Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fall-Apart-Tender Slow-Roast Pork Butt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fall-Apart-Tender Slow-Roast Pork Butt

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2011

      I wouldn't call this "fall-apart-tender", that to me gives this roast more of a pull pork discription and exactly what I wasen't looking for. I have only made a couple pork roasts in my life and rubbed with spices, and more spices and drown in bbq sauce to hide how dry it was. I followed this recipe to the letter--just cut everything in half since it was 2 lbs, cooked 3 hrs, waited 40 min to cut and poured slightly thickened juices over--but this is soooo juicy you won't use much. And instead of being stringy it was very much slicable. I cut into very thin slices and it held its shape. I would difinitely rename to sunday dinner roast pork

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      too sweet! I wish I knew this before making. This would be a good base for a bar-b-que pulled pork. Maybe I miss understood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This was very good - so tender and juicy that even our 1 year old gobbled it up. The juice was really delicious and went nicely over rice. We didn't have apple juice so used pineapple instead. Next time I'll use apple to see if it makes a huge difference. It was a nice way to cook pork butt that didn't involve barbecue sauce and many hours in a crock pot, although I am a fan of pulled pork!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Well Kittencal, here in the midwest about the only thing we know to do with a pork roast is slice it and BBQ it, and maybe some pulled pork. Had one in freezer and didn't feel like pulled pork, so I found this recipe. OMG, this was fantastic !! Cooked exactly as you specified, I had a roast a little over 7 lbs so it took about 5 hours to cook, but LET ME TELL YOU, when this was sliced the juices just rolled !! We were soo impressed. The sweetness of the brown sugar and apple juice was divine. I do like pork and apples together anyway. This will now be the way I cook pork butt!!! It takes a lot for me to give up my BBQ girl! LOL Thankyou sooo much for this great recipe, I will be trying it out on company, and cant wait to hear the mmmmmmm coming from the table !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I really wanted to like this recipe. However, the sauce was just too sweet to use. Luckily, the meat didn't take on a too-sweet flavor. The cooking method was spot-on so I will use the cooking directions and use a vegetable broth for the liquid and skip the brown sugar all together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      I followed this recipe to the letter for a family gathering, and found it very disappointing. The meat was edible and even tasty, not overly "chewy," but certainly not "fall apart tender," and not even in the category of pulled pork. The drippings made excellent gravy, which redeemed the meal, but I won't be messing with this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Loved this recipe, and the way it came out. Literally, fell completely off the bone. The reason for four outta five? I did make some changes due to what I had on hand. We improvise when we have to. ;) (minced garlic instead of cloves; packed on surface under brown sugar, and 1 cup water with 1/4 cup white wine instead of the apple juice.) Kitten, you've shared a gem with this one!! Thanks for posting, it's now a regular go-to for our home!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      This was fabulous! The butcher had told me to cook it all day and even though this recipe said 4 /12 hours, I cooked it for 7 hours. Extremely tender, we made sandwiches out it and the juice from the pan was SO delicious, I added alittle rue (melted butter and flour) to thicken alittle. We drizzled that over the meat on our sandwiches and it was a total home run. Thank you so much. It was easy and fabulous! I also put about 7 cloves of garlic. When the roast is finished, you can spread the roasted garlic on your bread as well. Amazing! Get a big roast though....you won't have much left if you don't!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      The apple juice and brown sugar give this a sweeter taste which is a nice change of pace compared to traditional pork roast recipes. I would highly suggest adding red potatoes, carrots, and onions and then cooking on 350 for an extra hour. The veggies absorb the delicious flavor and makes this roast truly "fall apart."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Simply love this recipe. Can pull easily, add barbecue sauce and have better pulled pork than restaurants!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Made it exactly as described and it turned out wonderful. Very tender. Very easy to make. Sliced it and served it with the juice poured over top of it. Great flavor. We had cooked apples, potatoes and a vegetable with it. Made a great inexpensive meal. I will be making it again. For the few reviewers who didn't give outstanding comments, I don't think they were imagining pork roast...they were thinking pulled pork. This is not BBQ, this is not pulled pork. It is delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      hi guys, my son picked up this style of roast. it wouldnt have been my 1st pick, but since i owned i thought i would give this recipe a try. i dont normaly take the time to respond to stuff like this, however i had such great results. i had to rate this roast. i was a little leary of the recipe but oh well.
      my roast came out exactly as the one pictured in the recipe, even after it was done, i was still unsure how it came out. i have cooked several pork roast in the past, but i must say. this was by far the tastiest roast i have ever eaten. everyoe who shared in it said the same thing. "IT WASNT NOT WHAT I EXSPECTED, BUT ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL"
      so please give it a try. you will not be dissappointed..
      john from riverside ca

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      My family loved this. Loved the idea of not having to bbq the pork roast as others have mentioned. Will me making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      I will be making this again and again! This is a very forgiving recipe. I didn't have apple juice so i used orange juice, and the roast I had was only 3 lbs but I used the full amount of sauce ingredients I'm so glad i did , the sauce was amazing (I served with rice) I did not have time to marinate so I just threw it all together and put in oven. So easy and wonderful. I've tried so many pork roast recipes, and I'm done looking. Thanks so much for sharing Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      This was delicious! Thanks for posting great recipes kittencal! I have to say you have a very handsome guy on your lap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Awesome recipe my dear friend. I followed the recipe to a t, didn't and wouldn't change a thing. This was my first time cooking with shoulder butt and your recipe certainly didn't disappoint. Moist, juicy, tender pork that has a lovely flavor. It was fall apart perfect and we enjoyed it so much on cabiatta buns with salt, pepper and mustard. Thanks for sharing a recipe that I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      The roast came out moist and juicy and just fell apart. The only change I made was to add some onion powder and garlic powder in addition to the 5 cloves of garlic I slivered and poked in the roast itself. The only thing it needed was some more salt and pepper which was easily fixed. (21)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      This was excellent!! Especially great the next day after the juices marinated!! This recipe was easy, affordable and delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Outstanding.!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Kittencal, you've done it again! This was so easy...and took all the stress out of cooking a pork butt! I followed the recipe exactly and see no reason for switching anything up! This is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fall-Apart-Tender Slow-Roast Pork Butt

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 579.2
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    47%
    Total Fat 30.5 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 181.3 mg
    60%
    Sodium 399.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 19.9 g
    79%
    Protein 51.7 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites