12 Reviews

This is a great salad! Unfortunately I didnt have the chipotle, but I am sure that would have made it even more amazing. The dressing has great complex flavor, very good. I think it would be good with some chopped up avacado, maybe 1/2 can of corn. A big winner in our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blisstir March 05, 2004

Mexican steak salad with a great dressing! Just wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare February 21, 2014

Wow was this ever a wonderful salad...the dressing makes it, I doubled it and I am so glad I did. The only thing I changed is I used 1 tsp. diced up poblano pepper instead of chipotle and it still was out of this world....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc April 06, 2011

Whoops..... forgot to do my stars on the last review! I also wanted to say that I used busches black bean fiesta instead of regular black beans! I did drain most of the sauce that came with it though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
House Mommy February 03, 2011

Wow -- this is an OUTSTANDING salad! Absolutely beautiful and bursting with flavor. I used Beef or Chicken Fajita Marinade for the chicken and just grilled it in a pan. I also shredded a small block of pepper jack cheese instead of the cheddar. I added one avocado. I was a little nervous about the dressing because it's not something I'm used to but it really made this recipe a star. This is a salad I would proudly serve to company -- going straight into my Zaar Stars, thank you so much for sharing, Bev! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ October 04, 2009

This was a great recipe and a perfect summer salad. I didn't use the chipotle chile in adobo, like other reviewers, but used chili powder instead. I also added a considerable amount of garlic to the dressing. I also didn't layer the salad and I used all the dressing to marinade the steak by accident, so I used an italian dressing instead. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aletheawestover September 08, 2009

This was quite good. I was a little weary about the dressing at first but it turned out to be great! I added avocado and corn to the salad. I will certainly make this salad again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dmar 311 April 01, 2008

This was delicious. I did not have any chipoltle chiles so I added some chopped jalepenos. Even the small leftovers did not last the day. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffanee February 07, 2008

This was a GREAT recipe. I used Morningstar Farms Chicken Strips, and didn't have chipotle chile so I used a chile mix I had from Penzey's, the Black and Red. It was EASY and fast, and my family loved it. We did add a teensy bit of garlic to the dressing, because we love garlic in everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorena1 September 12, 2007

What a great salad this is! I made it according to the recipe except I used chicken breast instead of steak and parsley instead of cilantro (personal preference). The dressing has such a great tangy flavor and all of the ingredients work so well together. Next time I think I will use more chipotle chilies in adobo (maybe 2 tsp.) because I love that taste. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 03, 2007
Fajita Salad