Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fake Rotisserie Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fake Rotisserie Chicken

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2003

      Wonderful. Perfectly wonderful. I have made whole chickens in my crockpot before, and they taste great, but this is so much better. I think it is because the bird doesn't "stew" in its own juices since it is raised up by the foil. Before, the meat would fall off the bone, and the bones would actually break apart making taking it out of the pot a bit of a challange. But with this recipe, it held together, and I was able to CUT the meat! It was like thanksgiving! I placed the onion in the cavity, and also put some slices under the skin, and for spices I used rosemary, tarragon, paprika and garlic salt. It was perfect!!! Thanks so much for sharing! BTW, my mom was visiting last night when we had this, she had never thought of cooking chicken this way. She was talking this morning about how she could cook 2 birds in her huge crockpot this way and freeze one of them. You made her a believer too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This is truly wonderful. I used sage, rosemary, garlic powder and even a little lemon pepper and it really did taste like rotisserie chicken. I also used a little soy sauce like you recommended and it was so tasty. One of the best things about this dish is all the delicious broth left over that you can use for soups. My husband came home from work and when he came in the house his first word was "yum" due to the wonderful smell coming from the crockpot. Thanks for posting CCLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      This made a delicious and easy chicken dinner. I don't think it truly compares to a rotisserie chicken in texture but it did hold its shape well enough to be sliced at the table. I used only onion because I am cooking for fussy teenage boys who are suspicious of anything "green" but it was still very tasty. No leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      This was unbelievable!!! I couldn't believe how much it tasted like the rotisserie chicken I buy at a little local market my town!!! I didn't use an onion, (not very fond of onions lately) and I used paprika to help with the coloring. Nice tip with the soy sauce. I do that often myself. I don't use my crockpot often but will now with this recipe! THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      I have never made a chicken in the pot before. Mine turned out great. I think I out a little to much spices on though..lol..It was nice and juicy and the meat fell right off the bones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Love this and so much cheaper than buying one! McCormick's has a Rotisserie Chicken Seasoning that I used on and in my chicken--really good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This is very easy to prepare and the tasted exactly what you would want from a rotisserie chicken. You definately need some soy sauce or bbbq sauce, because the skin does not brown. I added 1/2 a lemon and a large shallot to the cavity. I sprinkled it sparingly with lemon pepper and soy sauce....but next time, I would use a heaver hand with the seasonings (something with brown sugar, paprika, chili powder, etc. in it) I had to add more tin foil balls as I have a large crockpot and the chicken would fall down in between the balls. I also tied the legs together with some cord. Next time, I am sure that 2 birds could fit in the pot, so I will try that (knowing that it would change my cooking time). The only downfall of this recipe, is that I can't use the bones to make soup stock ... I am thinking everything was leached out during the cooking process. I was suprised, considering how the meat literally fell off the bone, that the meat was moist and delicious. I am really going to enjoy my chicken sandwich for lunch today!!! Excellent posting, CCLady!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I wrap several smallish Red Bliss potatoes in foil and put them in the bottom of the pot in place of the plain aluminum balls; the chicken and potatoes are then perfectly done at the same time. Also, it's important to put the chicken in BREAST SIDE DOWN so the breast is self-basted. I find it comes out better cooked on High for 4 hours - the skin crisps up more, and the whole thing seems to be tastier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      I am giving 5 stars for the cooking method alone. I made something totally different, but used this method in my crock pot. I used 2 Cornish Game Hens, brushed with olive oil, smothered with lemon pepper, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I cooked on low for 7 hours, and they were falling off the bone tender, and nice and juicy too. The Skin was a little crispy, I think because of the olive oil, but cooking on top of the aluminum foil balls is the trick!!!! I will be using this method again, thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      This chicken was so easy and had a great flavor. I seasoned it with garlic, pepper, coarse salt, paprika and tarragon. I used the onion, but not the lemon (didn't have any on hand). I also rubbed a bit of soy sauce on the skin to brown slightly. Even the breast meat was moist and tender. My husband's only complaint was the the skin wasn't crisp...I don't eat the skin, so that wasn't a issue for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Very tasty. Not ~quite~ what I was expecting (it didn't get very brown) but it was enjoyed by my family, and the taste and consistency was similar to rotisseried chicken. I will make this again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Absolutely delicious! The meat just fell off the bones...was very juicy. The idea of the aluminum balls is very interesting and worked well. The only seasonings I used was kosher salt,restaurant pepper, lemon pepper and then some paprika for coloring....delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      This chicken came out terrific! I love the idea of using foil balls to prop up the bird. Came out looking and tasting wonderful - super-easy also!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      Very simple and very tasty. I used tarragon, garlic salt and paprika for my flavourings, I also poured over a little soy sauce. The chicken I used took 10 hours to cook, but it may have been a larger chicken than the recipe calls for. It was a size 20 (the size I normally buy for my family of 3 for a meal and sandwiches) which probably doesnt mean a lot to my northern hemisphere zaar pals! Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I placed the chicken on a trivet in the crockpot. I put string around the bird and that made it east to remove. Excellent dish. I had a chicken dinner for two the first night and a shredded chicken sandwich for dinner the following night. I have sage growing in my yard so I stuffed the bird with handfulls of sage. Great flavour. Thanks CCLady

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This is the best method for cooking any roast chicken or even roast beef. I have now purchased small stainless steel cups (I think you sometimes see them at restaurants and they might serve ketchup or some condiment in it), and put them upside down and put the chicken on top. I'm keeping my eye out for an ovalI've made this with the seasonings in the recipe which is excellent, as well as my own seasonings. I also tend to season it ahead of time and throw it in the freezer, then it's ready to go any day of the week. I put in it the slow cooker frozen and turn it on low and it's perfectly cooked by the time we get home 8-10hrs later. I find if it isn't frozen, it cooks too quickly and even though it's not cooking in it's juices, it still falls apart very easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      YUMMY! I used a 3 1/2 lb chicken and the pasta seasoning blend from Trader Joe's. I only had half a day to cook it so I set my crock pot to the 4 hr setting and the chicken came out nice and juicy. A quick tip - if you remove the skin from the chicken (being careful not to tear it), leaving the skin only attached at the breast bone; then drape the rest of the skin over the chicken, it will stay moist and retain more flavor. Thanks for the recipe...and no salt to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      very good. i used a premixed herb shake to cover chicken. i added lemon juice to the bottom. didnt have onions... still turned out great. so moist!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      I do this exact same thing. The only difference is that I put the chicken under the broiler to crisp the skin just before serving. Also, I do add a bit of garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      I regularly make this now that chicken breast is so expensive as I can really stretch a whole chicken! I've shared this recipe with colleagues at work and we all agree its the best way to cook chicken to have it ready after a hard day at school! Thank you CCLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fake Rotisserie Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.0
     
    Calories from Fat 280
    63%
    Total Fat 31.1 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 155.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 144.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 38.5 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes