browned in a large cast iron skillet. After reading the reviews, I used water in place of the V8 juice and added 1/2 cup cooking sherry. I cooked the meat by itself for about an hour. After an hour, I put in the vegetables, along with 2 stalks of celery and cooked for approximately another hour. At the end, I thickened it with Wondra flour/cold water and added a small half package of frozen peas. It turned out excellent! What I really like about this recipe is that it makes a manageable amount for two people and uses 1 pound of meat instead of 1 1/2 pounds (I usually ask our meat market to put my orders into one pound increments). I think this is a recipe that can be lots of tomato or no tomato or somewhere in the middle -- it's up to the cook! Doing it this way made enough to feed 5 hungry adults. You could even probably stretch it to 6 if you made biscuits to go with it. I also used the Copycat onion soup recipe; so that made it a very economical meal. Jennifer, thanks for posting your recipe! I think it is going to be my new "go to" beef stew recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Very easy, good recipe. The whole family would agree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      DH and I really enjoyed this stew. As a matter of fact hubby said (between helpings), "Toss out all those other stew recipes. Let's just use this one from now on!" Need I say more? Really like the addition of the V8 Juice. Just the right blend of spices and flavorings. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I doubled this recipe. We loved this recipe. I did brown the meat ahead of time. I also parboiled some turnip. The turnip never softens up to our liking in the crockpot. I loved the addition of the V8 juice. It had fantastic flavor. I thought my old beef stew recipe was good...this surpassed that one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Loved it, and the three kids ate it all up too!!! Didn't brown the meat or use flour. I just threw everything into a pot with water and boiled it for 40 minutes. Added celery too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I fried up an onion before doing the beef in the frying pan. Just added all to the crockpot and, voila, dinner was ready in 8 hours. Good no frills stew. Leftovers and in the freezer for later enjoyment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      I finally found a beef stew recipe. This is easy and sooo flavorful. I changed a few things even though it is perfect as is, i used hot and spicy V8 because we like it spicy, I added extra Worcestershire sauce and 1 stalk celery. I did not have time for the crock pot but look forward to using it next time! I simmered stew for 2 hours. I did flour and saute in oil. will continue to only use this recipe always Please try this one its a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Even our picky DD's ate this all up! I lightly dusted the pieces of stew meat with instant (Wondra) flour, but placed them directly in the crockpot without browning. I only added about 2 teaspoons of worcestershire sauce since it's not my favourite. This is a great beef stew that I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      To bring down the fat and calorie count, I omitted the flour and oil, and increased the veggies with more carrots and potato and some onions and peppers (number of servings also increased). The resulting juice was a touch sweet, but still very tasty. Family says we should have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      This is a fantastic stew! It even got rave reviews from my picky-eater inlaws! They just loved it! I substituted beef bouillon for the vegetable juice, since I didn't have any on hand, and it made a beautiful stew base. I also added some sweet corn that I shaved from a few leftover cobs from supper the night before, and the slight sweetness it added in each bite was really yummy. Thanks for such a delicious but home-grown simple stew, Jennifer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      I just threw all this in the slow cooker & thought this was great, the V8 juice made the sauce really rich & flavoursome, don't know how any one could not like it! A keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      if you dont like v8 juice use tomato juice i like this very much i also like adding a can of green beans to this thanks for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Family Favorite Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    98%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1195.9 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    42%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stew beef chunks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites