Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Falafel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Falafel

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2012

      Ha! That's what I get for substitution in a pinch...used 1/4 c dried garbanzos - then ran out! Replaced with black beans, let soak overnight, and then pressure cooked and let the dongle dangle for about 25 minutes. (whatever the terminology is. The weight over the hole jiggle/dances or whatever.) I then followed the rest of the recipe, until during the first fry, it dissipated into nothing - so I then baked them, and ended up with some quite delicious refried beans. I had to dismiss the coriander, upon inspection I deemed the coriander to smell like paint and threw it away. (I never use coriander anyway.) *Very delicious* refried beans, and a fruitful Adventures in Yum adventure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      This dish had my friends raving and hungry for more. However, this dish took a while to make. Is there a way to made the balls so that they don't disintegrate in the oil? Also, I found it pretty hard to blend the chickpeas in the blender without pouring in water, which resulted in the balls being cooked pretty slow. Any suggestions? But overall, this dish was a success. Must be tried with Yogurt with Tahini sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      This falafel was pretty good. I did omit the chile because I was serving it to my 2 boys. I also used only 1 clove of garlic as Dh doesn't care for it. I'm introducing the boys to Middle Eastern foods and only one of them liked these, so I had plenty of leftovers, which I'll store in the freezer for myself! Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Great recipe Rita! I substituted scallions with a small red onion and the fresh mint with cilantro and dill. It still turned out great. It came out light and crispy on the outside. Thanks for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Colossal failure. The dough mixed up nicely in my food processor, and had great flavor, but the balls disintegrated in my hot oil, even without me touching them. SOOO disappointed. Any ideas what I did wrong? Followed directions and used fresh baking powder, although waited a few hours to actually fry them. Maybe that was the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was to omit the jalapeno pepper. I ate them in a warm pita with ranch dressing, lettuce and tomato. Made for Veg N Swap #20.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      These turned our great! Used a falafel maker and deep fryer. The mixture held together beautifully and fried up good & crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Flavor was well-balanced and not too heavily spiced. These were delicious rolled up in a large pita with tomato, onion, flat parsley and garlic tahini sauce. Will definitely make again! Made for PAC Spring 2008. L~S

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Followed directions exactly, except to halve the recipe. It turned out really nice. I made smaller balls, so got about 16. I used in a tortilla with lettuce and a creamy dressing. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Falafel

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.3
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    14%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 498.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    49%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes