Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Falafel With Taratoor Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Falafel With Taratoor Sauce

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2011

      We had to cut our trip to Egypt short due to the protests, so I was looking to cook some meals that we should have had more of, including falafel and tahini sauce. I chose to make this recipe because of the taratoor sauce, and boy, am I glad I did. It tasted just like what we were served in Egypt (minus a sprinkle of ground cumin on top). The falafel was quite tasty too, though I felt the spices could easily be increased by 1.5. In the future I'll increase the parsley and add cilantro as well. My first three fell apart as soon as they hit the hot fat, but then I started packing them like I would a hamburger patty and they stayed together perfectly after that (or perhaps that was the time the flour needed to bind?). Many thanks to evelyn/athens for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      My first attempt at falafel and what a fantastic flavor! I had trouble getting the mixture to stick together, which is why I'm giving 4 stars. It might have been me, though. Anyway, I'll make it again just for the flavor! Thanks, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Perfect, perfect, perfect. These are fantastic. We did not make the taratoor sauce because we love tzatziki, so we made that instead, but next time I will try the taratoor. These were really easy- and I just had a few out of the freezer reheated at 350F for 5 minutes in my toaster oven and they're even yummier than they were when I first made them. Perfect, though (should I expect any less from you?). Some falafel recipes I've tried have been way too dry and some have been rather soggy. This was just perfect. Thanks again, Evelyn. I'll be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I enjoyed this very much. I used chickpeas that had previously been soaked overnight then cooked until tender. Also, halfway through the recipe I realized that there was absolutely no bread in the house so I substituted a few tablespoons of atta flour and it worked perfectly. This was my first time making the taratoor sauce. It was quick, easy, and oh so tasty. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      TREMENDOUS! These things were devoured at a dinner party last night. Everyone raved! I did use canned chickpeas (all I had)... and baked in the oven as opposed to frying (I don't eat fried food)...I can't imagine them being any tastier than they were. I didn't make the sauce as I am a tzatziki kind of girl. Thanks so much for this outstanding recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I am very picky about my falafel and these were great! I did use a food processor and did so in batches, fresh parsley, and added three fresh jalapenos in place of the sweet red pepper, we like them spicey. Otherwise the spices were perfect. . I also did not do the end baking powder and water bit mine were moist enough. Perfect served with a hot tzatziki sauce and raw veggie salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Oh my god, these are WONDERFUL! I've had and tried may different Falafel recipies, and this is the best! And the Taratoor is delicious too. We put it on veggies and DH put some on his steak and raved about it. Well worth the effort, I'll make this over and over again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      this is by far the best falafel i have ever made! using the raw chickpeas really makes a difference. the sauce is basically the same recipe i have used in the past, but the falafel had a nice spicey taste, crunchy on the outside, moist on the inside. i used my deep fryer and these were not at all greasy.i served these in pita with chopped cucumbers, tomatoes and lettuce. just wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      Seriously amazing recipe! Made as written, except for using dried parsley rather than fresh, and using chickpea flour instead of wheat. I had a bit of trouble keeping them together, but that was user error, not the recipe. My food processor went to that great kitchen in the sky, and I had to use my vita mix to mix the chickpeas. It doesn't do as fine of a job, so there are some bigger chunks.My picky 4 year old LOVED the 'bits' that fell off ( I would strain them out onto a paper towel), Still ended up with plenty of falafel, I don't think I will ever try another recipe.. this one is it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Falafels: Great; lots of good flavors, moist on the inside and crunchy crust. Taratoor: yuck. We made it as directed, but I just didn't care for the taste (luckily I made a tzaziki sauce as well, and that was great with the hot falafels). Will definitely be making the falafels again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      This is my favorite falafel recipe. The raw chickpeas make the texture about as perfect as you can get. Sometimes when I'm feeling virtuous I spray them with olive oil and pop them under the broiler instead of frying them. Of course they fall apart a bit - that's what the pita bread is for! And if it makes a mess and spills all over your plate, then you've got a nice salad to eat after your sandwich. Thanks for a yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This is as close to the best Falafel I have ever had, and especially as I love Tahini sauce, rather than cucumber. When I was a college student,on a very fixed budget, there was a Middle Eastern truck parked on College Avenue,and I have never had such a wonderful taste sensation in my life as the Falafels they made!! The Tahini sauce made it spectacular!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      It's great that something this yummy is so simple to make - just a whirl (or three) in the food processor! I had to add a bit more water to get a workable consistency, but otherwise followed the recipe. I would double the spices the next time, as we like things spicy! We baked these in the oven (175 C, 15-20 minutes) as opposed to frying, which worked well... but you will of course not get the lovely, crispy surface hot oil gives you! Thanks for sharing Ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      WOW! I would give this 10 stars if I could! I LOVE falafel and I can say this is one of the best I have ever had...if not THE best! (and I have had plenty) And the sauce was to die for as well. I must say, I had never tried the spearmint garnish, but I enjoyed that as well. A STELLAR recipe, thanks so much, Ev. Posted for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I made half a recipe and it is great. I loved the crisp crust on them. I will make them smaller next time and there will be many next times. I served with Arabian Pita Bread, Hearts of Palm Salad and Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper & feta Hummus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Absolutely Fabulous I am glad that they freeze and re-heat so well as the recipe makes a large quantity. I did add in some chopped fresh corriander a squeeze of lemon juice and 1/2 tsp of chilli powder to spice them up as we like spicy food. I also substituted breadcrumbs in place of the bread slices. A great recipe DELISH !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

    • on October 05, 2009

      This turned out to be an odd consistency for me, and really greasy. I'm not sure what I did wrong. The flavor was amazing (aside from the greasiness) and I will definitely be giving it another shot:) Oct.5, 2009- Aha! The chickpeas I used had been cooked before I froze them! Used raw ones this time...perfection! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Wonderful Falafel! Tasted just like the ones I had in Syria. The Taratoor Sauce was not quite my taste but the friend I had over for dinner loved it. Certainly a keeper! Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      best falafal recipe I've ever tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Falafel With Taratoor Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 710.7
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    36%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2212.5 mg
    92%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.3 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 25.3 g
    101%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    55%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites