17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mean posted this for Troy's Birthday Dinner, and it really is a great pudding. This was my first time making it and I believe I didn't quite get the batter right (milk too cold when I intially mixed it and too cold in the kitchen to get proper bubbles?). Well, the outside of the puddings were light, crispy and yummy, but the inner parts were too thick. Still deserves 5 stars because the rosemary and cayenne *make* the recipe. Don't settle for plain puddings again! Will make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore November 11, 2003

I have yet to meet a Mean Chef recipe that has disappointed me, and this is no exception...WOW these are so good! I made changes to the recipe to adapt it to heath needs of my family, and they still turned out fabulously...substituted spelt flour for all purpose, and grapeseed oil instead of beef drippings, but with the rosemary and cayenne to take it to the next level I don't think we missed much. I ate four...that says it all!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo March 06, 2008

Fabulous. Our Christmas dinner is traditionally English with a standing rib roast and Yorkshire Pudding. In the past, I had used a recipe that cooked 1 large pudding in a 9 x 13 pan; but never again! These puddings were actually easier and far tastier. I scaled the recipe up to make 12 puddings and made the batter in my blender at a medium speed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews January 17, 2006

Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and had 8 beautifully puffed up, golden puddings....so tasty. They went very well with our prime rib roast for Christmas. Thanks Mean Chef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude December 25, 2003

They kind of remind me of doughnuts. Loved it & so does my parrot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sica August 05, 2013

We love Yorkshire pudding, and this is a great recipe! I used this to make Toad-In-The-Hole, since the children had friends around and they have been hankering for this British dish which is not so commonly made here in Africa! Puffed up beautifully and tasted wonderful. Jan 9 - updated to add that I made these again to serve on my Christmas lunch table, this time I followed the more traditional presentation of individual yorkies. Delicious! Thanks for a good variation on an old favourite!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth January 08, 2009

Fantastic recipe! We have yorkshire puds a lot and I love them anyway, but the addition of rosemary and cayenne really gives these something else! A definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob November 30, 2008

This was a scrumptious side to dinner tonight, even though I had to thoroughly modify it to accomodate our needs during Passover. I replaced the flour with just more than 1/2 cup matzo cake meal and mixed in 2 Tbsp potato starch. Instead of milk, I used 2/3 c chicken stock. I didn't have drippings, either, so used margarine. But I will say the herbs were delicious. I am going to try these again with regular flour after Passover is over, because this is a winning recipe that deserves full spotlight on its ingredients. Still, even as modified, it was a delicious side pudding to veal cutlets for our dinner. Thanks for adopting Mean's recipe, Kiwi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too April 25, 2008

Yorkshire Pudding is made in a pan, whereas these are Popovers, at least in the US. Equally yummy, as both are same basic recipe, and soo good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 September 26, 2007

Kiwidutch, these were the best puddings I have tried yet and so quick and easy to make. Tall, puffy, light and crispy. They were a beautiful golden colour and tasted amazing. I loved the addition of cayenne and fresh rosemary. I will definitely make these again. My dh was so impressed that I made them...thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 30, 2007
Fabulously Easy Yorkshire Pudding