Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Broiled Breakfast Grapefruit Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Broiled Breakfast Grapefruit

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2008

      I've never been a fan of grapefruit, but I received a basket full of them as a gift. This recipe is by far the best way to eat grapefruit. I added a little pinch of cinnamon to each half. Yum! I strongly suggest cutting sections prior to broiling. Otherwise, you have a very sticky mess on your hands!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I tried one half with powdered stevia (concentrated) and one half with Sucanat (I don't buy brown sugar). I sprinkled both halves with cinnamon. I appreciated the instructions on how to broil them. I liked the half with stevia better - it was sweeter, with less sugar. I'll bet honey would be good, just maybe messier. And the previous reviewer's suggestion on cutting sections before broiling is a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Mmmm. I've also sectioned the grapefruit and broiled it with with the brown sugar in custard dishes. It makes a nice, healthy dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Yum! So simple and so good. Loved the broiled brown sugar. Thanks for the keeper. Made for Think Pink Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Delish! I added a sprinkle of cinnamon. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Made this to include with some pancakes for breakfast the other day ~ GREAT, JUST GREAT! And so easy to do, too! We love grapefruit around here anyway, & this is a wonderful new way for us to eat it! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Very tasty! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This is truly fabulous. I loved the brown sugar addition. I also really liked the broiled version of this. Thanks for sharing. Made for Think Pink 09 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Very Yummy. Made using Splenda Brown Sugar for baking. This has always been my favorite way to eat grapefruit. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Yum! To make this easier to eat, I cut the skin off my grapefruit, then cut it in half, added the brown sugar and boiled it. Very tasty and I look forward to eating more grapefruit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Refreshing, warm and a bit sweet. Great on a cold morning. Used extra brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Thank you so much! I was telling dh about broiling grapefruit with brown sugar just yesterday. He thought I was nuts. I wasn't sure exactly how to go about doing it (how long, if it was just brown sugar, etc). Incrediblythe recipe is featured on 'zaar's homepage today. Those who did the pics did a great job. How can one go wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I don't eat grapefruit very often, but had received a fruit basket that contained 4 big, beautiful grapefruits. I had the first two my usual way, which was sliced in half with some white sugar sprinkled on top. Then I decided to look on Zaar for another way to have my grapefruit. I found this recipe and found out that I DO like grapefruit. LOL I sliced the grapefruit in half, sliced between each of the sections and cut around the edge of the grapefruit so that the sections would come out easily. Then I sprinkled a little white sugar on the grapefruit and topped it with the brown sugar before putting it under the broiler. Yummy! Now I plan to actually buy grapefruit and not wait until I receive a fruit basket. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I've done this for years. It makes a really nice, but light first course to any meal. At Christmas I like to alternate red and green maraschino cherries in the middle of the grapefruit halves before broiling. It makes such a festive table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      It never caramelised for me either but it was very nice all the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Hmmm. This didn't work for me. I used Brown Sugar Splenda (diabetic, trying to save on sugar) so I think that's where I strayed. The flavor was fantastic, but it never got crispy on top. Also, it was a really juicy grapefruit so I don't know if that kept it from caramelizing. I will try this again and repost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I am on a grapefruit kick and this is a wonderful and different way to enjoy grapefruit!! Never had warm grapefruit before and loved it!!! Added a bit less than 1 tablespoon and broiled it for a few minutes! Thanks SAHMchef!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      YUM, this is my favorite way to eat grapefruit. Before this I ate it cold with white sugar. I like the brown sugar and the warmed fruit, it adds a special touch the flavor is fantastic. I cut between the membranes to loosen sections prior to broiling so it's easy to eat with a spoon. I then squeeze the heck out of each half into my spoon and drink up the juice (leaving out any seeds that get squeezed out). Then I grab my bowl and slurp any leftover juice that's dripped! LOL, not very womanly, I know, but it's so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

    • on April 24, 2007

      Yummy! Grapefruit made fancy! Like a warm fruit compote, perfect with brunch. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Broiled Breakfast Grapefruit

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    96%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 30.3 g
    121%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites