Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fabulous Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fabulous Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    125 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 125

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2009

      + 5 more stars...this was absolutely the best stew. Very flavorful. The only change I will make the next time is to double the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Fabulous indeed! And very quick to throw together, just plan ahead for long cooking time. I also made this on stove top and added some water, as I don't have a slow cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      these was really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This recipe DOES have a fabulous flavor and was very easy. We followed the ingredients, except we added about 3/4 cup water and we used top round steak instead of stew meat since that's what we had on hand. We didn't add the water and cornstarch at the end either since it was thick enough for us. Oh, and we put in a can of beans instead of celery. We cooked it on the stove top for about 2.5 hours instead of crockpot. Served with cornbread. So yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      What a wonderful and easy recipe! My family really enjoyed this. Great for a cold winter night! I did add a 1/4 cup of red cooking wine. Didn't have celery so i added frozen green beans. only had 1 small can of stewed tomatoes so I added a small can of diced tomatoes. Didn't ned to add the cornstarch and water mixture as the consistancy was just perfect as is. Made some french bread (Basic Machine French Bread) long with this! waht a great dinner! Thank you so much, this recipe will be used over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This was quite good and very easy. I too added a can or so or beef broth to the stew. I don't think there would have been enough liquid without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Fabulous says it all! It was right on and tasted perfect. I must admit I used a can of beef broth instead of bouillon (I didn't have any) and added green beans and half a can of corn (family request). I'll never go back to my previous way of making stew. We loved the addition of whole canned tomatoes (used Hunt's brand with basil). Thanks for posting this. It's already been added to my tried and true cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      What a great stew! I did add a can of beef broth but that is only because my mom always told me there needed to be liquid in order for the slow cooker to work right and a can of tomatoes didn't seem like enough. I do think the flavor of this stew was to die for either way. I love the addition of tomatoes which I had never done before and although I was leery I am so happy I did. My DH has told me this is the only beef stew I am allowed to make anymore and well that alone made it a 5 star recipe. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Very simple and good recipe. The first bite I took I thought it was good, but the more I ate I thought it was better and better! I had two bowls. My husband, who will not eat soup at all, also had two bowls. The only thing different I added was 2 tablespoons of Kitchen Bouquet, just because I wanted it to be a little darker colored, and about a half a can of peas. The peas didn't really add anything but color, and next time I won't use them. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I thought this was a great recipe. It was so simple. I started it first thing in the morning and cooked it all day. The only thing I did differently was add to water at the beginning of cooking. Then I used the liquid in the crock pot mixed with cornstarch to thicken the stew. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is a good, easy, basic stew recipe. I added about 1/4 c. of leftover red wine. The recipe really filled up my 6 quart slow cooker. I had to cook it the full 10 hours in order to get my meat and potatoes tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

    • on January 06, 2009

      This is really good, but was missing something. I am not sure what though! I liked how thick the sauce was, and overall it was a great soup for a cold winter day. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

    • on December 14, 2008

      I made this for dinner and me and my wife loved it. I did not make it in a crock pot. I cooked the stew meat in minced onion and garlic cloves. Then brought it all to a boil for about 7 mins then down to a simmer for around 2 hours adding water as it boiled down. Also added a can of store bought corn as my family loves it. Great tasting stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Really enjoyed this quick and tasty recipe! Thanks for posting. I didn't think I liked beef stew but this was really good. I did add a can of water to the ingredients because it seemed too dry otherwise. With the cornstarch added at the end it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Yes, this is fabulous beef stew! Beef stew has always seemed hit or miss to me but this is the best that I have had and we really enjoyed it. I left out the cornstarch (by accident) and that is the only thing that would have made it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Although I'm not a fan of beef stew, my family loves it. This was my first time making it from scratch and boy was it a huge hit! I will definately be making this again. Thanks for making me look like a great cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      We loved this! My hubs is mopping up the leftover gravy with a piece of bread as we speak. I followed this exactly up until the part that says use whole tomatoes. I accidently dumped in a whole 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes and so because of that I left out the water and cornstarch because it was plenty thick and rich. I used russet potatoes, carrots, and parsnips. next time I might through some peas in there right at the end of cooking. this was so easy and absoutely delicious. It really was a one pan dish with very little clean up. It just started to get chilly here so this was a great comfort to come home to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      I feel bad I haven't reviewed this recipe until now. I've probably made it a dozen times and needless to say LOVE it! I usually use golden yukon potatoes, and I leave out the cornstarch. It seems to get plenty thick on it's own after cooking all day in my crockpot. It tastes great with beer bread and a glass of red wine on a cold autumn day!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fabulous Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.1
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    16%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1156.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites