Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2007

      I made this for dinner last night and loved it! I did make a few changes though. I added 2 packets of onion soup mix, 1 can of tomato soup, about a tablespoon of worchesthire sauce and a small onion which I diced up. It made a lot, which is nice because I have a few more meals for the week, which is when I'm very busy and don't have a lot of time to cook. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I was ok but it had a bitter taste I guess it was the canned tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      This was so good. Quick and easy. Served with salad and hot biscuits. Thanks NurseDi. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      This was sooooo easy and a BIG hit!! Great flavor. I cooked exactly like the recipe. I served with cornbread and the family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      I love this recipe! I have had the hardest time finding a recipe that is just simple and tastes great and it really doesn't get more simple or tastier than this! I was a little nervous at first because it is pretty much all chunks and no liquids at first, but as it cooks and the vegetables sweat, the tomatoes break apart you have this perfect broth. I added about 1/4 tsp each of basil, sage and thyme to offset the salty flavor (I may have added too much bouillon..hehe) and it worked out perfectly. I didn't add the cornstarch and water because it was perfect for me without it. Thank you so much, this is my new standard stew recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      My husband wouldn't stop talking about how good this was! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Just a comment, since I (unfortunately) altered the recipe. Do NOT, as one poster suggests, substitute a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, unless you want a beef stew that tastes like spaghetti sauce. I will probably try this recipe again, since it is so highly rated, but the crushed tomatoes idea made this stew inedible to us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      I have a whole bunch of stew meat in the freezer, so I have been on the look out for a great stew recipe, and believe me I have found it. This stew was so good. I had my parents over for dinner tonight, and they just loved it!!! As a nursing student I'm always looking for great crockpot recipes that I can put on before I leave for class. I will definitely be making this again....and again!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This was very good! Whole family enjoyed it. I cooked it all for about 10 hours. I didn't have the beef bouillon granules so I used 1/2 cup of beef broth. I also used two 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes instead of the one can whole tomatoes. I left out the celery but that is just because I didn't have the time to chop it all up. Still was excellent. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      This recipe deserves more than 5 stars:). I let it cook for 10 hours in the crock-pot. We enjoyed it for lunch today. It was easy and so deliciuos. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      My husband and I love thick, hearty stews. This was a good one and best of all, I love that it's made in a crock-pot. Makes getting dinner ready so much easier. The onion soup gives it just the right amount of seasoning. I used a big 28 oz. can of tomatoes which seemed about right. Thanks Nurse Di. I love your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      I made this the first cold night of the season, and it was perfect! I browned the meat before adding it to the crock pot - and it still took 8 hours to finish cooking on low. That was fine with me because my family likes the taste of a slow cooked beef stew. I think that next time I will use the larger can of tomatoes as other people have suggestions. Overall, this is a great recipe. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      So easy and so yummy! I did not make any changes and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      We did this recipe twice- once without and with a cup of cherry wine (just bought from the grocery) and it made a huge difference. The secret of course to all slow cooking is the length of time you leave it simmering. Thanks for this ! Polar Bear

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      Fantastic recipe! This comes out perfect. The soup mix is a wonderful addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I've been looking for the perfect stew recipe, here it is. The onion soup mix gives it a wonderful sweet flavor. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      Very good stew! This is the first time I've made beef stew from scratch and am very pleased with the result.Next time I will leave out the tomatoes(I don't care for them). I didn't add the cornstarch b/c DH doesn't like a lot of gravy. DDs both liked it too.Good stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Something must be wrong with hubby's and mine taste buds. we did not like.Followed exact recipe. Will not make again, have tasted much better stews. Glad so many other enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      You cannot get any easier than this. A perfect stew on a cold winter night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      We Loved this stew! I did omit the celery and added a can of beef broth and tomato soup and it turned out EXACTLY like the stew my mom made for years and years and I never thought I'd see it again...until yesterday...Thank You NurseDi!!! I love all your recipes but am especially grateful for this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.1
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    16%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1156.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites