19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this recipe, it was very tender and tasty. Instead of boiling the ribs on the stovetop, I let them sit in the crockpot all afternoon in water, seasoning and a little vinegar (to help tenderize). The rest of the recipe I followed exactly (except that I had to omit the sherry, as I did not have any on hand). The ribs were finger-licking good! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Squirrel December 27, 2007

Awesome ribs! I didn't boil them but basically steamed them in a covered broil pan with water at 325 for about 2 1/5 hours then slathered them with the sauce and broiled for about 20 minutes to make them crispy (pouring out the water first). They were perfect and the sauce was excellent. A nice change from standard BBQ ribs. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle December 26, 2011

This is truly yummy and as an asian it sure beats all the other ribs I have ever eated. So thanks for sharing....my kids think I am an awesome cook now...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gt global August 28, 2009

Used this for a pork roast and it went over better than almost anything I've made before!! OMG this is great!!!!!!! Served with rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita August 01, 2009

These were inhaled. I didn't want to fuss over these, so I did as another reviewer and cooked them in the crockpot over low for about 6 hours. They were literally "fall off the bone". AND had amazing flavor. I didn't have any dry sherry but that is the only difference in ingredients - everything else was just right. Everyone at gamenight thinks I am some great cook, but I just follow great recipes like these that make me look really good. Thank you for sharing this. I will make these over and over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandyberry July 31, 2008

i swapped in a little filipino jufran banana hot sauce instead of half of the ketchup and skipped the sherry. boiled the ribs on fairly low heat for 4+ hours due to not coming home as soon as i expected. the ribs turned out so great i even mentioned them in my blog (although it's not at all about cooking).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andriy June 13, 2007

This was just great! My family loved the spicy asian flavor. We will definetally make again. We felt like we had gone out to dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal chef April 17, 2007

This is really good!!! Definately a hit with the family :) Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dyve_leighdee February 15, 2007

Delish! Made these last night and DH and I enjoyed them very much. The only ingredent I had to purchase was the Hoisin sauce. We raised our first pig last year and I had two packages of ribs. I will use this for the second pack and probably for some of the shoulder steaks as well. It is finger licking good. Thanks for posting a very easy and tasty recipe, Leslie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana Chickens January 19, 2007

These were great. I used frozen ribs and subsequently boiled the ribs for too long; I think 2 hours would have been sufficient. I didn't have chili sauce, so I just used a little extra catsup and some cayenne to spice it up a little. Yum. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sascha January 11, 2007
Fall off the Bone Chinese Spareribs