Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fall off the Bone Chinese Spareribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fall off the Bone Chinese Spareribs

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2007

      I really liked this recipe, it was very tender and tasty. Instead of boiling the ribs on the stovetop, I let them sit in the crockpot all afternoon in water, seasoning and a little vinegar (to help tenderize). The rest of the recipe I followed exactly (except that I had to omit the sherry, as I did not have any on hand). The ribs were finger-licking good! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      Awesome ribs! I didn't boil them but basically steamed them in a covered broil pan with water at 325 for about 2 1/5 hours then slathered them with the sauce and broiled for about 20 minutes to make them crispy (pouring out the water first). They were perfect and the sauce was excellent. A nice change from standard BBQ ribs. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This is truly yummy and as an asian it sure beats all the other ribs I have ever eated. So thanks for sharing....my kids think I am an awesome cook now...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Used this for a pork roast and it went over better than almost anything I've made before!! OMG this is great!!!!!!! Served with rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      These were inhaled. I didn't want to fuss over these, so I did as another reviewer and cooked them in the crockpot over low for about 6 hours. They were literally "fall off the bone". AND had amazing flavor. I didn't have any dry sherry but that is the only difference in ingredients - everything else was just right. Everyone at gamenight thinks I am some great cook, but I just follow great recipes like these that make me look really good. Thank you for sharing this. I will make these over and over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      i swapped in a little filipino jufran banana hot sauce instead of half of the ketchup and skipped the sherry. boiled the ribs on fairly low heat for 4+ hours due to not coming home as soon as i expected. the ribs turned out so great i even mentioned them in my blog (although it's not at all about cooking).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      This was just great! My family loved the spicy asian flavor. We will definetally make again. We felt like we had gone out to dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This is really good!!! Definately a hit with the family :) Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Delish! Made these last night and DH and I enjoyed them very much. The only ingredent I had to purchase was the Hoisin sauce. We raised our first pig last year and I had two packages of ribs. I will use this for the second pack and probably for some of the shoulder steaks as well. It is finger licking good. Thanks for posting a very easy and tasty recipe, Leslie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      These were great. I used frozen ribs and subsequently boiled the ribs for too long; I think 2 hours would have been sufficient. I didn't have chili sauce, so I just used a little extra catsup and some cayenne to spice it up a little. Yum. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Deliscious !!! I added more garlic and 1/4 t Chinese 5 spice powder and it was absolutely wonderful !!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Very tasty, the sause is outstanding. I used pork spare ribs instead of beef and doubled amount of garlic. Thanks, it was great. I'm planning to make it again next week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      I agree, "finger-licking" good! And so easy to combine the sauce ingredients. The garlic and ginger flavors really come through. I used baby back ribs and my only complaint is that I wanted more! Thanks for a recipe I will be using often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Jessica, I have to confess that I cheated... we were out at an afternoon B'day party and were to bring guests home with us... so I threw everything into the crockpot (NO boiling, just meat and sauce) and left it on for the 5 hours that we were away... It was good timing coming home, we were starving for something savoury to nibble as the only things to eat at the party were overly creamed cakes, but didn't want anything too fussy, so this with a litte salad and chicken on sticks went down a treat. I didn't make too muchsince this was an experiment and my small amount was *just* beginning to get too dark after 5 hours, and since the meat was falling off the bone, I grabbed the salad and next minute it was all gone ! I will play around with the recipe just a little as "more garlic" was muttered by more than one full mouth, but your recipe was a hit and it will be a regular feature in our house from now on. Please see my rating system: a wonderful 5 stars:) Thanks !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Oh very good!!! My family's only complaint was ....I didn't make enough!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Oh,Wow,these were so good.Finger licking good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      Great recipe! I followed all the steps and replaced only the fresh ginger with a tablespoon of ginger powder and it still worked great. This is quite an authentic Chinese spare ribs recipe. My one problem was that after the baking, the ribs were a little dry. So, I guess I will have to reduce the baking time a little next time. Will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fall off the Bone Chinese Spareribs

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    51%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1246.2 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 16.1 g
    64%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites