30 Reviews

Wonderful. Perfectly wonderful. I have made whole chickens in my crockpot before, and they taste great, but this is so much better. I think it is because the bird doesn't "stew" in its own juices since it is raised up by the foil. Before, the meat would fall off the bone, and the bones would actually break apart making taking it out of the pot a bit of a challange. But with this recipe, it held together, and I was able to CUT the meat! It was like thanksgiving! I placed the onion in the cavity, and also put some slices under the skin, and for spices I used rosemary, tarragon, paprika and garlic salt. It was perfect!!! Thanks so much for sharing! BTW, my mom was visiting last night when we had this, she had never thought of cooking chicken this way. She was talking this morning about how she could cook 2 birds in her huge crockpot this way and freeze one of them. You made her a believer too!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ September 02, 2003

This is truly wonderful. I used sage, rosemary, garlic powder and even a little lemon pepper and it really did taste like rotisserie chicken. I also used a little soy sauce like you recommended and it was so tasty. One of the best things about this dish is all the delicious broth left over that you can use for soups. My husband came home from work and when he came in the house his first word was "yum" due to the wonderful smell coming from the crockpot. Thanks for posting CCLady!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland November 17, 2003

This made a delicious and easy chicken dinner. I don't think it truly compares to a rotisserie chicken in texture but it did hold its shape well enough to be sliced at the table. I used only onion because I am cooking for fussy teenage boys who are suspicious of anything "green" but it was still very tasty. No leftovers!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamatrish smith October 29, 2003

This was unbelievable!!! I couldn't believe how much it tasted like the rotisserie chicken I buy at a little local market my town!!! I didn't use an onion, (not very fond of onions lately) and I used paprika to help with the coloring. Nice tip with the soy sauce. I do that often myself. I don't use my crockpot often but will now with this recipe! THANKS!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Verelucky October 26, 2003

I have never made a chicken in the pot before. Mine turned out great. I think I out a little to much spices on though..lol..It was nice and juicy and the meat fell right off the bones.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy Blodgett October 22, 2003

Love this and so much cheaper than buying one! McCormick's has a Rotisserie Chicken Seasoning that I used on and in my chicken--really good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 April 18, 2010

This is very easy to prepare and the tasted exactly what you would want from a rotisserie chicken. You definately need some soy sauce or bbbq sauce, because the skin does not brown. I added 1/2 a lemon and a large shallot to the cavity. I sprinkled it sparingly with lemon pepper and soy sauce....but next time, I would use a heaver hand with the seasonings (something with brown sugar, paprika, chili powder, etc. in it) I had to add more tin foil balls as I have a large crockpot and the chicken would fall down in between the balls. I also tied the legs together with some cord. Next time, I am sure that 2 birds could fit in the pot, so I will try that (knowing that it would change my cooking time). The only downfall of this recipe, is that I can't use the bones to make soup stock ... I am thinking everything was leached out during the cooking process. I was suprised, considering how the meat literally fell off the bone, that the meat was moist and delicious. I am really going to enjoy my chicken sandwich for lunch today!!! Excellent posting, CCLady!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl October 31, 2008

I wrap several smallish Red Bliss potatoes in foil and put them in the bottom of the pot in place of the plain aluminum balls; the chicken and potatoes are then perfectly done at the same time. Also, it's important to put the chicken in BREAST SIDE DOWN so the breast is self-basted. I find it comes out better cooked on High for 4 hours - the skin crisps up more, and the whole thing seems to be tastier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon June 26, 2008

I am giving 5 stars for the cooking method alone. I made something totally different, but used this method in my crock pot. I used 2 Cornish Game Hens, brushed with olive oil, smothered with lemon pepper, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I cooked on low for 7 hours, and they were falling off the bone tender, and nice and juicy too. The Skin was a little crispy, I think because of the olive oil, but cooking on top of the aluminum foil balls is the trick!!!! I will be using this method again, thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol January 28, 2004

This chicken was so easy and had a great flavor. I seasoned it with garlic, pepper, coarse salt, paprika and tarragon. I used the onion, but not the lemon (didn't have any on hand). I also rubbed a bit of soy sauce on the skin to brown slightly. Even the breast meat was moist and tender. My husband's only complaint was the the skin wasn't crisp...I don't eat the skin, so that wasn't a issue for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. January 25, 2004
Fake Rotisserie Chicken