Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Falafel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Falafel

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2008

      Yummy, yummy! The recipe doesn't say how many tins of chickpeas make 300g, but I used 2 tins and the quantity was perfect for about 5 people. Love the garlic - delicious with cucumber/tomato salad and tabouli with fresh garden parsley and mint. (I swiped the bulgur from the tabouli bowl!). Dunno if the bulgur is an essential ingredient; there really wasn't much of it in there... but I guess it can't hurt! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Most excellent! Dear Hubby was blown away. This is delicious and easy. I used 1 can of chickpeas/garbanzo beans. ( I used Goya. The label listed the weight as 439 g but after rinsing and draining the beans weighed just under the 300g that the recipe called for.) I also didn't soak the bulgur for the whole hour. I gave it a few minutes on the counter then zapped it in the microwave. All the other seasonings were per recipe. Fantastic! Never buying another box or pouch at the store again. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      THANK YOU! I have tried so many falafel recipes, and been let down time and time again. This is the recipe I will use from now on, no more searching! :D I used canned chicks as well - 2 cans. I forgot the tahini (oops, will def add next time!) Other then that stuck to the recipe. I would add a little more cumin the next time. Other then that perfect!! They held together beautifully, cooked evenly, and had great flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      We have an extremely good falafel place around the corner from my home, so my standards are pretty high. I thought these were delicious. What a great recipe! I baked mine in the oven at 200 degres celsius, but as they didn't turn golden I chucked them in the fry pan as well. It wasn't until I tried one that I realised they didn't even need it. They were crispy even though they just looked a bit dry. Baking is definitely a great option. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Really good falafel! I changed a few things according to our taste and what I had on hand. I increased chick peas to 2 cups and omitted the bulgur since I didn't have any. I doubled the garlic and tahini. I didn't have ground coriander so I used dried cilantro. Omitted peppers (DH allergic), cumin and egg (we're vegan). Also, halved the salt. We are falafel lovers and this end result was really nice. The egg really isn't necessary, so for those that are watching their fat/cholesterol intake or are vegan, feel free to substitute a tablespoon or two of water if you find that your mix is too dry. It should be just fine though...we've never used eggs and have been making falafels for years. I'll try it with the bulgur next time. Thanks for posting~ I'll update when I make it with bulgur. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      The bulgur wheat really intrigued me, so I tried the recipe. The taste was fantastic. Not sure if I used the right proportion of spices, probably used more actually and I left out the tahini as there was none at home. Tasted fab! Yum Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      We enjoyed this falafel recipe for lunch today. I used 300g of chickpeas that I soaked overnight. Also, we did not drain the bulgur as the recipe did not say to, and we had no problems with the consistency of our falafel. We stuffed in pita pockets topped with homemade hummus. However, I think the topping needs to be different next time. I am going to play around with Greek yogurt, cukes and tomatoes with my leftover falafels. Thanks for posting. Made for Sun and Spice 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      I thought that this was a great recipe. I used all of the ingredients and stuck to the instructions as much as possible. One of the vegans went on and on about changing the recipe in her review and ended up making a completely different dish. I wanted to see how actual Falafel would turn out. Luckily, my can of chickpeas had the gram measurement, so I was able to measure accordingly. I was able to implement the bulgur, although I wasn't exactly sure what to do with it once they were finished soaking. I drained the bulgur thoroughly before adding it in. Shaping the balls was a little problematic. Perhaps the mixture was blended too well, so it was sort of moist. Once fried, the Falafel tasted delicious. I'd suggest increasing the amount of red chili pepper if you like more of a kick. I'm using the mixture that I did not shape into balls as a dip! Next time, I'll try the baking method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This is such an easy, tasty recipe. I have had problems with the falafel holding together in the balls but with this recipe - no problem. I used canned chickpeas, lightly sprayed them with oil and baked them - For the last 10 minutes I spooned a tsp of curry sauce over each. Served with a ground turkey burger, steamed Green beans and carrots with turnips. Ameal fit for a queen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      It was lovely to have a go at making falafel from scratch without a packet mix. These were very tasty, and were eaten very quickly - I will have to double the recipe next time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This was the first time I've tried to make falafel from scratch, and I sure picked the right recipe! This was fabulous! I had a bag of bulgur and was wondering what to do with it. Texture was wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Different to falafel I have tasted before but still very tasty and easier to make than I thought they would be. Thanks for this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This was a great recipe. It takes a long time to prepare if you don't have all the equipment. It was great with the cucumber salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This was my first time eating falafel, let alone making it, so I really have nothing to compare this to... but I liked it a lot! I thought it had a ton of flavor. The dough was really wet so I used a cookie scoop to shape them into balls. They cooked up very nicely. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Simple and excellent recipe. These were as good as any Falafel I have had in any Middle Eastern restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      My first time using bulgur in falafel - and it just didn't work for me. I even soaked the bulgur for longer than an hour, and when cooked, it still tasted raw. If anyone had any tips about preparing the bulgur for the falafel, please let me know. I thought perhaps it needed to be whizzed in the food processor too, but the recipe doesn't indicate that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Yey! This was my second attempt at making falafel and this time it worked!!!! The first time I made falafel I don't think I'd blended them enough so they fell apart whilst they were frying. This time I spent ages trying to get them to a smooth paste with the food processor and then along came my brother with a genius idea : why not use the potato masher?! Honestly, it works really well and takes much less time! Anyway these were lovely so thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      These falafels were great, and fairly easy to make. I used canned chickpeas, and quinoa instead of bulgur (didn't have any). I coated them well with coconut oil and baked them in the oven at 400 F for about 30 min. They came out golden and crispy. They weren't quite spicy enough for me, but they were perfect for my kids. Next time I'll add a little more chili pepper to mine. We ate them dipped in hummus with a quinoa salad and veggies. This was a nice combination!! I will be making these again soon!!!! Thanks VegeMight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      Picked this recipe for Pick a Chef Spring 2006. Very glad I did. The falaffels were very tasty and spicy enough. They didn't hold together as well as I thought they would though. After frying the first few I added 1/4 cup of cooking liquid to the mix and then it was easier to shape them and they fried better. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      Delicious!!! I always order falafel when we have turkish kebabs, now I can make them at home. I used canned chick peas and whizzed everything up in the food processor...couldn't be easier.The patties held together well while frying in shallow oil. Served with flat bread, hummous and tabouli. A keeper recipe that I'll use a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Falafel

    Serving Size: 1 (446 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 37.9
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    20%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 9.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 166.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes