Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Fig Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Fig Muffins

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2013

      tastes ok. A little dry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      WOW, these are fantastic! I cut the recipe back for 12 and totally regret it--we have no leftovers! I used mostly oat flour with some white wheat, and the texture was to die for. I called them Fig Newton muffins and that made DS and DH go to town on them! I used white wheat and oatmeal flours and slightly less sugar than called for (and white as I was out of brown). I will make these again for sure, and will probably use the muffin base for all sorts of fruit muffins. Thanks for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

    • on December 20, 2007

      These muffins really are fabulous--my DH and I loved them! They're tender on the inside, slightly crunchy on top, and smell and taste wonderful--either fresh out of the oven, or after a couple of days in the fridge. I reduced the recipe to make a dozen muffins (the baking soda and salt amounts stayed the same as for 18 muffins--so I used a scant 1/4 teaspoon for both of them; and I used one large egg instead of 1 1/3). I also replaced all but two tablespoons of the melted butter with light olive oil, and that worked out fine. Next time, if I'm out of dried figs, I may try some other dried fruit--this is such a good basic recipe that I'm guessing a lot of other dried fruits could be used as well. Thanks for such a great (and versatile!) recipe Roosie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      These were really great, despite my major errors. I cut the recipe into half (mistake#1), ran out of eggs (mistake#2), had to use egg substitute that couldnt be beaten out properly (mistake#3), used milk instead of buttermilk, and increased the dried figs to 1/2 cup :) I also used 2/3 cup whole wheat flour and topped up 1 1/2 cups in total with self-raising flour. Kept the amount of baking powder the same, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      These are great! I received some dried figs and had no idea what to do with them. This was the solution. I have made three batches so far and they have been eaten up very quickly! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      I had some figs I wanted to use up and I love muffins and came across this recipe. I had 1 cup chopped up figs and it worked out fine, I only used 1/2 cup brown sugar and made 6 jumbo muffins, baked for 25 minutes. Very good muffins, thanks for posting Roosie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      Very nice flavor, accented by the crunch of the dried figs. I made these with dark brown sugar, since dark or light was not specified. Cut recipe in half, and got 9 beautiful muffins which were perfectly baked in 15 minutes. Thanks for posting, Roosie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Fig Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1051 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.1
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    31%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 34.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 180.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites