Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous French Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2010

      my family won't let me make another type of bread because thet love this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      AWESOME & EASY!!! A hit with everyone - tried it for a party. Now it's the most requested bread at the house. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      great french bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      By far the best homemade bread I have ever tasted. EVER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I love the ease of this recipe and the taste! Sometimes I make it as is, other times I add crushed Rosemary, Parmesan, Basil ect (whatever the family requests for that night). This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This recipe was so easy and so delicious. It was great that there wasn't much kneading too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This made perfect french bread even though i cut the recipe in half twice. The texture was perfect. the flavor might have not been 100% french bread, but it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      made two HUGE loaves and one that was 1/2 sized. It was so tasty. I had to stop at one slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This was SOOO easy using my Kitchenaid mixer! There is one problem with this recipe. My family wants me to make this EVERY day! But since this bread was so delicious, I guess I can! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Wow! This made 2 HUGE loaves! And it was sooo simple! I confess I didn't roll the dough out and all that, I just formed it into a log shape and rolled it "worm making style" like a kid with Play Doh. So easy! I couldn't resist cutting into it to sample fresh out of the oven, and now I wish I hadn't as I can't stop eating it :) Thanks for a great recipe, I'll be using it often. Oh and I didn't use the egg to brush it with, and it was plenty "crunchy" on the outside, and nice and soft inside. Glad I didn't use the egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This was GREAT!!! I am not a fan of 'crusty, crunchy' crust, so I didn't use the egg wash. I instead chose to brush with melted butter. YUM! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Oh my goodness. I love this french bread. So easy to do and tastes so great. 10 stars here IMHO. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Finally!!! A french bread recipe that was tasty and yet very easy to prepare. I have tried many times to produce an edible loaf and with this recipe I finally succeeded. Since I was just so happy that my loaves were actually edible (and delicious!) I didn't mind too much that they were not perfectly shaped. My loaves seemed to kind of spread on the baking sheet while they were rising. I think next time I will spritz the loaves with some water while they are baking so they will develop more of a crispy crust, but otherwise... just fabulous!!! Thanks so much for great recipe for us novice bread bakers!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      I really like this recipe! Instead of making one big loaf, I cut the dough and made it into small individual pieces. I enjoyed making this maybe because I love baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      No rating, just comments here. I am not sure what happened to the bread when I made it. It was very dense and chewy, which I liked, but it was not like regular French bread. I am pretty sure I did not mix it correctly or let it rise enough between mixes. I will definitely make this again, and worse case scenario is I have a good chewy bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      This recipe is great and simple. My family loved it! I used my Kitchen Aide for all of it, which is great because I have fibromyalgia and can't kneed the old fashioned way any more. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Holy cow - great bread! I took it out of the oven about 20 minutes ago - the house smells wonderful. I did all the mixing by hand (easy to do) and the only addition I made was to sprinkle one of the loaves with poppy seeds. A really great recipe - thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This was a very easy, tasty bread. I did use my KA mixer to all the mixing. I thought the dough was too sticky, but I trusted your directions and only kneaded a little flour into it to coat. It transformed into a smooth elastic beautiful dough in seconds! So easy to work with. Thanks so much for sharing, I will make this often. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Turned out great! The only change I made was to add a tablespoon of honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      Great Recipe, simple and easy to make. I divided the dough into four loaves and let them rise and they made really nice baguettes, then I sliced them up and put Tomato Bruschetta on the slices. You can also sprinkle minced rosemary all over the dough when it is rolled flat, then when you roll it up, it has the rosemary inside the bread. Marvelous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1608.7
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    11%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 3546.3 mg
    147%
    Total Carbohydrate 303.8 g
    101%
    Dietary Fiber 13.3 g
    53%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 46.7 g
    93%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites