Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Chili Con Carne With Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2012

      I was afraid that this would get criticism from DH and DS for all the beans - 29oz is A LOT of beans, but they didnt' even mention it. They loved it, and I thought it was good - loved the slightly sweet taste (maybe from the salsa?). I did make several modifications because I didn't have all the same ingredients: I used 1 can kidney and 1 can black beans because I didn't have a 29 oz or 2 cans kidney, I used 1 can (28.5 oz) of whole tomatoes instead of the stewed and sauce, and I added 1 tsp cumin because I cannot imagine chili w/o cumin. For cooking, I did not strain the fat off the hambuger/onion mixture because I didn't use any added fat. I did appreciate that this is a low fat recipe. Update Jan2012 - I have been using Morningstar Farms crumblers as the beef in this recipe (add it after sauteing the veggies), and it brings down the cal/fat even more, but tastes just as good! For a 1c serving it's only 178 calories and 3.7g of fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      This is a great chili recipe. My son, who doesn't like spicy foods, didn't think it was too spicy. I used medium salsa instead of hot or mild. I also substituted the salt for 1 can V8 juice, and added a drained can of corn (which lends a nice touch of color). I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I added some cooked wheat berries to it for added nutritional value and put everything into the crock pot on high for about 3.5 hours. Very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I love this recipe. I have actually made it quite a few times this winter. It is my new chili recipe. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Awesome Chili and very easy to make. Everyone love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

    • on October 31, 2006

      Making two batches for party tonight on Halloween, It has been cooking for almost 2 hours and it is awesome chili!! Don't miss this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      We really enjoyed this chili. I used 1/2 the amount of kidney beans. The salsa is a new ingredient for me in chili, I found it to be a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      This was great chili!!I made one change .I had to swap out the chili powder for approx.1/2 tbl cumin because of allergies of one of the guest..Turned out perfect!! Everyone loved it..We will be using this recipe from now on.. Thanks Carol!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      I think this is now our favorite chili recipe The salsa gave it a wonderful flavor. Easy and usually have the ingregients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      I think this chili is absolutely wonderful! I'm going to make it more often. I used medium salsa, added fresh garlic, and some tabasco. Simply delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      Great chili, I added 1/4c. of chopped raisin to add tickness and it give it added flavor. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      Very, very good - for me definitely 5-star recipe; even my picky husband gave 4-stars for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      I really liked this chili, its one of those recipes where a little bit of meat goes a long way. Wasn't sure on the tomato sauce addition as tomato sauce is ketchup here in NZ, so I added a small tin of tomato puree. Will be making this a lot, thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      It needs a little more kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      This was one of the best chilis I've had and very simple to make. It was just spicy enough for a group but I added Tabasco to pump up the heat a bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2001

      This is the best chili I have made and ate. No more canned chili for us! It was also very easy and fun to make, presents nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Chili Con Carne With Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.9
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    26%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1228.2 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 10.7 g
    43%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes