Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fairy Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fairy Bread

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2003

      My very favorite party food, I still make it and I'm 24. To be the most truly delcious fairy bread it *has* to be made with real butter and very fresh white bread. It looks pretty, kids love it, I love it - you should try it. Good one Martha, I had no idea that this wasn't a party staple world wide. If you want these a bit fancier cut the bread out with cookie cutters after you butter it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      This is a darling recipe! My young daughter had great fun preparing this. It is very pretty and is an easy kid pleaser. I used butter and would also try cream cheese for variety. I like that this provides a kid that candy shop eye appeal, but without all the sugar of a cupcake or a donut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Butter is made with cream..so
      I'm thinking
      - Whipped cream and brioche instead of butter and bread with a dusting of icing sugar. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Not Detailed enough, add more steps

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      this was on the movie Hey Hey It's Esther Blueburger

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      So simple, but such a big hit! I have THE pickiest eater on the planet and he didn't even waiver for one second when I asked if he wanted to try this.... not even when he realized it had butter which he always insists I NOT put on his bread. He loved it! Thanks for the simple treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Being from the states, we had never heard of this before. But, while living in Shanghai, my youngest son had the pleasure of having a teacher from Australia. He introduced fairy bread to all of the kids at the American International school. What a treat. My kids love it! How something so simple can put such big smiles on their little faces!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      fab also use white icing for extra fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      My little girl loved this! Being the greatest Mommy in the world doesn't get any easier than this! Thanks, SilentCricket for making me look so brilliant to my little one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      We spent two years living in Sydney when my daughters were young. The Fairy Bread that was always served at birthday parties is one of our fondest memories. My daughter is now 15 and still talks about it. It really is a perfect food for special occasions - it is so festive looking and delicious as well! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      My granddaughter had fun making this for my son's Taste of Australia party. I made Billy tea to go with this and the tim tam cookies I found at World Market. I think the sdults enjoyed the fairy bread as much as the children did. Thanks SilentCricket. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      I shared a slice with Morgan this afternoon. We could hardly hear ourselves laugh with all the crunching going on inside our heads as we ate this. We thought it must sound like a million squirrels cracking open their stash of nuts they gathered. I took the butter knife and lightly pressed the sprinkles into the buttered bread. I did not feel like having *hundreds and thousands* of little ping pong balls bouncing all over the table and floor. I made this for * Zaar Cookbooks Tag* game 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Fantastic! It looks so pretty and it's delicious to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      My DD was delighted with this colorful treat. She was especially pleased to show it off to her friends and that they could make it themselves. We loved it with plain butter but also used some honey butter as a variation. Lovely!! You are missed Silent Cricket and your recipes are living on among the next generation of cooks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Fantastic! An all time kids party favourite (and big kids favourite too ;)). Both my girls love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Made these for my 6 year old's birthday party. I'd post a pic but they look like Chef floWer's ;-) I cut them into shapes and they looked very pretty on a platter with other smal sandwiches cut into shapes. I was surprised to find that my mom was the biggest fan of these. I think I'll try colored sugar next time too. Great for a tea party or even just a snack. Thanks for posting these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      My mother used to make a version of this when I was a child many years ago. Only instead of sprinkles, she used regular sugar and sometimes added a little cinnamon.... this brought back so many memories. She called it "Sugar Bread"...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I have been making these for years but made it today for a special occasion, my daughter's (Little Miss) 4th birthday party. They are so popular with the kids I didn't get a chance to take a photo. I used a heart shape cookie cutter to make pretty heart shapes. Thank you SilentCriket for posting a good recipe with great memories. Update: Little Miss asked for more Fairy Bread for Supper so I made them and got a chance to take a photo. Thank you again for your post

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      We served this as part of my Daughter's 10th birthday party formal tea party.They were a perfect addition to our fun menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      What a great idea! The kids loved this! It brought sunshine to their day! It is wonderful to see them get so excited over such a fun treat! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fairy Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (20 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    11%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 127.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites