Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    125 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 125

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2008

      Thank you so much for this Fast, Easy and delicious recipe! Very little time or ingrediens but this is the most amazing stew I ever had, so easy and delish!...The only thing I changed was I floured the stew meat and browned in a frying pan with a little olive oil before adding to the crockpot. I will say in the beginning I was a little "scared" as the mixture was very salty (tasted before I added beef), but after 6 hours of cooking it was PERFECT!...the meat was so tender it fell apart...perfect stew for a cold night served with nice warm rolls! I have raved to all my friends and passed your recipe on to them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This stew was easy & delish! I'm picky about beef stew, but this one hit the spot. The changes I made were to use extra garlic, used tomatoes with basil, added frozen peas the last hour & topped with parmesan cheese when serving. Had to put the crock on high the last hour and a half cuz the potatoes didn't seem done... maybe I cut `em too big? Next time I will add an onion tho, cuz the soup mix doesn't really give it any onion flavor. Thanks for a keeper, ratherbeswimming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Appropiately named! This beef stew IS fabulous, in both simple to make and wonderful flavor. I've had a lot of flops when it comes to beef stew and this was finally a victory. My kids and I loved it. Your recipe will be a main-stay for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Delicious! My family is generally not really fond of most stews. When a friend gave us stew meat already defrosted, I hated the thought of wasting it and tried this stew. They loved it and ate it up eagerly. Will definitely become a repeat recipe in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written other then I didn't add the celery and I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. I also didn't need the cornstarch and water to thickened as mine thickened up nicely without it. This had a good taste to it. Mine cooked up in six hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I'm INCREDIBLY picky. My wife tries to make me different dishes all the time, but I just don't enjoy some of them. This was different, MUCH different. This stew was DELICIOUS! I ate it two days in a row and would have for three if we hadn't run out! Excellent for these cold winter New England days. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I did the prep and cut up a giant pot roast into chunks so I could leave it in the crock pot over night/into the morning because I have a 3 hour class during the day and needed a good meal to bring to work for myself and fiance. I'll just say that even though I was rushing around the house (I was late as usual) the smell emitting from the kitchen stopped me in my tracks. This is my first real beef stew that I've made and it will be the last recipe I search for. So simple and not overbearing with tons of spices, etc. I love it! I'll ask my fiance to leave a review once he tries it tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Excellent! My dh is picky about beef stew and he loved it, so that's saying a lot LOL! Very easy to prepare, gotta love crock pots! I followed the recipe mostly, but only used a 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes (was all I had) and didn't have have the granules so I used a cup of beef broth instead. I also added a bay leaf. I found that I cooked it on low for 6 hours and the veggies were still a touch crisp, so I turned it to high for the last 2 hours and that was perfect, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      ok started this out tomake for my daughter who is having back surgry friday and asked for cooked meals for her recovery.so i doubled the amt as to feed two houses mine and her's crock put wasnt big enough so had to use stove top. now there are those who would say this i shouldn't rate the recipe but it i'll go ahead I have never used lipton onion soup mix in beef stew and believe that is what amkes it fabulous. have 2 bags in freezer, cupfull in there to cover hubby and haveing two bowls tonight for dinner. thanks for a great recipe.will rerate when dear d eats hers.daughter loved hers so did we thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      I'm sorry to give such a mediocre review, but we really did not enjoy this. Cooked it for 6 hours on low and the meat was very dried out. There was no liquid so all you really tasted was the tomato. Maybe if I were to make it again I would add some beef broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Made this, wow what a stew!! I made a few subs. I also don't like whole tomoatoes so I used a 28oz can of crushed tomoatoes, and I didn't have onion soup mix (go figure!!) so I used 3 capfuls of onion and herb mrs. dash, and I added a can of corn at the last hour..my family loves corn in their stew. It turned out AMAZING! This recipe is by far the best we've had, even my 16 mo old loved it, and he is soo picky! THANK YOU for a great addition to my rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Perfect! Some substitutions: I used 1.75 lbs stew meat, 3 large red potatoes, baby carrots, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, and 2 tsps garlic powder. Cooked it on low for 4 1/2 hours and then on high for 2 hours... it could have cooked longer, but it smelled so good that we couldn't resist! The flavor was amazing and the grazy was super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      Just what I was looking for and so easy too! I followed the recipe except I used a large can of tomato sauce instead of the can of tomatoes since my kids don't like the chunks of tomato in their stew. I also added some Orzo pasta at the end of cooking. I served this with southern cornbread and my kids loved it. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This was pretty good, one of the best beef stews I have had in a while... I might ad some butternut squash next time and change the individual portions a little, but all in all pretty good, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      My family really enjoyed this.It was pretty quick for a beef stew. I used a copycat onion soup recipee and I didnt have any fresh veggies so I added 3 cans of canned mixed veggies. It turned out fine. I was looking for a somewhat quick and easy meal that would be soft enough for my husband to eat.(he just had all his top teeth pulled.It worked great.The family loved and bragged on it. So thank you.As for myself I liked it but I thought the tomatoe soup flavor was a bit strong, so im going to try and thin that out a little the next time I make, which will probably be soon. It went great with homemade biscuits and butter.Thanks for all the great recipees I have made several of yours

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Sorry to give it a bad rating, but no one in my family liked it. The taste was ok, but it was mor like Veg beef soup in taste and color to me. I guess I will go back to making my tried and true version of stew..Glad others are enjoying it so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Great recipe! I added chili powder and red pepper flakes. Turned out really well. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Excellent. This has become the only recipe I use for stew. The whole family loved it. Thanks for sharing NurseDi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This made a very tasty dinner on a cold night. It made the house smell wonderful when we walked through the door. Thank you so much for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I made this for dinner last night and loved it! I did make a few changes though. I added 2 packets of onion soup mix, 1 can of tomato soup, about a tablespoon of worchesthire sauce and a small onion which I diced up. It made a lot, which is nice because I have a few more meals for the week, which is when I'm very busy and don't have a lot of time to cook. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.1
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    16%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1156.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites