23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone in my family and a couple of my neighbors tried and loved this beef stew. I used dehydrated onion in place of the onion soup mix and soy sauce replaced the worchestershire. I have never liked V8 Juice until I tried this recipe. Just the right amount of veggie taste was added!!! I procrastinated too long in the day and resorted to cooking on the stovetop which was about an hour and a half of simmering to tenderness.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monagrays September 26, 2001

Easy and quick to make on a stove top! Just let it simmer til the veggies are done. Great recipe for when there's not a lot of time to be messing around the kitchen. The kids like my recipe for beef stew, but like this one better. Get the beef stew chunks while they're on sale and it's inexpensive too!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acacia December 27, 2001

this is good very close to my own recipe. i serve with crackling cornbread.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gina July 13, 2001

I can not believe this recipe made it to the top 10 list. This was the worst beef stew I have ever had. When I gave it a sample taste after work...I did not want to put it on the supper table! It is awful!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris brossard October 17, 2001

What do you do with the cooking oil? Saute the beef, which I did but it's not explained. could be awful otherwise it's easy and good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gina riden September 04, 2001

Made this recipe and it was awful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me August 21, 2001

Excellent meal that whips up in minutes! I made it on a lunch hour. You could add more vegetables if you desired to give it variety.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendab July 12, 2001

7/30/07 - We had about half of this left over. I made Sure Thing Pie Crust, Sure Thing Pie Crust, posted by MizzNezz, and made a pot pie with the left-overs. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes. I set it on a jelly-roll pan with parchment paper underneath in case it cooked over. My husband thought he died and went to heaven! 7/23/07 - I'm not really crazy about Crockpot food, so I decided to make this on the stove. I dredged the meat in the flour and browned in a large cast iron skillet. After reading the reviews, I used water in place of the V8 juice and added 1/2 cup cooking sherry. I cooked the meat by itself for about an hour. After an hour, I put in the vegetables, along with 2 stalks of celery and cooked for approximately another hour. At the end, I thickened it with Wondra flour/cold water and added a small half package of frozen peas. It turned out excellent! What I really like about this recipe is that it makes a manageable amount for two people and uses 1 pound of meat instead of 1 1/2 pounds (I usually ask our meat market to put my orders into one pound increments). I think this is a recipe that can be lots of tomato or no tomato or somewhere in the middle -- it's up to the cook! Doing it this way made enough to feed 5 hungry adults. You could even probably stretch it to 6 if you made biscuits to go with it. I also used the Copycat onion soup recipe; so that made it a very economical meal. Jennifer, thanks for posting your recipe! I think it is going to be my new "go to" beef stew recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose July 30, 2007

Very easy, good recipe. The whole family would agree.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Concoctionista March 24, 2010
Family Favorite Beef Stew