167 Reviews

We really enjoyed the chicken fajitas I made for supper using your wonderful Fajita Seasoning Mix. It's so quick to mix and tastes a million times better than commercial seasonings! Believe I've bought my last packaged! Thanks a bunch for posting. Laudee C.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee September 12, 2002

This recipe is out friggin' standing!
I was using Taco Bell brand packaged fajita mix prior to finding this recipe. I never thought anything could be as good as the T.B. packages. When the packages became hard to come by, I thought I'd experiment with some homemade mixes.
When I saw that this recipe had over 110 positive reviews, I thought I'd give it a shot.
Aaaah maaazing...
It's actually BETTER than the. seasoning that I've been using for years. Made the recipe exactly as described, and used about one Tablespoon per pound of cooked chicken meat. I'll probably experiment with adding a bit more 'heat' ala cayenne and crushed red pepper, (because I have a preference for hot food) but this recipe is fantastic right out of the box.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDLeo March 26, 2011

Not bad but too much salt if you ask me. I cut the salt in half, omitted the bullion, doubled the cumin, and quadrupled the garlic powder. Ended up with just as much flavor with less sodium.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djrichert August 13, 2011

I love to make my own mixes and this one is a winner!!! Way less expensive when you figure out the cost of making vs. buying. Great flavor!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie February 25, 2003

I saw the comments about this not tasting like Lawry's... I think I found the "trick", add lime juice and worchestershire sauce to meat. My husband is also a die hard Lawry's fan!!! I've tried other fajita recipes in the past and he disliked every one... until now. He said these were the best ever! The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is I felt the recipe did need the extra "kick" of lime & worchestershire.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickiNicki February 05, 2007

Delicious! Enough for 2-3 batches. Put some lime juice on the chicken, cooked it, stirred in this mix, added some stock & veggies. Really good. Subbed red pepper flakes for cayanne. Even our toddler ate it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely January 04, 2014

Made fajitas with leftover turkey, red peppers, and onions with this - had to use the whole batch and added a little water to the mix while frying. I was a little nervous using this recipe with the turkey (I also added a little lime juice that was left over in a bottle) but we loved it! My 2 year old daughter ate 3 fajitas herself!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom March 29, 2011

Loved the fajitas . Perfect flavor. Only thing I added extra was liquid smoke one half tablespoon really topped it off for a little smokey flavor

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
painterboy75 November 08, 2015

We LOVE this mix! We will put it on chicken for the grill and then sprinkle it on potato wedges for the oven. Tasty! We make it in bulk so that we always have it on hand. This year for Christmas I plan to make pint jars of it with a cute bow as. gifts for all the gals in my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie L. September 06, 2015

This is a great mix. I used it to make chicken fajitas but it would be just as good with steak. It has a nice rich taste to it but needs a bit more cayenne pepper Next time I will double that ingredient. also, I added two tbsp of the mix to a cup of water in the same pan as the cooked meat and veggies, yum yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janetfowler56_13114429 December 27, 2013
Fajita Seasoning Mix