128 Reviews

For us, I would say 4 1/2 stars. The stew had great taste and we all liked it. I did have a problem with the potatoes not being cooked. I am not sure what happened there. I cut them into 3/4 " cubes and thought they might be mushy but no, they were still hard after 7 hrs on low. So, I picked them out and boiled them on top of the stove in the stew broth for a further 25 minutes and they never did get soft. I was using "white potatoes" from Prince Edward Island. No idea what happened there, but definitely not the fault of the recipe. I don't know why the last review was only 1*...this is definitely a very good stew. I will make this again but will use different potatoes next time. Thx so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word December 29, 2008

The BEST!! I am amazed that something so easy could taste this good. I made your stew yesterday and it was most delicious. We just finished off the left-overs and it was even better today. Others have said thick and chunky--well that about sums it up. Thanks Nurse Di.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarabeth123 December 22, 2002

This is a great recipe! I've made this stew several times and it's always a hit. I like to brown the stew meat in a pan after coating it with flour, paprika, and cumin before adding it to the crock pot. I also like to add a little cumin, hot chilli pepper, mushrooms, fresh green beans, and beef stock instead of granules. Yum! Happy cooking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a.massy December 29, 2015

Yum! This is a wonderful beef stew recipe and so easy! Even my family members who don't care for beef stew love this. I have made this with venison and no one knows the difference ;)<br/>Thanks for this wonderful comfort food recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MLCR January 14, 2015

This stew is so delicious and just perfect for the cool fall weather! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes October 13, 2014

This Beef Stew is absolutely delicious! Watch the salt though. If you're going to add the entire package of onion soup mix don't add any more salt or the broth tastes too salty. This is my Slow Cooker Beef Stew recipe now. Won't use any other recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth-Anne Boyd June 17, 2014

Thanks for a great recipe. I followed some of the tips offered and added a can of Beef Broth rather than the bullion and used Fire Roasted diced tomatoes eliminating the seeds while adding flavor. I also added a couple of Bay Leaves, a cup of Merlot and a bit of Kitchen Bouquet. I also browned my meat first the day before since I was cooking some Chicken Fried Steak. I cooked mine on High for 7-8 hours and kept checking to make sure the potatoes were done. The meat was still tender (I added it after a couple hours) when the potatoes were done. I had cut them in quarters and they were the medium sized White potatoes which another reviewer had problems with. Still in the end they were tasty and everything was cooked properly. I did add the corn starch but since I had so much other extra liquid, I just took a half cup of juice from the pot and mixed in the starch and poured it back in for a half hour. It was perfect. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler June 13, 2014

This was quite delicious. I had to add a little more liquid but that was because my roommate brought home the wrong type of tomatoes. No biggie. I really liked this and served it with homemade cornbread. Will make again! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Litl Irish Angel December 08, 2013

This is amazing my family enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing. It made the house smell amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CNA94 August 08, 2013

Super recipe...quick to put together and fabulous taste...I used the smaller can of tomatoes as suggested by some of the other reviewers...we didn't have any leftovers...thanks for sharing this...it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP March 05, 2013
Fabulous Beef Stew