19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have really been into pound cakes lately and this one sure is fantastic! This is the first time I have used my food processor for making a cake and it worked great. Thanks so much for sharing this excellent recipe that I will use again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie April 28, 2006

Coming from someone who makes cakes on a regular basis, I have to say that this cake is fantastic! I increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon, and baked these in two fancy-formed mini loaf pans, 350 degrees second-lowest rack in a convection air-bake oven for close to 30 minutes, I was pleased with the finished results, they baked out high and moist, this is a great cake recipe, thanks ncmystershopper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen April 11, 2006

Yee gods this is one great pound cake. I've tried it along with one of the highest rated regular pound cakes here and this one is still my favorite! Thank you so much for posting it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
random witty name February 15, 2010

Very good alternative to plain pound cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 29, 2014

I followed the recipe and it turned out GREAT!!! thanks for posting the recipe..........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabrina atttique August 07, 2012

Good but wonder if the baking directions can be simplified a bit by just baking it at one temp. Thanks for sharing this interesting recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 04, 2012

I'm not going to give stars for this because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used oil instead of the butter- the cake was good but nothing outstanding. I probably will not make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannahbirdie February 15, 2011

My 13 y/o made this by herself with no assistance. It did fall a little in the center but that very well could be because of the inexperienced baker :-) . She did use a mixer instead of a food processor, the cake went together pretty easily for her and the taste is just right. I'm going to make it myself and see if I can get it to look as great as it tastes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alabama1974 June 10, 2010

I've never tried making marble cake, and thought that I would have to test several recipes before finding what I wanted, but I don't think I need to look any further! This was a very dense and moist cake, just as I expected. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nabiha* April 25, 2010

I didn't have as resounding success with this recipe as the other chefs did. The top of my loaf caved in, some of the cake stuck to the sides of the pan, the marbeling did not work and I thought it was not sweet enough. I was supposed to bring this in to work but I think I will freeze this and use it another time as the cake for a trifle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon February 07, 2010
Fabulous Marble Pound Cake