Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Carrot Cake! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Carrot Cake!

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2002

      Made this cake for World 'Zaar day and my hubbie's birthday. He loved the cake and icing. I think if I made it again I would add some vanilla extract to the cake. In the Deep South pecans are traditional for carrot cakes, but I tried the walnuts and they were good. I mixed them into the frosting too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2001

      I also used Butter and added 1/4 tsp of ground nutmeg and cloves.Nice moist cake and kept well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

      I tried the cake with carrtos first and it was very tasty. Then I swiched the carrots with apples and added some more chunky apples in the middle of the cake with 1 cup of walnuts. Worths trying...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2001

      I used butter instead of margarine; 6 carrots, 5 eggs, 3 spoons of vanilla and made some other (less dramatic) changes. The cake worked out great though! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2001

      The best and you can freeze it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      We really enjoyed this cake! I did use a different recipe for the icing though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Not a favorite...came out tasting more like a spice cake than carrot. =( still alright but gonna keep looking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Perfect !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Best carrot cake ever! My aunt's carrot cake was the standard in my family. Not anymore! This is the first time I've attempted carrot cake. I cut out 1/2 cup of sugar and added a half cup of crushed pineapple. I also added the optional walnuts. I don't know if it matters, but I didn't have enough oil, so I substituted 1/2 cup of oil for 1/2 cup of butter. I used a regular 10-inch round tin and baked it for 1 hr and 20 min. It's perfect. My family can't get enough of this cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I agree it was fabulous! Everyone loved how moist it was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This was my first attempt at Carrot Cake. It is my Mom's favorite, so I wanted to make it for Mother's Day! It was so awesome - she loved it. Super Moist and the icing was delicious. Thank you for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      The taste was fabulous.I halved the recipe and baked it in my new star shaped silicone baking pan.The texture and taste were very good,though a little too sweet..I added 1 tsp of green cardamom powder along with the cinnamon pwd.Only problem was the cake stuck to the bottom even though I greased the pan.The base(which became the top after I took it out of the pan)was sticky.Next time,I will reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup.Altogether the recipe with the addition of cardamom is excellent.A keeper. April 2,2009:Made it today for potluck, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups.It was great,lapped up instantly.it was not too sweet but went well with my friends.am going to use this again and agin.thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I didn't make the cake but used the frosting recipe. It was very good. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Wow! This has got to be the best carrot cake that I have ever tasted in my whole life. It is so moist and rich. It may take alot of arm work to grate all of those carrots, but it is worth it! I have made it once before, and I'm pretty sure that I'm going to make once again today. This time I'm going to frost it with white chocolate cream cheese frosting instead of the plain cream cheese frosting. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

    • on January 30, 2009

      Made this today, my hubby and kiddos loved it!! Followed recipe exactly. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      this cake was sooo delicious!!! i followed the recipe but i also added about 1tbsp of orange zest for extra flavour and it was to die for!! very moist and fluffy thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Delicious and moist, easy to make. This was my first cake attempt, I learned a lot about the importance of greasing the pan and allowing it to cool before taking it out of the pan :) I made a few substitutions- 2/3 of a cup of applesauce and 1/3 cup oil to cut back on the oil (as someone else here suggested). I used butter for the frosting but wish I had used only 1 cup of sugar in it, the frosting was too sweet. I also added a pinch of nutmeg to the batter, and used only 2 cups (and 8 oz package of shredded carrots).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

    • on October 26, 2007

      To be completely honest, I was a little disapointed with this cake. I made it with 4 cups of carrots, and about 1/2 the amount of sugar suggested, and a little less oil than suggested, so this may have been the cause. I also made the cake in 2 9" pans instead of the 9x13" as I am a fan of layering, and baked them until they were on the verge of being overbaked on the outside. But when it came to dessert time, unfortunately it was still at a bit of a bad consistancy, like pasty. So that may have been due to the changes I made, but next time, I think I'll try adding an extra 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and baking soda, just to help things along. Aside from that, I loved the flavour and my brother told me it was the only carrot cake he liked- and he has had many!! Thanks for the recipe- I will be trying this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Carrot Cake!

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 673.6
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    45%
    Total Fat 34.0 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 82.8 mg
    27%
    Sodium 525.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.5 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 69.8 g
    279%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites