21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy, yummy! The recipe doesn't say how many tins of chickpeas make 300g, but I used 2 tins and the quantity was perfect for about 5 people. Love the garlic - delicious with cucumber/tomato salad and tabouli with fresh garden parsley and mint. (I swiped the bulgur from the tabouli bowl!). Dunno if the bulgur is an essential ingredient; there really wasn't much of it in there... but I guess it can't hurt! :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer June 15, 2008

Most excellent! Dear Hubby was blown away. This is delicious and easy. I used 1 can of chickpeas/garbanzo beans. ( I used Goya. The label listed the weight as 439 g but after rinsing and draining the beans weighed just under the 300g that the recipe called for.) I also didn't soak the bulgur for the whole hour. I gave it a few minutes on the counter then zapped it in the microwave. All the other seasonings were per recipe. Fantastic! Never buying another box or pouch at the store again. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARJBoulanger February 28, 2011

THANK YOU! I have tried so many falafel recipes, and been let down time and time again. This is the recipe I will use from now on, no more searching! :D I used canned chicks as well - 2 cans. I forgot the tahini (oops, will def add next time!) Other then that stuck to the recipe. I would add a little more cumin the next time. Other then that perfect!! They held together beautifully, cooked evenly, and had great flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 25, 2011

We have an extremely good falafel place around the corner from my home, so my standards are pretty high. I thought these were delicious. What a great recipe! I baked mine in the oven at 200 degres celsius, but as they didn't turn golden I chucked them in the fry pan as well. It wasn't until I tried one that I realised they didn't even need it. They were crispy even though they just looked a bit dry. Baking is definitely a great option. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dexter&Liz April 10, 2008

Really good falafel! I changed a few things according to our taste and what I had on hand. I increased chick peas to 2 cups and omitted the bulgur since I didn't have any. I doubled the garlic and tahini. I didn't have ground coriander so I used dried cilantro. Omitted peppers (DH allergic), cumin and egg (we're vegan). Also, halved the salt. We are falafel lovers and this end result was really nice. The egg really isn't necessary, so for those that are watching their fat/cholesterol intake or are vegan, feel free to substitute a tablespoon or two of water if you find that your mix is too dry. It should be just fine though...we've never used eggs and have been making falafels for years. I'll try it with the bulgur next time. Thanks for posting~ I'll update when I make it with bulgur. =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veronica144 March 21, 2008

The bulgur wheat really intrigued me, so I tried the recipe. The taste was fantastic. Not sure if I used the right proportion of spices, probably used more actually and I left out the tahini as there was none at home. Tasted fab! Yum Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzyblue April 20, 2007

We enjoyed this falafel recipe for lunch today. I used 300g of chickpeas that I soaked overnight. Also, we did not drain the bulgur as the recipe did not say to, and we had no problems with the consistency of our falafel. We stuffed in pita pockets topped with homemade hummus. However, I think the topping needs to be different next time. I am going to play around with Greek yogurt, cukes and tomatoes with my leftover falafels. Thanks for posting. Made for Sun and Spice 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny February 10, 2013

I thought that this was a great recipe. I used all of the ingredients and stuck to the instructions as much as possible. One of the vegans went on and on about changing the recipe in her review and ended up making a completely different dish. I wanted to see how actual Falafel would turn out. Luckily, my can of chickpeas had the gram measurement, so I was able to measure accordingly. I was able to implement the bulgur, although I wasn't exactly sure what to do with it once they were finished soaking. I drained the bulgur thoroughly before adding it in. Shaping the balls was a little problematic. Perhaps the mixture was blended too well, so it was sort of moist. Once fried, the Falafel tasted delicious. I'd suggest increasing the amount of red chili pepper if you like more of a kick. I'm using the mixture that I did not shape into balls as a dip! Next time, I'll try the baking method.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpatel02004 September 14, 2012

This is such an easy, tasty recipe. I have had problems with the falafel holding together in the balls but with this recipe - no problem. I used canned chickpeas, lightly sprayed them with oil and baked them - For the last 10 minutes I spooned a tsp of curry sauce over each. Served with a ground turkey burger, steamed Green beans and carrots with turnips. Ameal fit for a queen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 17, 2010

It was lovely to have a go at making falafel from scratch without a packet mix. These were very tasty, and were eaten very quickly - I will have to double the recipe next time :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MS #2 August 01, 2010
Falafel