Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Penne a La Vodka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Penne a La Vodka

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2011

      Absolutely perfect!!!!!!!! This is hands down the number 1 Alla Vodka recipe there is! We have a restaurant on Long Island in NY called Cirella's and it is the only place that can compare. There is no restaurant that can touch Cirella's so the fact that this recipe is on the same level is really saying something!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TOP NOTCH AN ABSOLUTE MUST HAVE RECIPE!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      All I can add is WOW. This is my first taste of penne vodka and now I can't even imagine ordering it in a restaurant. I picked the recipe but asked my husband to cook it one night after work, thinking it was a quick dinner. It took him a long time and we had a good joke over that.......the first night we ate this, we both went on and one about how good it was. For leftovers, we put this in a dish and topped with parmesan cheese. He then baked it and it was just as fabulous as it was the first night. For two people, this could be three dinners! I can't wait to make this for company. Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This recipe is FABULOUS. I made it both w/ fresh basil and dried and of course, fresh is best, but dried was good too. Only change I made is using tomato sauce instead of crushed, only because I would then have to deseed it because a family member can't have seeds. I made 1 1/2 times the red sauce and added all of the white sauce and it was just delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2014

      Really good! The only change I made was to add a sprinkle of sugar to the final sauce to cut the acidity of the tomato flavor. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      YUMMY TO THE TUMMY!!!! Short disclaimer; I realize I am supposed to review the recipe based upon making it the way it is listed....but I couldn't quite do it. We did LOVE LOVE LOVE this though!! To begin with, I sauteed a pound of ground beef first, to add to the mix which was to simmer for an hour. Then, based on other reviews, I only added 2 cups of cream (which, due to pantry limitations, consisted of a combination of 1% milk, half and half, and creme fraiche). I used fresh basil as recommended by one reviewer. Also, we don't care for mushrooms, so left them out. In place of that I sauteed a tablespoon of fresh garlic and some thinly sliced and diced ham (next time will use pancetta), then added the vodka to that mix. Followed all other instructions to a T for many mouthfuls of total yumminess and happiness :) It really does taste as if it were made in a good Italian restaurant, quality was amazing! Now I fully understand why the vodka penne I so adore from certain restaurants is so, so unhealthy for you!! I never knew to coat the noodles with butter and parmesan...mmmmmm definitely decadent, and probably just one of the reasons mine has never (until now) tasted like its from a restaurant. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Is 3 cups of heavy cream a typo? <br/>Oh boy I really wanted to like this recipe but with 3 cups of heavy cream it was a soupy like mess. I had to add a cup of Parmesan cheese to thicken it. Where did I go wrong? Sorry, I wish things were different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      Delicious. I use chopped tomatoes as I prefer the sauce to be chunkier. Also use 11/2-2 cups of 35% cream as we don't get "heavy" cream in Canada

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      This recipe was definitely one of the best Penne alla Vodka recipes I've come across, however, I feel there were a few things that could be added, and subtracted to make it even better. This recipe does not call for Garlic, which to me is just an atrocity. Garlic makes everything better. Throw in 3-4 (or more, if you're a garlic freak like I am) cloves, chopped up, into the sauce after you put in the crushed tomatoes. Also the amount of heavy cream seemed a bit excessive for me, so I cut it down to 16oz, instead of the 24oz it calls for. Other than that, it is fantastic, and will continue knocking peoples' socks off when I cook it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      I never had Penne a La Vodka so I have nothing to compare it with. This was ok but kinda blah. I thought it would be better with all the fantastic reviews. I guess I'm just not into this kind of dish maybe if some meat was added to it. Sorry for the low review but glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      AMAZING!!! I'm a huge fan of penne with vodka sauce.. but only if it's done right! I love to cook and have never tried to make it myself until I found this recipe. The reviews are what made me choose this recipe out of all of the recipes online.. so I had to add my own because this recipe is truly FABULOUS as it's titled! I made this using fresh basil.. which i highly recommend. I only made a few minor changes. I used baby bella mushrooms instead of white, because I already had them at home and someone else reviewed that they did the same with good results. I only used 2 cups of heavy cream. As other reviews said.. 3 probably would've been too much so I added it slowly and found 2 to be the perfect amount for me. I didn't have any red pepper flakes so I had to leave them out. I was a bit worried about it because I was afraid it would affect the taste which was definitely not the case because it still came out amazing. Anyway thanks mosma for sharing this truly delicious recipe.. and thanks to all of the reviewers for their comments and suggestions because they were so helpful. This is actually my first time reviewing a recipe ever.. but loved it so much I had to sign up for an account and share my opinion and thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      I absolutely love this, and whenever I ask my son what he wants for dinner, it's ALWAYS this! I never used to like creamy, tomato sauces but this has just enough kick to cut through the creaminess - works just as well with sour cream, when I don't have heavy cream, with a touch of sugar. I don't use the mushrooms as they don't seem necessary and I flambee the vodka off once I've cooked the onions, garlic & chilli together. Don't think it really needs the hour long simmer, we can't usually wait that long and it still tastes awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      This was wonderful! A big hit with my guests! I will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I already had a sauce made so I did not follow the instructions for that. I did however follow all the rest of the instructions. I only used 1 1/2 cups of heavy cream. This was the most fantastic vodka sauce. Thank you so much for posting it. My kids loved it as well! This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I followed the recipe to a T, withoug reading the reviews - wish I had because 3 cups of cream was too much - tasty but the colour was too light and lost some flavour. I would say add the cream slowly to the sauce, and once you get to the colour your are looking for stop - 1 1/2 - 2 cups ish. The mushrooms add a nice earthy and meaty flavor to the dish, I would not omit them from the recipe - I used bella mushrooms (brown), might add more mushrooms next time. For cooking the pasta, I used the #30358 recipe - if you have never used it for cooking pasta, please do .. it works like a charm. Also, I agree with Galley Wench - do not skip coating the pasta with butter and cheese before pouring the sauce, it acts like a thickening agent. Overall, a great recipe. Thank ou Mosma!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      So yummy! I totally licked the plate. I didn't have 3 cups of cream on hand, only one and a half cups but it was still scrumptious. Thank you! I am definitely planning on making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I too found that this recipe calls for 1 cup too many of cream. 2 cups of cream made the sauce the appropriate color and creamyness. In the segment where the butter is heated to coat the pasta, I had also added some prosciutto in there to add some extra flavor with the noodles and cheese. This recipe is very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I made this with some roasted tomatoes and linguine, and it was amazing. I'm not a great cook, but it was super easy. Thanks so much for this recipe-- I'll definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This is my new favorite a la vodka sauce, and I can't wait for leftovers tomorrow. I made this as written, other than reducing the cream from 3 cups to 2. Thanks for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Tell me please, what is not to love about this recipe? It's healthy with whole wheat penne and FF half and half, which worked beautifully, and the flavor as described by my family is "totally awesome", so this is a winner for us, and we will surely have it again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Penne a La Vodka

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1127.7
     
    Calories from Fat 616
    54%
    Total Fat 68.4 g
    105%
    Saturated Fat 39.6 g
    198%
    Cholesterol 303.1 mg
    101%
    Sodium 1996.9 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.1 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites