Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous & Easy Potato Casserole Side Dish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous & Easy Potato Casserole Side Dish

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2009

      I made this a few months back, got the seal of approval from the entire family plus extended family! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I needed a side dish to bring for an office potluck. These potatoes brought rave reviews! They are super delicious. I will make them many times in the future. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      I really enjoyed this. It was incredibly cheesy and creamy, so I will probably only make it in the future for special occasions or when I need a rich food fix. Thanks for the yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      This got rave reviews at my work potluck. I mixed everything together the night before and stuck it in the fridge. Just popped it in the oven the next day. I added some extra cheese on the top at the end, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      This was very very tasty plantfreek. We really enjoyed this very cheesey and creamy potato dish. It was easy to make and quick to throw together. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      One word: DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      This was so delicious. I made this for a work luncheon because it seemed easy and tasty.I followed the recipe exactly except I added some plain bread crumbs with salt/pepper and cheddar cheese on top. It would have been wonderful without that addition, but I like a little crunch and texture. I will make this recipe over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      This was excellent, but I used what I had. 2 boxes of dried hash browns (the kind that come in what looks like a 1 pint milk carton - 3 cups of potatoes/box), 1 can evaporated milk, 1/4 cup melted butter, 8 oz sliced medium cheddar, torn in little pieces, dried onion flakes, pepper. 11x7 glass pan, 350 degrees, covered with foil, 1 hour but stirred at 45 minutes to distribute the melted cheese chunks. Then 20 minutes uncovered, until brown on top. Everybody loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This is a great casserole side dish. So rich and yummy! I think I will even serve this over the holidays for family breakfasts instead of the usual fried hash browns. I may even use the cream in my mashed potatoes, it really adds flavor to the potatoes any way you cook them. So delicious, cheesy and creamy. This one is definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      I added a teaspoon of ground mustard in with the cream, and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. Brings out the sharpness of good cheddar so nicely! Thanks for the share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      The BEST potato casserole ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      not sure this is real cooking, I mean you are taking already prepared food - hash browns and adding stuff to them. I never like recipes like that as what if you are from a different country- you are unlikely to be able to find hashbrowns anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This truly is a delicious dish. I just wish I didn't feel so guilty eating it! I used two packages of Simply Potatoes Hashbrowns (dairy section) and sharp cheddar cheese. Because one reviewer said it was a little bland, I added 1/2 tsp of Better Than Bouillon melted in a little of the cream heated. I followed the recipe in every other way. Even my picky-eater 92 year old father loved these potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      I like this recipe it is very simple, however it's just a little to bland even though it's got rich ingredients. I did use frozen hash browns and they worked out perfectly and used a medium cheddar. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Easy and delicious! I prepared the potatoes the night before using the hashbrowns from the refrigerated section, but I accidentally bought the seasoned, shredded potatoes -- and they worked out great. I omitted the pepper, since there was seasoning already on the potatoes, and I did follow the suggestion of using 1 cup cream and 1 cup half-and-half. I took them out of the refrigerator about 20 minutes before I put them in the oven, and I added some extra grated cheese on top during the last 25 minutes of browning, and they were the hit of the party. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Rich and cheesey. I cut some fat by using 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup fat free half and half. This is a nice indulgence for potato lovers. Thanx for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      This was a great dish! I added cooked and chopped bacon to it the second time and what do you know it even tasted better. :-) what a surprise!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Really good and simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Simple, delicious, and a true pleaser!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      I'm not going to rate this recipe yet because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't have fresh or the pre-packaged hashbrowns, so I used frozed shredded hash browns that I thawed in the fridge. When it came time for Step 6, I noticed that the potatoes were really dry on top. I stirred it around a little and found all the cream had settled to the bottom of the dish. I tried to mix it up, but the potatoes started to get mushy. I also ended up adding more cheese just to make it more moist. It tasted really good, but not too appetizing to look at. I want to try this recipe again using either fresh shredded potatoes or the ones from the dairy section as suggested. I think it'll make a BIG difference. I'll rate it then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous & Easy Potato Casserole Side Dish

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 700.9
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    63%
    Total Fat 49.2 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 111.3 mg
    37%
    Sodium 976.9 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites