90 Reviews

Never thought I'd make a falafel recipe because I don't have a deep fat fryer and don't like to eat high fat foods. So I read the reviews and decided to make this by cooking it at 400F for 20 minutes. It turned out terrific! It browned very nicely. Since I didn't have a food processor, I used my blender and blended it in batches. It wasn't the optimal tool, but it worked. Since I was baking them I added the 2 tbsp oil to the falafel mix. It wasn't too much oil, and I think it helped it hold its shape. I really loved the yogurt in this recipe. It may have been tastier with a tahini sauce, but with the yogurt it was lower fat. I'll be making this again! BF loved it.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 08, 2011

This is SO good! It's become a regular favorite in my house. I like to skip forming it into patties and frying in a skillet more like loose hashbrowns, then mixing everything together with the vegetables and sauce in a bowl before putting into the pita pocket. Thanks!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yummy Yum January 19, 2010

This was the best falafel I have ever had! Really, it was better then any restaurant. I was nervous about the mint, I thought, how could that be in there, but I made it exactly as written anyway, and it was perfect. I just ate some plain, to try right away, but will probably make a tahini sauce to go with them for next time. I made extra, and flash froze them, so will let you know how they turn out once unthawed. I plan on heating them up in the oven after defrosting. Edit - I defrosted them in the microwave until heated through, and they tasted just as good as they did when fresh.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy June 18, 2009

This was a very good recipe, but you HAVE to fry it. Baked falafel is way too dry... the only way to keep it from drying out is the oven is to put oil on it, so you might as well just fry it! I added one egg to the mixture to help it stay together while frying.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shera_23 July 04, 2009

These were quick and easy dinner. Had to sub 1 tbsp dried cilantro and only used about 1/2 tsp dried mint. A little crumbly but so goes falafel. Next time I'll double this since we easily both ate 2. I'd probably use a little more oil next time as well and get them crispy. I suggest straining your yogurt for the cucumber sauce if you don't use the greek style (which I don't - to expensive) Just stick a coffee filter in a small strainer, add the yogurt, set it over a bowl and let it sit for 1/2 hour. Also drain the cucumber! Thanks Ratherbeswimmin!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma April 08, 2009

I've never had falafel before, but ratherbeswimmin' has never steered me wrong before. In fact, whenever I am choosing between recipes, I always go for her recipe. I don't care for mint so I used fresh basil (same family), other than that made as written. The first one fell apart, so I guess I didn't let the pan heat up enough, since the rest were fine. I went without the pita and served on a bed of lettuce with chopped tomatoes, sliced red onions, and the yogurt sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens January 27, 2011

I swap flat-leaf parsley for the cilantro because *ick* and it comes out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefany B. June 09, 2016

Very, very crumbly. Had to give it a Hulk grip to get it to stick together. I looked at other recipes here on this website and found that water is added. Makes sense. I gave it two stars because it was very difficult to form and for the water omission. However, the taste was sooooo good! So I am not giving up on this recipe. I will try again with water added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail the Chef August 23, 2015

Very tasty! Good recipe, but it didn't stay together too well when I fried it, I might add some egg next time. Apart from that, it was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Master January 10, 2014

I think my search for the perfect falafel recipe may be over. We LOVE this recipe; both the patties and the sauce turn out perfect every time and they are really easy to make. I noticed this recipe differs from many that are posted in terms of the large proportions of mint and cilantro (other recipes seem to only call for a tablespoon or two of each). The greater proportion of herbs is probably one of the reasons we love this recipe so much. I have made this twice now. The first time I pan fried as directed. The second time, I doubled the recipe to serve at a party and I baked in the oven at 425F for about 15 mins, turning once during that time. I would say the pan fried version is the best, but the baked version is also really good, healthier, and easier to do in larger quantities. My only other suggestion is to make smaller than burger sized patties, which would yield more than 4, as they stuff into the pita more easily. A definite keeper, this recipe also pairs well with Greek Quinoa Salad posted by Fluffy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny October 20, 2013